We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating this hotel half a star would be a compliment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route des Terres Basses, Baie Nettle 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Baie Nettle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rating this hotel half a star would be a compliment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't need to make a long story short. Simply avoid this side and the French side of the island in general. Worst customer service and just completely ignorant people. Booked 2 rooms. Checked us into the first room which was still dirty. Both rooms had the wrong bedding setup that we paid for. Even the cleaned rooms were disgusting. Free wifi in lobby worked half the time. Free non motorized water activities were not free. Booked scuba diving adventure and the instructor never showed up day of. Safe was broken. Enough hot water in the shower to wash a small bug. Speaking of bugs found several cockroaches in the bathroom. To make that worst I wish I was kidding when I say there was a crab the size of a softball in the bathroom the one night that when it saw us ran into a crack and behind the tub. Sliding glass door to the outdoor deck/kitchen (if you could call it a kitchen) was so hard to open it took 2 grown men to slide it open using all their strength. Once you did get out to the deck for whatever reason the idiot who designed the place thought that putting the ventilation unit right above the stove on the deck so when you thought you could sit outside at night and get a cool breeze you instead got a 90+ degree breeze blowing straight at you. I will be contacting my credit card company and disputing the charges as paying for a stay there was completely unacceptable. And I doubt we got stuck in a bad room judging by all the other reviews I have read

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    44
    23
    23
See reviews for
33
68
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay, the location is convenient to marigot, the airport, and many beaches. The hotel had a fantastic breakfast with our favorite French croissant and pain au chocolat, and French bread. The service was great. We had a very nice time and would return. There is a dive shop onn site that took us to the best dive site. We saw nurse sharks, a reef shark, turtles, eels, stingrays, lobsters, and huge fish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a fine hotel perfectly located. Rooms were very clean. We were hardly ever in the room as the pool area is a great place to relax. Restaurant located on premises made some very good meals. Beach bartenders were quick and witty. Located on the bay not the ocean was only setback.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in the lagoon-facing suite room. The view from the room was fantastic- although the room itself was a bit dated, but as they were clean. Well-equipped kitchen was a plus. The reception staff was very friendly. No hotel services but you will get everything you'll need for the stay. Big supermarket is only a minute's walk away. Water activity desk's price was reasonable and services were fantastic. Although there are many more savvy spots around the island, but in terms of value for money, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been there for 7 nights. The hotel is located on the French side. I was afraid with the comments I read on Internet and even the woman who sat close to me on the plane seemed to tell me I was doing a mistake by choosing this hotel. I was happy when I saw a clean room, a garden which surrounded the hotel. The beach is beautiful, but you cannot swim there because the hotel in on the lagoon. But you can rent for free a pedal boat. You just have to walk for some minutes to get a beach. You have two nice swimming pools. As we were away during the day, we discovered other beaches of Saint-Martin. It is very pleasant to take breakfast in the restaurant close to the beach. The staff was pleasant. In the future, I will be very careful by reading comment on the Internet. Of course, if you go there, you must like the French culture, but I found the local people very original and funny.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room close to the parking. I did not ask for another one, because we enjoyed the fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been going to this hotel for five years! We love the location, which is on the French Side!

Just a few steps to the French grocery for bread and cheese!

When you contact the hotel for a reservation you can also reserve a car. The car company will pick you up at the airport and drive you to the hotel..then you are on your own!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lagoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We luckily just stayed for 2 nights so it didn't matter that much that room cleaning was only to be had at extra charge (having paid more than 100 euros per night i found that quite scandalous anyway). As well it didn't matter that the furniture was old and the appliances a bit run down. However to find a broken shower head (and broken to a point where it is impossible that the previous guest didn't complain about it) when you come from your flight is quite a downer.. In the morning we found our tooth brushes infested with ants... And the next day the toilet flush wouldn't work anymore... And upon departure you have to strip yourself the bed linen off, empty the trash and clean up generally. They will come up to control if you'd done it properly otherwise a fee applies!
Needless to say that the air conditioning would only make a lot of noise but no cooling.
When we stated all these facts to the lady in her stuffy office that served as reception we wouldn't even hear a sorry just a 'well you really had no luck...'.
Luckily the beautiful island and the nice people everywhere (except at the Flamboyant that is) still made the trip a very nice experience.
Just stay away from that place and you will be good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort

Also Known As:
Le Flamboyant Hotel Baie Nettle
Le Flamboyant Hotel
Le Flamboyant Resort All Inclusive
Le Flamboyant
Le Flamboyant Hotel And Resort St Maarten-St Martin/Baie Nettle
Address: Route des Terres Basses, Baie Nettle 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Baie Nettle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Baie Nettle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Beachfront Hotel set on Simson Bay, 5 miles from Juliana Int'l Airport, St. Maarten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.