We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panoramic ocean view and Marigot bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Saint-Louis

Fort Saint-Louis
Marigot, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 attractions in Marigot
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Panoramic ocean view and Marigot bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Strolling around the market in Marigot we saw the flag up the hill and decided to climb up. The slope was rather steep, but after a short effort we enjoyed an unexpected nice view. ( no entrance fee) We saw the tourist buses stopping on the hillside in order to see some view on the way coming to Marigot, but the view from Fort Saint Louis was simply superb.
Although this fort is just a ruin with a few old cannons and 2 wooden benches, it is worth to climb up.

From Philipsburg we took a public bus to Marigot; US $2/p one way.
A public bus to Marigot stops on the road along the Salt Pond.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    68
    34
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jumpin' all over the world
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great views, interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We enjoyed the little hike up to Fort Saint Louis at the top of a hill (we needed something to help us work off all the croissants we'd been eating), and the view along the way and at the top can't be beat. The historical information provided on sign boards is interesting -- the French saved the beans in the great coffee clash of 1808 against the marauding British! There was some unfortunate litter scattered around, but other than that it was a nice place to visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“do not miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

from downtown Marigot you´ll see the first steps to go to the fort. It is not so difficult to get there but go slow. 5 minutes, maybe. Great viewsto take photos, and to visit the jail in which the French military put english pirates . You can view Anguilla very easily, but also Saba, that seems a volcano, far away in the sea

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good to kill a few hours at most”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The view is phenomenal. It is a nice hike up to the fort. There is not much to do besides enjoy the view, but it was worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's a fort...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend loves to check out every fort or historical site whenever we're traveling so it was mandatory that we checked out this one... What can I say? It's a ruin of a fort. Lots and lots of steps to get up to it but the view from the top is very pretty. You can see the ocean and all the town below. Not much to read beside a few panels of historical explanation and not much left of the fort except a few rusted cannons and the crumbling walls. The view is worth it if you're in decent shape.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Saint-Louis also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Fort Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Saint-Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Saint-Louis to your Saves list