We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, low key vibe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karakter

Karakter
Simpson Bay Road 121 | Simpson Bay, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 721 5239983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 85 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Dutch, Dessert, European, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Specialized in healthy and delicious food, Karakter offers only the best: the best smoothies, salads, wines, beers, cocktails, tapas and lunches. Our lounge chairs, wooden couches and lounge cushions, paired with amazing white sand and a perfect blue sea, complete the ultimate Caribbean experience. Karakter. Your total beach experience. Just relax and we will take care of the rest...
Ballston Spa, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, low key vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have enjoyed our days at Karakter as much as we have the evenings!
The days are relaxed with excellent service by the servers.
The nights transform into a beautiful seaside setting with tiki torches and beach chairs helping add to the experience.
Karakter is a place to get great service at very reasonable prices!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    183
    54
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Unusual and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

A little hard to find rusted bus, no kidding. Along the beach right next to the airport runway which was a bit noisy but really cool. French style food served in the open air. They always have a drink of the day which I foundt o be unsual and refreashing, if a bot sweet on the day I visited. Beautifully presented foods with great flavor.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“LAY BACK AND ENJOY THIS WONDERFUL SECRET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have been going to St Marteen for 14 yrs. Found this little out of the way spot and fell in love with it. Nice chairs & umbrellas. Wonderful food and drinks. Perfect water. Prepare to be lazy and in no hurry! If you want everything fast...this is not the place! It doesn't get better than this!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Life's A Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

On a recent Friday night, while out walking along Simpson Bay beach, we stumbled onto this place. Its a bus on the beach with a patio and chairs. Luckily for us it was tapas night, so for $20, we ordered four tapas. The bacon wrapped goat cheese was spectacular. The other plates were very good as well.

The service was pretty quick and friendly. During the day, you can get a beach lounger and umbrella just by buying a couple of drinks.

The beach can get a little rough at times, but there are no rocks, just nice sand. The airport is just behind the bar, so you get a birds eye view of the planes taking off and landing.

A very busy little place and I'll be back for sure. Some of the ladies like to go topless here. Didn't notice any full nudity though.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Gourmet food on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Excellent thoughtful menu, small dishes for tasters and sharing. We loved the crab cakes, the gazpacho and the tapenade especially but it was all good

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karakter also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Karakter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karakter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.