We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Sailing trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Random Wind

Random Wind
Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
011-721-587-5742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 activities in Simpson Bay
Type: Boat Tours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Red Bluff, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First Sailing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Diane and Trevor were a lot of fun! For the price you get a full day of drinking, food, swimming, snorkeling and being on the ocean. Worth the price and would do it again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    18
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hangover cure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

So I was pretty hungover when we got on the ship, but the drinks and swimming cured that pretty quick! this isn't an action packed trip, and although there is snorkeling, don't go with that as your primary motivation. it's very relaxing, the crew was fun, drinks flow freely, the swing was cool, lunch was tasty, and the boat is nice. great way to chill, get some sun, and get out on the water for a day. kudos to the Random Wind.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“So much RandomFun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I read about the Random Wind on Trip Advisor and booked our sail day easily with Diane. From the moment we stepped onboard, Diane & Trevor made us feel welcomed. Diane was so down to earth, easy to chat with and fun! Trevor the captain is a bit more reserved at first, but seemed to loosen up by the end of our day snorkeling cruise. The sail boat is outfitted with beautiful, comfortable cushioned seating for everyone. We were offered drinks and homemade appetizers, so yummy! Diane does NOT over book her boat, like many other snorkeling boats on the island. This allowed for a small group setting, which allowed us to meet some really nice people on our sail, Annette & Gigi and a family of 4 from Atlanta who were in port for the day from one of the cruise ships. We snorkeled for probably 40 minutes, until the horn was blown to tell us lunch was served. Drinks were plentiful. We took a liking to one of Diane's signature cocktails 'Randomtini' with coconut rum. Lunch was Chicken Curry over rice, grilled shrimp & a side salad, bread and butter, with sweets served later. Diane knows how to cook!! The best part of the trip is the Tarzan swing by far. This is so much fun, we probably did about 8 - 10 swings. Diane take pic's of everyone on the Tarzan swing, while she's floating in the water. We brought our camera + smart phones, which we took pictures & several video's of the Tarzan Swing. We now have many funny memories of this fun once in a lifetime sailing adventure!! This day on the Random Wind was our best day in St. Maarten. We would return in a heart beat!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great day, but disappointing too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a hard review to write, because we loved our sail, but were also very disappointed. Perhaps if the excursion was marketed as a sail/swim/tarzan swing experience instead of a snorkeling trip, we would have been ok with it. However, we are diehard snorkelers and expected to be taken to a couple of great snorkel spots, as advertised. Now, the owner & captain will say it was because the sea was still cloudy after Hurricane Sandy, but that's simply not the case. The sea WAS cloudy, but the beaches we were taken to for snorkeling, which they go to every time according to their website, are sandy bottom beaches. No reef or rocks. Anyone who snorkels knows that there are no fish to speak of or coral at a sandy bottom beach. The 5.5 hour trip consisted of a short run up the Simpson Bay coastline, stopping at Baie Longue and Mullet Bay. We were told at the first stop in a rather cavalier manner that there was no point in putting on snorkel gear as there was nothing to see. When a couple of fellow passengers voiced disappointment, saying that they had been out several days before with another outfit (when the water was much more affected by the storm) and they had been taken to some great snorkeling spots, they were dismissed without much comment. Also, maybe just a bad mood or something, but we found Trevor the Captain to be terse and gruff with passengers (some say like Captain Ron - but I would say just not very friendly and he certainly didn't seem to be enjoying his role).

On the plus side, Diane was friendly and very accommodating. There was plenty of cold beer and sodas, rum punch and other mixed drinks if you requested them. Appetizers and lunch were good. We really enjoyed jumping off the Tarzan swing (my husband says he gets the over 50 prize!) and watching others go off it. Really a highlight of the trip. But the best part for us was making friends with some great fellow passengers and the interaction of people on the trip.

If you want a day of swimming and jumping off a swing into the water on a beautiful sailboat, go. If you want a day of great snorkeling, try another boat. Captain Alan's is recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing day...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Enjoyed the day on-board and the snorkeling stops. My son especially loved the Tarzan swing. The drinks were kept topped off all day. Diane told us during the trip that if we wanted a specific brand of booze, that she would happily have got it for us had we asked. This trip may not be for the high adventurers, but more for the relax and kick back kind of day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Random Wind also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
 

Been to Random Wind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Random Wind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Random Wind to your Saves list