We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the privacy, personal attention, and convenience to the ocean and venues a visitor to the Carribbean could hope for"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Azure Hotel to your Saves list
The Azure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY ON THE BEACH FOR $99
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
1 review
“All the privacy, personal attention, and convenience to the ocean and venues a visitor to the Carribbean could hope for"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

From the moment we arrived, the owners, Mike and Fawnette, gave us, as well as our friends, the utmost curtosy and individualized attention. They stressed that if we needed ANYTHING, please ask. And, ask we did, and we had those items within minutes of the request. The courtyard is adorable; the place is gorgeous-right on the beach. Plenty of clean linens always available with a smile and chat with the staff. The market is just one block down for essentials. Once can walk to the local bakery for the morning goodies. You can also walk to order Chinese food. You have nice beach loungers and umbrellas for your beach comfort. They also acted as our tour advisors for the island, booking our catamarran excursion. We sat out on the patio some evenings and chatted with the other guests. Simpson Bay area is beautiful- I couldn't have asked for anything more. It was a wonderful - relaxing- beautiful stay at Azure Beach Studios, where we also made new friends. No worries for us first timers in the Carribbean.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    50
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
152
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Our family (parents & our kids 10 & 12 yr old girls) recently had the great pleasure of staying at the Azure. We stayed 10 days and it was (to quote the kids) "the best vacation we've ever had."

The Azure is located on beautiful Simpson beach, an exquisitely clean beach with great waves ! Lovely to take long walks too, on the fine,soft sand. No crowds, no vendors ... just you & paradise. Many times, we were the only people on the beach !

We found the Azure was also conveniently located in the Simpson Bay Area. Every morning, we would take a walk to the local small supermarket (1 block away) to buy a freshly baked broiche type baguette, then fresh fruit from the larger Le Marche Gourmet supermarket. Don't forget: coffee & fresh croissants (from the parisien bakery across from Le Marche Gourmet) ! We would enjoy eating breakfast on the patio, right on the beach !

The Guesthouse was welcoming & kept clean ( thank you BeBe & Ramona). The very cordial owners, Mike & Fawnette, love St Maarten and generously shared their knowledge of this beautiful island.

Will you find organized games or activities or day camps for the kids here, or lines up, or crowds, or casinos, or find yourself running around checking your watch here : NO .

YOu will enjoy a wonderful beach, ideal location in St Maarten, clean unit , and just the luxury of spending time with your family ! You will plan your own day (or plan to do nothing at all on the beach). Mike was readily available for suggestions or help in organizing an excursion.

As well the other guests staying at the Azure were interesting people, & it was a pleasure to meet them & chat with them on the beach.

Car rental : easy & inexpensive. Of course, rent a small car as parking is tight on the whole island of St Maarten. Recommended to do, if you want to explore the rest of the Island. Otherwise, I believe the public bus is very acessible (and cheap !).

WIFI: yes available at the Azure.

Restaurants: We mostly ate in the Simpson Bay Area: the Boathouse (excellent), Toppers, Lee's, and (another favorite) Pineapple Pete's .

Airplanes: The Azure is located close to the airport: this did not bother us or intrude on our vacation at all.

We are looking forward to returning next year (we hope !).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We don't normally stay at this small of a place however, we found it to be just want we wanted. The location was perfect (close to the airport and many fine restaurants). You literally are steps away from the beach and it was quite tranquil and very relaxing. We met several other guests whom we befriended on our little beachfront and everyone loved the place. The parking was a challenge at times, but we never had any problems finding a spot. The owners (Mike and Fawnette) were very gracious hosts and accomodated us whenever we asked. The 2 housekeepers (BeBe and Ramona) were also very helpful and friendly.We would highly recommend the Azure Beach Studios. Mark & Linda

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener Ontario Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

My boyfriend and I travelled to St Maarten for the first time this January and all I can say is "wow"
We heard about the Azure through friends of my parents who have been to St Maarten for many years running. Let me start by saying that we will be going back to stay at the Azure Guesthouse again and again.
Small tucked away paradise on the beach.. very quiet, clean and you feel like home the moment you check in. Mike and Fawnette are wonderful people. Very helpful with anything you need to know about the island. They gave us great non-touristy spots for snorkling as we didnt want to always go out on a guided tour... great recommendations anytime we asked. They take the time to KNOW you at the Azure! We were called by name not even 3 hours into our stay and each morning they wanted to know how our night was... Great People!! I would have loved to stay for 2 full weeks... 1 week is just too short.
Mike and Fawnette are probably the nicest people we met on our whole trip!
The rooms are great! We stayed in the Tikki suite... small, clean and colourful with Art work compliments of Mike and Fawnette! Everything you need: mini fridge, toaster over, hot plates.. think about a motel room... but on a gorgeous beach only steps from your door.
We rented a small compact rental car for the week..The only part that sometimes became frustrating was parking.. it would be nice to have more parking available but Mike and Fawnette were very accommodating. If there was no room on the small street we were able to park in the courtyard behind their vehicle.
All in all, we rate this place a solid 10/10! We loved it so much that we plan to go back and stay at the Azure EVERY time we end up in St Maarten!

If you are looking for a high rise resort with a disco every night and a bar on site.. this is NOT the place for you. If you are looking for a great place to stay and you will be on the beach or checking out the island most of the time, and want to feel at home where everyone knows your name.... this is DEFINITLY the place for you.

Thanks again MIKE AND FAWNETTE.. if you are reading this Dave and I truly loved your hospitality and will be back in the very near future!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesburg, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

I love this place, the location and the hosts.

I have travelled to St Maarten for over 20 years for business staying a two or three weeks each year. I also have stayed at a number of locations but have to say this is about as cool as it gets.

Very close to the action, yet a very quiet beach. Totally relaxing atmosphere.

Mike and Fawnette, the owners, are great, lovely people.

I have stayed here for two years and booked years ahead.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

A short taxi ride from the airport. At the very edge of the sand and ocean at beautiful Simpson Bay. Short walk to great food. The owners, Fawnette and Michael, are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Azure was a gorgeous little treasure we found on trip advisor - we were not disappointed. Hosts were very accommodating and the room service ladies we friendly. We felt safe and comfortable on the beautiful Simpson bay beach. Enjoyed lovely views, sunsets and surf! Loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves on the shore. Comfortable and satisfying trip to Azure, would love to return with a significant other.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Azure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.