We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Azure Hotel to your Saves list
The Azure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique and Comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

In an area full of big resorts directed to massive tourism, this little hotel stands out as a gem. In a few words, the property is unique, charming, relaxing, affordable and extremely conventient.

Location:

Seven minute drive from the airport, two minute walk to a small convenience store where you can get all your basics (snacks, coffee, milk and of course beer and rum) and a ten minute walk down the beach to two very good restaurants.

Some reviewers complain about the airplanes noise. In fact, we loved hearing the airplanes and seeing them fly ove our heads while laying down on our beach loungers. At night, we did not hear any planes nor did they bother us in the morning. We simply could not hear them inside our room.

Accommodations:

Very clean, comfortable beds, large flat screen T.V., well appointed, and again, unique. We stayed in the caribbean suite and it had everything we needed including a small but sufficient kitchenette, safe, nice artwork by Michael (the owner) and furniture in good condition. The best part, though, is that our room had two doors; one leading to the garden and one leading to the beach. We could literally walk 20 feet and be on the beach!

Beach:

Simpson Bay is simply beautiful and uncrowded (see the photos).

Service:

Michael was there to greet us when we arrived and explained how everything worked in the room. Since he lives on the property, he is always there in case you need his assistance and he is a very helpful gentleman.

If you want the massive resort feel with constant entertainment, pool, gym and five star restaurants on property, the Azure is not for you. But if you want to stay in a quaint, charming and relaxing place on a beautiful beach, go to the Azure. You won't be disappointed. In fact, the Azure is the reason why my wife and I fell in love with St. Martin again after two disappointing visits in the past four years.

We look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: The caribbean suite is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    51
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
172
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived in St. Maarten on Saturday June 7th around 9:30. We took a cab ride to the hotel that took around 10 minutes where were greeted by one of the hotel staff. She was very friendly and helpful in getting us settled in.

Both Michael and Fawnette were very gracious hosts all during our stay. We stayed in unit 2. It was very comfortable and clean. Michael told us about many points of interest from favored restaurants to shopping to recommended excursions.

We both took advantage of the free calling to the U.S. several times and this made our stay that much more enjoyable and convenient. The room was so close, you can hear the waves from inside. We were very pleased with the houskeeping staff and the job they did. The beach was absolutely amazing!

All in all, I would highly recommend Azure Hotel to anyone who is looking to vacation on St. Maarten.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband myself our daughter and son in law stayed at the azure for 3 nights preceding the chek in of our timeshare. When we arrived we were greeted by Michael who was so sweet and very knowledgeable of the island. We had room 6 and 7. Our rooms were clean But nothing fancy but that ocean view was incredible. We were just steps from the beach. Everything was just as seen on the Internet. The only real issue with room 7 is that it is a bit small and the bathroom area is TINY! Our kids were in from 6 and the second day we were there their AC unit went out around noon and was still out the day we left ( which was Saturday) basically our kids had no AC for two of the three days.Michael did try to get it fixed but as you know nothing happens quickly in the islands. He did give our daughter some money (a nights stay almost)and apologized for the inconvience but I don't think our kids were able to rest comfortably and really didn't have access to their room the second day because people were working in the room the entire day. The Mosquitos were really bad as well and it seemed as though nothing really helped, we had OFF and citronella candles but my daughter was still covered with bites. Parking is a bit of a problem.

Room Tip: Beach room and suite one have ocean noise so if you don't like the sound don't rent those ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,
first, we wanted to thank you for staying with us at the Azure!
We would like to again apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay.
As you know we experienced a severe power surge after a black out from the power company.
When the lights came back on the surge damaged our fuse box, air conditioners and mosquito misting pump. Everything has since been fixed and the mosquitos are in check with our organic citronella and chrysanthemum spray. The property has returned to its pleasant comfort level and all of our burnt out appliances have been replaced or repaired. I wish it could have happened faster, but we are on a small island with limited resources. Thanks again for your patience, should you return to the Azure, we will take extra care to ensure you have a perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

It was everything that we needed for the whole week. My wife and I visited St. Maarten for the first time last week and The Azure, it's mgr Michael, and the very helpful and pleasant staff, made our time superb.
The cost was super affordable, the accommodations were totally sufficient, clean, and comfy, and Michael was the best host ever. It was 32 steps from our door to a turquoise colored surprise with a white sandy beach. There was an incredible sound of crashing waves and joyful birds every morning. The location was approx 5 min taxi ride from the airport. We rented a car for 5 of the 6 days and we completely enjoyed driving all over the Island and getting lost on purpose. It felt good each night coming back to The Azure because it was like returning to my own home. Restaurants were nearby and plentiful. Without a doubt, this is the only place that we will lodge on our return to SXM.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the Azure for 7 days. This is the best kept secret in St. Martin. The rooms were great, clean and most importantly , they were owned by an independent couple. Ramona and Francis took care of everything. We went straight to the beach everyday. We sat, read, drank, talked and walked in the sand.its safe and has a great location. Parking is not a problem, just don't rent a big car. If you're a pilot like me, the airplane noise is music. I had planes, boats, sand and blue water. What else do you need? I'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are within 10 steps of the best sand in st Martin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Michael doesn't need any more good reviews (he said he is booked solid except for September!) but I'll write one anyway. My wife and I stayed 2 weeks April 29-May 13 in the Beach Suite, room #7. This room has a queen bed, a small kitchenette and a small bathroom w/small shower stall but it sits sort of as your own little cabin off the main building. Open the curtains by the bed and VOILA! - there is the beach and breaking waves! We fell asleep every night and woke up every morning to the waves. If this bothers you, don't take this room. Bed is firm but perfect for us. The first plane is a little turbo-prop island hopper that takes off every morning (except Sunday, I think) at 7:05 am. There is another at 7:20 and then a break. The big boys don't start until late morning. You will wake up to the plane (except my wife- she didn't hear it!) and if you are a late sleeper, will fall back asleep like I did. The building next door is done so no more construction noises. We loved this little room and have already booked it for 2 more weeks in late October early November. We are seasoned SXM travelers so we didn't need Michael's presentation but he faithfully sat with each of the new SXM inductees with the road map and his recommendations for activities and dining. Everyone we met, including a sweet student from the Saba Medical School who was taking a few days rest before semester 3 started, seemed extremely happy and relaxed. I hope we can get a room next April! Thank you again for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter. Garden Suite has a beach entrance and a courtyard entrance. 2 beach sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Rest, relaxation and healing was our goal at the Azure and we achieved this! We stayed in room six on beachside and we loved it! Just steps away from the water and the comfy beach recliners and umbrellas! Our room was perfect! New king size bed, great water pressure in the shower and a nice little kitchen. Michael was awesome and just a touch of speed dial away! There was not one recommendation that wasn't good! We ate at some really good restaurants, used the delivery service and had THE BEST massage, thank you Michael for setting up our appointments as well as taking the time to make our stay so great! We also loved cooking out on the gas grill while we listened to the surf and visited with our old friends that we travel with each year as well as our new friends from NY, Canada and Holland! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Azure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.