We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Azure Hotel to your Saves list
The Azure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a very nice, short stay here after the Heineken regatta. The room was small but perfectly adequate- and we weren't in St. Maarten to spend time indoors! It was a rare treat to stay right on the beach, and we slept well. It took awhile to check in, as we couldn't seem to find anyone, but that was the only hiccup. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyKonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Azure Hotel was recommended to us through mutual friends of the owners. We stayed 6 nights in the spacious Caribbean Suite, and our last night was in the smaller (and equally comfortable) Tikki Suite. Our move for the last night was taken care of by the friendly hotel staff, letting us go about our day without any interruption! We had perfect wifi and satellite TV reception the entire week. We were charmed by the tortoise habitat in the courtyard, which also attracts lots of pretty birds and lizards. A few steps outside the courtyard gate is lovely Simpson Bay. There are plenty of new lounge chairs and tables for hotel guests, and also a patio area that can be shared by hotel guests. About 150 steps up the street is a corner market that has cold beer (best price on the bay), and basic staples, perfect to begin stocking our kitchenette for the week. Yes, there was some construction noise, but it didn't disturb us because we weren't in our room during the daytime anyway (besides, the owners really have no control over it!). And yes, there is noise from the jets, but after the first day we really didn't pay much attention to it, other than to be curious about the types of aircraft coming and going from the airport. Mike is a gracious host and concierge, ordering our rental car and stopping by our room to map out some great spots around the island that locals enjoy. Here's the thing: If you want a resort, book a resort. But if you're looking for a quiet and friendly, easy-going island gem, book the Azure. We were very glad we did, and plan to return!

Room Tip: Be sure to check the website for photos of each suite! Some open to the courtyard, and others open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice place to stay, right on the beachfront. Laidback, cozy athmosphere and a very friendly host. Satellite tv and a fast wifi were a plus even though watching tv isn't the first thing that comes to mind on this island. During our stay, there was some kind of a construction project going on next doors, but it didn't bother us at all - neither did the planes taking off at Juliana airport. On the contrary, random plane spotting was a fun activity while relaxing on the beach. The construction yard did cause some noice during the day (our room was located right next to it), but evenings/nights/mornings were pretty silent. I'm not a good sleeper and I always carry ear plugs with me - didn't need them here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pekka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got back from St. Maarten less than a month ago after staying 12 days at the Azure. We started in the Tiki Suite and it was pretty small but had all of the amentities you could ever want. We moved to the Tropical Suite for the remainder of our stay and it was huge and very, very comfortable. The room was immaculate and was kept that way for the entire time. We were right on the beach and Mike has lounge chairs and tables for all of the guests. Except on weekends when the locals come, it was like we had our own private beach. They are doing construction next door to the Azure but honestly Mike certainly can't control the noise that comes with construction and it really didn't bother us because we were up and gone every day by 7:30. The location of the Azure is perfect (Simpson's Bay has lots of restaurants and markets) and unlike what another reviewer said about needing a car, we never rented one because we didn't need to. We walked two blocks to the main road and got on the bus whenever we wanted to go anywhere. It was so easy and inexpensive and we were able to travel around all of St. Maarten/St. Martin by bus and meet the super friendly locals. Make sure you get to the St. Maarten Yacht Club for breakfast. We spent all but 2 days there eating good food and watching the draw bridge rise to let all of the huge yachts and sailboats through. The only negative we had about the Azure was that all of our towels and sheets had holes in them. It surprised us because everything else was first class. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Azure and would go back if we ever return to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MooreaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello and thanks for the lovely review!
We finally got our shipment of new towels and sheets, sorry they were not here during your stay.
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in 2 different rooms, Garden Suite and Tropical Suite. Both clean, comfortable, and cool. The beachfront can't be beat!
We were only there 2 nights before flying out, so the location close to the airport was very convenient. The planes didn't bother us a bit.
Just like others mentioned, the owners really make this place special! Michael really goes all out to make sure your stay is a good experience.
This is a small boutique hotel on a beautiful beach, at an incredible value! You want a sprawling 5 star resort, stay at one and pay the price .
If you want a quaint atmosphere, amazing beach, personal service, come to Azure. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmkathnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The Azure has a great location for walking to many shops and markets or eating establishments or walking on the beach. I love that I can walk out the door of the court yard and be close to most of what we need. The air port is near but after a day or two it is not very noticeable. I read about some construction noise which did not effect us in the court yard rooms at all. I never noticed the construction unless going for a walk. Power is helpful and friendly. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punky70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place is 50 feet from the runway at Julianna Airport. At 6 am, your sleep is done! If the planes don't wake you (they will!), the sunshine pouring in uncovered windows will. Room was not very clean, wifi didn't reach, necessitating a battle with mosquitos and at check out, the owner couldn't pull himself off the phone with a buddy to check us out. Don't believe the hype.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank searcher4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear reviewer and readers,
Needless to say, we were very disappointed when we read this review.
We would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few points:

1) The airplanes start at 7 A.M. and are just one or two prop planes for the first hour or more, there are no planes at 6 AM, ever. They don't fly that early every day either. Don't take my word for it just plug the following url into your browser for flight departures and arrivals.
http://www.sxmairport.com/flights-info.php

2) The runway is much further than 50 feet, just look it up on google maps and see for yourself, it is more like 500 feet plus. If you find that to be false I will refund your money in full!

3) We have an excellent free wifi network that reaches all rooms complete with 5 state of the art Apple routers to reach every corner of every room and the beach, sometimes the server goes down, but that is beyond our control. If your computer is having a problem, we have a guest laptop that you can use anytime, even on the beach. By the way, we also offer free international calls to 64 countries and free cell phones should you need one (2 services that are unheard of in the hotel business).

4) Our windows all have curtains, none of the rooms are without them.

If they told me about the mosquitos we could have sprayed, we warn people with a sign on the inside of each guest door, stating to keep the door closed to avoid the mosquitoes. We do spray in the rooms as neccesary.
If there was a problem with cleanliness we could have fixed that too and we would be happy to do it, we are known for being a clean establishment.
There are 3 door bells that we tell our guests about in case they need anything, that way no guest room is further than 10 steps to a door bell. Those doorbells summon the me, the owner of the property any time of day.
I would never have told a guest that I was on the phone with a "buddy" and could not check them out and I do have to say that this is another false statement. We take our business very seriously and try to offer the best service that we can, some people have a completely different version of reality than others and I will leave it at that.
I personally ask our guests every time I see them if they have everything they need and if everything is okay, if it is not I fix it right away.
While the Azure is not for everyone, please be fair in your reviews by sticking to the facts.
We are a clean, affordable, family run hotel on a stunning beach in beautiful Sint Maarten.
Thanks for reading!
Sincerely,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing