We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Azure Hotel to your Saves list
The Azure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Sag Harbor, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently planned a 10 day trip to St. Maarten. Seven nights were to be spent at a time share so we needed a few nights lodging. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked based on others recommendations. It was everything we hoped for and more. We stayed in the Garden Suite which has access to the courtyard and the ocean. It is like having your own private beach. The owner Mike is warm and friendly. He stops by and talks to each guest (sometimes with his adorable baby). Because the hotel is small, you get to know the other quests which is something that you don't see in bigger hotels. It is located a little off the main road, but we walked to everything we needed - grocery store and restaurants. We would definitely return here....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    43
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
128
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Endwell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here in January. Mike, the owner, was very congenial and the room was clean, with great, comfy sheets! It was probably the most comfortable mattress I have slept on. Also, they use the "good" TP, not the see-through TP that falls apart in your hand. We complimented Mike on his attention to detail on this one :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our second stay at The Azure was as great as the first. Great beach, great hosts, great location. Our go-to place in St Maarten. Simpson Bay is a beautiful, quiet beach. The owner, Mike, as before, was a tremendous help with arranging activities and recommending restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Azure Hotel before we went on a cruise in the Caribbean. It was great. Conveniently located- we got pastries at a french bakery just a few blocks away each morning, shopped at a local grocery store close by, walked down the beach for drinks and food, and went into Simpson Bay for dinner. What is so great about this place though, is that it is on a quiet beautiful beach. They have there own chairs and umbrellas so we always had a spot. Michael was a great host as well! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Azure Hotel on our first trip to St. Maarten. We had the beach suite, which we absolutely loved it's location only steps away from the ocean.
The room was clean and comfortable. It is a little small, but who is spending time in their room (other than to sleep!) when the beach is so close?! It also included free wi-fi, which was nice. We liked having a small kitchen in our room as well, where we made breakfast every morning, and then ate on the beach front patio. It was great!
There is a market right at the end of the street, where we bought anything from beer, to toothpaste. It was very convenient, and we were there everyday picking something up.
Azure is also very close to the town where you can find MANY restaurants and hotels. The bus system is also easy and convenient from here if you want to go to Maho Bay and see Airport beach, or go to Phillipsburg and do some shopping. Both I recommend doing!
We stayed on both the Dutch side and French side of St. Maarten, and would stay at Azure again when visiting this part of the island!

Thank you Michael for your hospitality! We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, NH
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Azure for two weeks in February and March and had an awesome experience! Incredible beach just steps away. Mike and Fawnette are terrific hosts. They offer a beachside patio, chaise lounges, umbrellas and a grille for outside cooking. Our room was very comfortable and spotless and included wifi and cable TV. (We kept an eye on how much snow was falling at home.). All the staff was friendly and always willing to offer suggestions for dining, excursions and finding groceries. I found a great bakery a short walk away that offered a huge breakfast menu including crepes and omlets.I wasn't aware how easy it was to get around by bus, so I rented a car, but would consider using local transportation next time. There are countless restaurants and places for entertainment close by. One of our favorite things to do was to sit beachside and watch the beautiful sunsets. Another reviewer mentioned nearby construction, but we were in the closest room to the workers and were not troubled at all. We had an outstanding vacation at one of the most beautiful places on earth. I'm planning to return again next winter and would love to make it a three week stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a very nice, short stay here after the Heineken regatta. The room was small but perfectly adequate- and we weren't in St. Maarten to spend time indoors! It was a rare treat to stay right on the beach, and we slept well. It took awhile to check in, as we couldn't seem to find anyone, but that was the only hiccup. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Azure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.