We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Marina la Port Royale | 97150, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
590877907
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After spending the morning on the beach we decided to make our way over to Marigot to do some exploring and have a bite to eat. What a good decision. We went into the Tropican about 2:00 pm and there was only one other couple. We sat directly by the water. The service was perfect, attentive but not overly solicitous. We started with an appetizer of mussels and glasses of cold Chardonnay. My wife had a salad of smoked salmon which our waiter told us was smoked on site. It was so flavorful. We both sampled it and enjoyed. I had a scallop dish with lobster in a light sauce that was out of this world. Perfect afternoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    96
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tout etait parfait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Fantastic food, outstanding service, great, albeit hidden, location and ample parking. Definitely a place worth a visit. We've declared it our dining room.
For the American tourist, the meals might not be "sizeable" enough.
For the European visitor, the meals are generous in size, light and very very very tasty!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tropicana, great food, great folks, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Marigot, the French capital of St Maarten has a variety of good restaurants along the dock area. We chose the Tropicana because it was recommended to us by friends and it was truly a great experience. The place is small but quaint, overlooking the water and the people there are very friendly. The food is excellent we had the fish special and it was excellent. The owner, Christof ( hopefully the spelling is right ), was a great guy and the host and waitress were also super folks. We topped of the meal with a french desert which was kind of a Mousse with a chocolate coating. The desert was big enough for my wife and I to share and it was just wonderful. To top it all off they came around with a homade bourbon drink that had vanila and some fruit marinated in it in the sun, wow. We would recommend the Tropicana.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Was the usual chef on holiday?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have eaten at Tropicana before and everything was outstanding from appetizer to dessert! This time, however, it was disappointing with the exception of an excellent appetizer special of Shrimp with Scallop Risotto in a divine Green Sauce and the Fois Gras appetizer with Scallops. The Carrot Soup with ginger was unremarkable. The Filet Mignon was served with a delicious cream sauce of Cognac, Bacon and Onion, but the filet itself was flavorless and tasted like it had been frozen before cooking. The Duck Breast was somewhat tough. The Pork Tenderloin with Shrimp, Cheese Ravioli and White Butter Tarragon Sauce was overpowered by the tarragon flavor. We did not even look at the dessert menu, because we did not want to risk another round of mediocre dishes.
This was certainly an off night, as four of us were not pleased with the food. The waiter was attentive and friendly and the owner was charming, as usual. So what went wrong??

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food at the Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have eaten here several times in the past few years but were not able to last year as the restaurant was full. We learned our lesson and had our hotel call and book us a table outside by the marina. A good call as these tables fill up quickly.

We started with a cheese plate and nice bottle of Bordeaux. Very nice pairings. For lunch we had the 'Special' salad and the 'Ocean' salad. Both were fresh and very tasty.

We had a negative experience when we tried to pay our bill -- as the waiter was far more interested in chatting with friends -- so after 15 minutes of waiting we went inside to pay. Not the worst thing -- but did leave a bad taste.

The food is really good and we love the location -- so I'm sure we will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.