We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lal's Indian Cuisine

Lal's Indian Cuisine
Airport Road, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
(721) 587 9059
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 77 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kingston, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Another great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Another great trip back to St. Maarten and of course our first dinner is at Lal's Indian Cuisine. We all enjoyed one of Lal's daily seabass specials $16. in any sauce, my favorite is spinach, great deal. Some of my friends ordered the lobster special(by request only) that too was a terrific meal. Go and enjoy a great meal, awesome music and always a great time.
Everyone's a "Friend of Lal's."

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Scenic view, food was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I thought this was ok as far as the food went. It's right on the water so that is nice. I was a little underwhelmed but if you are craving Indian food it's worth checking out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Can't miss with Lal's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Lal’s is not my favorite Indian restaurant in SXM, it’s my favorite Indian restaurant ANYWHERE! Year in, year out we have experienced only fantastic food. The goat curry is to die as is the Tandoori Chicken. I had a Mahi Mahi in curry sauce and couldn’t believe how good it was. I thought for sure the fish would be lost in the sauce! Lal is always there to greet you and he always has great music playing. I miss the old location with the bar but that won’t stop me, or you, from enjoying Lal’s.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Village
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Chicken Curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were amused by their sign that had a cartoon of a chicken with its butt on fire, "Curry in a Hurry!" - - and it was so convenient to get to, that we had to go. The owner was fun, and loves classic rock and roll. So we sat on the waterfront, enjoyed curry, veggies, garlic naan, YUM!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannestad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Extremely good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was the biggest surprise of the whole trip. Small place crampet between the supermarket wall and the dock.
It does not look much, but the service was second to none, and so was the food.
If you need to wait for a table, it is well worth it.
Make shure to have an apetizer, they are amazing, and the nan, wow, I can go on...........

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal's Indian Cuisine also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Lal's Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lal's Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.