We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lal's Indian Cuisine

Lal's Indian Cuisine
Airport Road, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
(721) 587 9059
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 88 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was exactly what we needed. My wife and I love Indian food, and Lal's didn't disappoint. We ordered the chicken tikka masala, curry chicken, samosa, and naan. All of it was wonderful. The service was quick, the waitress polite, and the view very nice. We'll definitely be going back before our trip is over.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The food here was good but nothing special, don't get me wrong I am not putting the place down but I have had better Indian Food in the states. Food came fast but everything had to be ordered separate, nan bread, rice ?? Why order it separate ?? It should come with the dinner, I was confused, expected more with such a high rating from Trip Adviser.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Another great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Another great trip back to St. Maarten and of course our first dinner is at Lal's Indian Cuisine. We all enjoyed one of Lal's daily seabass specials $16. in any sauce, my favorite is spinach, great deal. Some of my friends ordered the lobster special(by request only) that too was a terrific meal. Go and enjoy a great meal, awesome music and always a great time.
Everyone's a "Friend of Lal's."

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scenic view, food was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I thought this was ok as far as the food went. It's right on the water so that is nice. I was a little underwhelmed but if you are craving Indian food it's worth checking out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Can't miss with Lal's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Lal’s is not my favorite Indian restaurant in SXM, it’s my favorite Indian restaurant ANYWHERE! Year in, year out we have experienced only fantastic food. The goat curry is to die as is the Tandoori Chicken. I had a Mahi Mahi in curry sauce and couldn’t believe how good it was. I thought for sure the fish would be lost in the sauce! Lal is always there to greet you and he always has great music playing. I miss the old location with the bar but that won’t stop me, or you, from enjoying Lal’s.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal's Indian Cuisine also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Lal's Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lal's Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.