We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Marina la Port Royale | 97150, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
590877907
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
S. Glens Falls
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We(party of 4) stopped at Tropicana with no reservations on a Saturday evening. Laurence and staff accomadated us with no problem and made us feel very comfortable and not rushed. We enjoyed a extremely pleasant evening and meal. From service to presentation felt like we were the only ones at the restaurant. Would recommend highly for an enjoyable evening or a quick bite. The escargot was to die for and the deserts as well as the entrees are works of art. Would definately recommend a stop on your vacation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    103
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had lunch at Tropicana based upon the recommendation of some friends who live full-time in St, Maarten. What a pleasant experience. Given that this was Marigot we were expecting/hoping for good quality French food. That is exactly what we got.
Thankfully, we had reservations. If you are going in high season make sure you do. We watched as numerous people who tried to walk up were turned away as the restaurant was fully booked for a weekday lunch. Staff was very pleasant and helpful, but not so attentive as to be bothersome. The outdoor setting overlooking the little harbor was perfect, especially on a beautiful, sunny day.
The food did not disappoint and the prices were reasonable considering that this was Marigot and the location was unbeatable. The onion soup was especially good as were the luncheon salads and the fish. We did not have wine so I cannot comment on either the quality of the wine list or the prices.
If you are looking for a "French lunch" ala a Parisian cafe or brasserie in an unbeatable setting then I highly recommend Tropicana. Just remember the reservations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"Good old" Tropicana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Gave it another try, after a very long time.
We simply enjoyed our dinner of escargots and sole + the two specials (fruits de mers + 5 (?) different types of fish, which came accompanied by its own vegetables.
Unfortunately no room left for dessert, so had some espresso instead.
Service was good.
Quality + Price are well balanced.
Will definitely not wait a long time to return.
Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Foodie's this restaurant is a real 5 Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just back from St Martin and used Trip Advisor for the BEST places to eat. As a crazy foodie I am finding that the “normal diners” God Bless Them “ are giving restaurants 5 stars that truthfully to a foodie are not. So I was so excited eating at this restaurant. Everything was wonderful the service was super friendly and knowledgeable, the presentation was excellent and the food was PERFECT! Because everyone was so relaxed and happy with the food and service it was a pleasure being there. I had the daily special which was pork and my husband had the salmon both excellent with just the right amount of sauces and appropriate sides. They have a pastry chef who uses fresh local ingredients. My husband had the dark chocolate mousse and I had the fresh fruit tart both delicious. If all this wasn’t enough, after we finished, the owner stops by our table and pours us a complementary shot of a banana /vanilla flavored rum that is his own invention. If you are in ST. Martin and a crazy foodie like me GO TO THIS RESTAURANT

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went here twice during our stay in St-Martin and found the food excellent. The meals were prepared with finesse and you could taste all the subtleties of the ingredients. Add to this an attentive service and you have a winner. Very much worth a visit!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.