We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic enough, but comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route des Terres Basses, Baie Nettle 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Baie Nettle
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Basic enough, but comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

As it says in the title...
It has it's own little beach on the lagoon, which is nice. I found the food to be quite good as well.
The rooms are a bit dated and are basic, but clean. I couldn't help the feeling that I was inconveniencing the staff by asking any questions, which would put me off going back.

If you have heavy bags, there was no lift or room porter available that I saw available, so a downstairs room would be better.

I had a balcony, a pleasant spot to spend an evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    44
    23
    23
See reviews for
33
68
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

The hotel itself was ok. But the lagoon is not for swimming. The pool was cold. There was literally no one at the hotel all day. Then the restaurant would start serving dinner at 7:00 and play booming bass music until after 10:00 everynight. If you don't rent a car it is a cab ride to any activity as there is nothing to do at the hotel all day except the pool. Food was overpriced. The breakfast that was included was good but you had to get there early as they often ran out of some items.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011 via mobile

Staff was rude and unhelpful.our kingsize bed was about six inches off the floor. The toilet had an annoying drip 24/7. The toilet smelled like a port a potty. The food was terrible AND overpriced. Resort on a lagoon, no beautiful ocean.pool was quite cold,but ok. Drum music before noon was not appreciated either...avoid this resort!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

The hotel could be very pretty...but rooms are dirty and services poor. The resort is pictured on this pretty bay...but you can NOT swim in it!...it is dirty overgrown with sea weed and brown in color!! All water sports non useable. In our 5 day stay we NEVER saw jet skis boats etc go out. We traveled EVERY day to a clean ocean beach. Breakfast was monotonous and cold...bar closed at 10:30...not high end spirits...phones worked poorly..UGH...This is our fourth trip to St. Martin and we should have known better...GREAT ISLAND and people stay away from Le Flamboyant!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I've stayed at Le Flamboyant before. And I was looking forward to staying there with my son and our extended family. Le Flamboyant has a wonderful beach with gorgeous views, Free water activities, great pools and grounds. Sadly, our rooms and the restaurant were dirty -- filthy -- and run down. The food on the breakfast buffet was infested with ants, The housekeeping staff tried to do a good job (I tipped) but our rooms probably hadn't been painted in 10 years, trim was coming off, and the rooms just generally felt dirty.

We spent our whole time there discussing how we would "fix" Le Flamboyant. It really wouldn't be hard. They have a lot to work with.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Do not waste your time and money to come here. You're better off sleeping in your car!!! I'm at this hotel as I type thus review now. For starters once my friends and I got here we had 2 twin beds pushed together. Then try told us we bad to pay more because there were more than just 2 people and it's for the breakfast package. I told them we'd opt out of eating breakfast and they told us no we still had to pay more money. We paid the money, then they gave us this wrist bands and told us that we had to keep them on for our entire stay so they could recognize who's guest and which plans you have. I have never in all the hotels we've stayed in had to put on a wrist band. But anyway we decide to try and make the best of it and go to the beach they have in the back and it's nothing but a bunch of boats out there. Walking onto the beach only to sink into the sand. It's like a clay or mud, it is NOT sand!!!!! The water is not blue and green the way the show in the pictures. You can not see 3 inches threw the water because of the "sand". It feels like quick sand every time you walk. So we decided well just stay in the pool. Later on that night as I attempted to lie in my twin bed and watch tv, web learned that everything is in french and Spanish. We had 1 channel in English which was HBO with Spanish subtitles. The remote has 4 buttons so you cannot remove the subtitle or change the language. I woke up in the middle of the night with aching back pains and couldn't breathe. I called the front desk and he moved us to a larger room that had 2 double size beds and 1 twin bed, which we asked for at first. We finally made it to sleep at 5 and had to be up in a few hours for this breakfast buffet which was the worse! The food is horrible!!! I do recommend the pizza parlor up the street! Great pizza! Keep in mind this is only day one. If you want to enjoy St. Maarten do NOT come to Le Flamboyant because there isn't anything flamboyant about this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

The Bad:
Beautiful property and island, horrible customer service. Never greeted with a smile, every question you ask anyone is never kindly answered. When we asked for towels at 9pm at night we were rudely told they had none, and that our room was supplied with enough (4 towels were enough for a 6 person room). This happened two days in a row and according to the front desk agent extra towels were available from 10:00am - 10:30am... really? Bartender was very rude and was actually angry she had to make us our first beverage at the property (welcome to our hotel), which ended up costing us $45USD total for one drink for 5 people. While we did enjoy one (very expensive) dinner on property, the portion size was an absolute joke and we ended up driving to a Dominos pizza afterwards for more food! Don't even get me started about their cocktail singer who was obviously tone deaf. This place is not very close to the airport, so be prepared for a $20 cab far to SXM!

The Good:
All of the things listed above are a bummer, because in reality this hotel is absolutely beautiful. Smaller then some of the resorts on the island, this property is unique because it faces a lagoon. Free water sport rentals and tours are offered daily. Two large pools all surrounded by beautiful landscape make you really feel like you are on vacation on a beautiful island. Our room was nice then expected, as we had a two-floor duplex that was more then adequate for 6 people. A large master bedroom with a king size bed and another large bedroom upstairs with three beds. Two large bathrooms, a living room, kitchen, washer and three air conditioning units made us very comfortable during our stay. The very large balcony was perfect for watching the sunset and hanging our clothes out to dry.

Did we have an awesome trip otherwise? YES! St Maarten is beautiful, rent a car (you can do this in the lobby) and just drive around the island. Going to Maho Beach is an absolute must-do to see some of the worlds largest aircraft take off and land less then 100 feet above you. An extremely amazing and liberating feeling. Enjoy meals on the less expensive Dutch side, rather then the stuffy and expensive French side.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort

Also Known As:
Le Flamboyant Hotel Baie Nettle
Le Flamboyant Hotel
Le Flamboyant Resort All Inclusive
Le Flamboyant
Le Flamboyant Hotel And Resort St Maarten-St Martin/Baie Nettle
Address: Route des Terres Basses, Baie Nettle 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Baie Nettle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Baie Nettle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Beachfront Hotel set on Simson Bay, 5 miles from Juliana Int'l Airport, St. Maarten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.