We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisurely Creole French lunch under the palms on the sands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of les Boucaniers - CLOSED

les Boucaniers
route des terres basses | nettle bay beach club, Baie Nettle 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
0590292175
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $46
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Leisurely Creole French lunch under the palms on the sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stopped at Les Boucaniers for a leisurely lunch. On the water with a view of Marigot in the distance, it was a tranquil place to spend a couple of hours. The waitress Caroline showed us to a wooden table with benches with orange cushions, shaded by pines and palms. The menu emphasized Creole food with French influence. We ordered a glass of Cotes de Bourg to accompany my husband's chicken with Creole sauce. French fries were crisp and savory. I ordered boudin noir, which was served with tiny scallions, red peppers, onions and a salad of arugula dressed with mustard vinaigrette. Delicious! My main course was a classic island dish: tender, juicy shrimp Colombo (a mild and delicate curry sauce) with fluffy white rice. We ordered expresso coffee instead of desert.
After we asked Caroline to please compliment the chef, he came out to our table. His name is Nicolas, and he hails from Paris. He also sent out tiny glasses of delicious milky coconut rum which he makes himself.
The meal was fine, delicate, and the setting is pleasant, outdoors with small beach/water view. We rated it an "A".

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    32
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Make sure you make a reservation to this typical restaurant. Food is excellent and the owners are very kind.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Special Beach & Palms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I do not give many 5 stars, but this deserves every one of them! Tables on the beach under lighted palms are spread around so you do not feel crowded. Food is excellent and reasonably priced. Filet Mignon with Foie Gras a true delight!! Good wine selection. Do not be put off when you drive up, door opens to a great romantic spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relax Among The Palms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This informal little place has great food at a moderate price. This is a family business and with one server, expect to take your time. But, with a table on the beach among palm trees, order a good bottle of wine and just relax and enjoy. We both had scallops that we'd outstanding and the goat cheese Samoussa salad will not disappoint. Food here is as good as in Grand Case without the prices.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Unique ambiance, right in a small beautiful beach. Food was just amazing. We went for the local specialties and loved them. They have a large selection of French wines. Plan for a long lunch, service is not fast (nor did we expected that), but the staff was very friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed les Boucaniers also viewed

Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
 
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage les Boucaniers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.