We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food at reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Matina la Port Royale | 97150, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
590877907
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 restaurants in Marigot
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
western ma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“wonderful food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had lunch and dinner here. Both meals were great. Lunch is quite warm but evening is a little cooler. The food was simply prepared - fish and salads very fresh. Wine is fairly priced. We would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    266
    65
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Devine - Meals were fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The snapper special was to die for. Onion soup was superb. Lobster bisque was perfection, And the Ocean salad was excellent. Our waitress, Laurence, was delightful. This was our 2nd time here. First time was 2005. Our friends thought it was the best meal on the island. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Le Tropicana restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a wonderful dinner there. Pricey but customer service was exceptional. Escargo in pastry was the best I have ever had. Recommend entering and leaving through front of the Marina. Alley in back had junkies shooting up when we walked through. We got the look "what are you doing here?". They didn't bother us but we definitly didn't hang around. Marina itself is nice. Too bad this puts a negative spin on the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Best Food West of Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely wonderful experience. The food is very good, the customer service is warm and friendly and the location is great. Highly recommended to anyone who is on St Martin

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Missouri, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pastry chef on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a wonderful place to eat at! The desserts are made fresh and they are wonderful. Will be going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.