We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location next to casino has great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zee Best Restaurant

Zee Best Restaurant
Plaza Del Lago | Behind Scotia Bank, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+599 544 2477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 78 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, French, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Established in 1983, Zee Best is a household name for vacationers and residents. Serving artisanal French Pastries freshly prepared in our bakery every morning, you will find as well, a great coffee selection, fresh juices, heavenly crêpes and everything you could imagine made with eggs from benedicts to omelets!The most important meal of the day can also be the most delicious. Open for the early risers or sleepy heads, St-Maarten best breakfast is served from 7:30 am to 2:00 pm everyday (Simpson Bay and Port-de Plaisance location). Voted best breakfast place in St Maarten / St Martin 7 years in a row, Zee Best also serves lunch from 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm. Come in and experience what breakfast and lunch are all about!Open 7 days a week, Zee Best, and its friendly staff, is "Zee" place to befor breakfast and lunch in St Maarten!
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location next to casino has great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stopped by for breakfast in low season. We were the only diners at the restaurant and the staff was quite pleasant but the omlettes were not special. The pastries basket that came with brunch although worth asking how much each pastry costs before digging in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeeBestSXM, Manager at Zee Best Restaurant, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Bryan,
Thank you for stopping by and thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you were underwhelmed by our omelets. The good news is we have recently updated our menu with some very exciting dishes which we are confident will help secure our reputation of "Best Breakfast in St.Maarten".

Please drop by again and give us a chance to change your mind....and review ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    130
    51
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Piece of Heaven for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our very first morning on the island we wanted to be special and Zee Best was highly recommended by all. This is a French bakery that along with your ordered breakfast of choices including crepes, quiches, eggs of all types, includes a sundry basket to choose the many freshly baked goodies. We chose the large - very large - latte and an omelet and quiche. Along with the local atmosphere of the island, we enjoyed several of the pastries which brought back fond memories of dining in Paris many years ago. We found there are two locations on the Dutch side and this is absolutely not a place to miss on a trip to Sint Maarten. It is a bit costly for breakfast, but you will not be sorry you came.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very few people know about the second location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Based on our Saturday morning visit appear to know about the second location of Zee Best Restaurant at the Port de Plaisance marina. Unlike the Simpson Bay location, which is always busy, we were the only customers when we first arrived about 9:00AM. Also unlike the Simpson Bay location, this location, on the ground floor of the timeshares currently under renovation is much quieter and a much nicer location with a good view of the marina.

Food service is the same and we opted for their original french toast which was done to perfection on a baquette. Coffee was closer to expresso and the orange juice was freshly squeezed.

Service was friendly and attentive.

The location is not easy to find but if you follow the signs to Princess casino and to the restaurant from the entrance off the road to Marigot it only takes about 10 minutes from Simpson Bay with no traffic. The hint is to go early on a Saturday when there is no traffic on the otherwise busy roads.

In our opinion it is worth the drive for the scenery alone

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Almond croissants better than France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is unbelievable for breakfast. We spend about 10 days on the island every November and run over to Zee Best every morning......it's that good. Very popular! The almond croissants and other bakery items are amazing, and their crepes are delectable.....I just widh they would deliver to L.A.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Still Hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I wish I could comment on the food at Zee Best restaurant in Sint Maarten but we never got any. They serve late breakfast, and my wife and I arrived at around 11:45 AM on a Friday morning. The place was crowded but a few tables were available. After waiting five minutes we were told to take any available table. We sat down and ten minutes later a nice young Dutch waiter appeared and took our drink order, which was a cafe au lait for me and iced tea for my wife. Ten minutes later both beverages arrived and the waiter took our order for an omelet for me and a salad for my wife.

As we sat, the majority of the diners left and we remained seated enjoying the view of the parking lot. Forty minutes later (this is not an exaggeration) and still without food we saw our waiter walking through the parking lot away from the restaurant. At that point we left some money on the table to cover the cost of the drinks and moved on.

Perhaps the omelets, salads, and other breakfast dishes were good. As we will never return to this restaurant, we will never know.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeeBestSXM, Manager at Zee Best Restaurant, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear David,
We are taken your review very seriously. The experience you described is totally unacceptable and highly unusual for our establishment. We pride ourselves in providing zee best customer service and have received high praise in this department for many years.

There is a possibility that you may have been tended by one of our brand new recruits that had not yet been fully trained to operate according to our standards. I can assure you that by now this situation has been resolved.

We apologize for your regretful experience and hope that you may one day give us the chance to redeem ourselves.

Sincerely,

Dominic & Kara
Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zee Best Restaurant also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Zee Best Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zee Best Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.