We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking views!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Louis

Fort Louis
Marigot, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$119*
and up
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breath taking views!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

For a free visit this was amazing! Wear sneakers or comfy shoes! We went there on the spur of the moment and I had on fashion sandals but it was well worth it! My feet will heal. The view of Anguilla is pretty but what's more gorgeous are the homes nestled in the hills of Marigot! I'm really considering buying property here. I love this island!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    138
    55
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Atop the world, or a piece of it.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Tough walk up when it's humid! But the reward of aspectacular view was worth it. My son loved it too, mostly the cannons that were still there. Also any story of history, soldiers and pirates keeps his attention.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

The views from the fort acros the surrounding areas was amazing but the grounds were full of litter. It is a shame that it hasn't been better taken care of. The little signposts giving information were interesting. So much potential here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“One proud moment for the French?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is worth the stop if you happen to be driving by but mostly just for the over looking views of Marigot Bay and not necessarily the fort. The French seem to be proud the won a battle there but really the ruins barely resemble an old fort. Do not expect a fort like on St. Kitts, Puerto Rico, or even St. Croix.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stunning Views With Refreshing Breezes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

While it looks like quite a walk up to Fort Louis, it's really not that bad. A bit steep, but it is so worth the trip. The views up on this 17th century fort and the refreshing breezes makes this a must visit for me while visiting Marigot. There are plaques explaining its history as well, so it will be educational.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Louis also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Fort Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.