We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I need to go back to perfection!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Azure Hotel to your Saves list
The Azure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I need to go back to perfection!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It has taken me 7 months to write this review because life immediately happened the minute I left the Azure. Our days there were just beautiful? Michael and his beautiful wife Fawnette were the perfect hosts and I haven't forgotten their kindness and hospitality! My boyfriend and I went for the Christmas holiday and everyday was sunny even when it wasn't! The Azure is a true gem and that's coming from someone who has been to St. Maarten many times and this by far was my most favorite and I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Call early!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the sweet review! Sunshine is our specialty. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us at the Azure, we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    46
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
136
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Holy cow! What an experience. From the moment we arrived we knew that this vacation was going to be unlike any other. You want privacy? You want a relaxed, laid back atmosphere? You want peace and quiet? You want your own beach? It's all here at the Azure Hotel & Art Studio. Accessible to all local restaurants by car or walking if you so choose. Michael and his family, including Skye made us feel at home the moment we arrived. Anything we needed was provided including free wi-fi and unlimited free calls to the US from the telephone in the room. I will definately be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for the vote of confidence! We appreciate you taking the time to write this stellar review, it was a real pleasure having you stay with us, until the next time!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Azure Hotel is everything you could possibly ask for! Steps from the ocean, you could hear the waves crashing all night! Michael was the perfect host, always inquring if there was anything we needed, was full of helpful suggestions, answered all our numerous questions about the island and the best things to see and do. The room was wonderful; painted in bright cheerful colors and contained the artwork of Michael and his wife. The rooms were cleaned everyday and were spotless, and everyone was so nice and friendly. I can completely and honestly say I cannot think of a place I could have enjoyed staying at more! So ready to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Jan,
thank you for the perfect review! It was very nice having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barataria, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at The Azure 06/28 through 07/06, and had a great time. Michael and Fawnette are great host. Michael provided us with a list of great restaurants, and tours. The room was spotless everyday. The beach was only a few steps from the rear door, and was beautiful. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Cannot go wrong with the Garden Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Paula and Brent,
Thank you very much for the great review! We are so pleased that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed St. Maarten with all that it has to offer. Thanks again for staying with us at the Azure and we hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you're looking for down-island relaxation, far away from the craziness of a resort, this place is it. Owner Michael went above and beyond making sure our 6-day stay was fabulous, and the staff was over-the-top helpful and polite. The beach is post-card worthy. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for writing the lovely review! The longer we are in business the more we realise that our location, staff, building and what we do are only part of what makes the Azure a special place. The other part is the wonderful and happy visitors that bring it all to life. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Sunny regards,
Fawnette, Michael and Sky :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

What a perfect place to stay.
Mike was immediately helpful, he stepped in as our taxi driver was trying to charge us double because he had a difficult time finding this hotel. Mike very plainly told the driver "that's not cool." The driver changed his mind and that saved us $20!
We even arrived sooner than check in and Mike allowed us into our room to freshen up and drop off our stuff - SO appreciated after a 4 hour ferry commute from St. Kitts.
Our room was small and perfect, you don't need much when you are staying that close to the water. We really enjoyed the beautiful patio complete with wifi and Mike's list of recommended restaurants on island. He told us to definitely walk to Karactor from your hotel room and order a guava berry colada!!! Perfect.
I wish our A/C would have had the ability to get colder. We both found ourselves stirring in the night from the heat which left us with a just so-so sleep.

Room Tip: Tell the owner of the hotel you are thinking of renting a car and he can get you a good deal at one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to write this nice review!
We strive to be there for our guests even when they are not on the hotel property.
We appreciate your recognition and we thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure and we hope that the Azure will be your hotel of choice when in transit from beautiful St. Kitts back to the US.
Thanks again and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed one night at Azure after arriving late at SXM airport with departure the next day. Michael made it so easy to make a reservation and checked me in. The room was perfect for me and is right on the beach. Great location and great service too. I wish I could have stayed longer! Thank you Michael and Azure.

Room Tip: Just ask Michael what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for the positive review and thank you for choosing the Azure for your layover in St. Martin.
It is our mission to make your stay effortless from check in to check out. We appreciate the recognition and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Azure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.