We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure St Martin and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure St Martin and Marina to your Saves list
Mercure St Martin and Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Nettle | BP 172, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife, 16 year old son, and I spent our March break week at this resort. The drive from the airport is about 15 minutes. The resort is located in a peaceful area of the island, with only few other hotels and a few restaurants in the area. If you are looking for relaxation, this is the place. It is based on Simpson Lagoon so the water on their small beach is very still. Walk across the road, and there is a very nice ocean beach (Baie Nettle) with 3 nice restaurants. We ate dinner at 2 of them - Dreams and Le Sand - both were excellent. The hotel restaurant/bar (Les Voiles) provided an excellent buffet breakfast each morning. We had a very nice dinner there our first night, and a couple of nights enjoyed some cocktails with the friendly bar staff.

With our rental car we found the location a good base point for exploring the rest of the island. Philipsburg/Maho area on the Dutch side was a short drive one way and Marigot and Grand Case were a short drive the other way. If it is your first time on this island, I recommend you make sure your rental car has a GPS, have one person as the dedicated navigator and another person focus on the driving. Some areas are challenging (eg. Marigot) but eventually you will get the hang of it getting around the island.

Our room was a 2 story loft unit with the bedroom/bathroom up in the loft and the main living room and full bath on the main floor. Our good sized balcony was equiped with a fridge/freezer - nice touch. We were facing the beach and lagoon. Newly renovated, very comfortable. Some have complained about the wifi, however it worked fine while we were there, even our 16 year old didn't complain.

We rented jet skis a couple of times from "Jet Extreme" a great facility on the hotel property - highly recommend them.

They are still renovating the grounds, continuing to add qwerky artwork and plants. Some more comfortable beach furniture would be a welcome improvement.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Units facing the beach/lagoon give you a nice view from your balcony, including sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    96
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
115
26
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a very nice hotel in the Nettle Bay by the lagune. Everyone at the reception was really helpful and professional. The check-in was quick and efficient. We had a nice room on the 1st floor with the view of the pool and the lagune and a bush of bougainvillea growing by the balcony. The bed was really comfortable, the pillows were awesome - a good night sleep is guaranteed (if you don't have noisy neighbors - which is not the hotel's fault, of course), and you will be nicely woken up by birds chirping. The bathroom is spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet is nice, there is a variety of fruit, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, meats, jams, breads, cereals, juices and coffee. We had dinner just once because we wanted to explore other restaurants on the island - the tuna is fresh and delicious and the staff kind and helpful. We also had a couple of cocktails at the bar, yummy! The lagune beach is calm, a lot of beach chairs and hammocks under the palm trees, perfect for a nap! The pool is nice, clean, and not crowded at all. We didn't use the gym nor the spa. After the check-out, they have a "transit room" where you can put your suitcase while waiting for your transport to the airport, use the bathroom, change, or take a shower. This is definitely a hotel we would return to, and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just got back from St. Martin and had a great time at Mercure.Room was nice,modern and clean.Food was great.Nice beach and quiet place .We rented sea doo and paddle board at hotel.Kids loved it.Really nice lagoon.We rented the car and it was nice to see other part of the island.Mullet Bay beach was great for swimming. Also we loved the" Dreams Beach/Bar restaurant" which was just across of street.Staff at Mercure is really nice and helpful.I will be back to this place.:)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel, I would highly recommend it if you are looking for a resort style vacation. It has a lovely restaurant, the food was delicious, there are also a few restaurants within walking distance, Mahti Beach was a nice restaurant right on the water. The pool is large and right next to the restaurant. You cannot be served at the pool though. There is also a spa and a tennis court! The court should be resurfaced but was still playable, just pleased they had one!
Our room was a two story duplex which was great for our family. There isn't an elevator, we were on the third floor, it was fine for us but if stairs are an issue I would request a ground floor. Our view was amazing! It was of Simpson Bay and the sunset! Other rooms do not have as nice of view, we must have lucked out because we booked the hotel only a few hours before we arrived.
The beach would really only be the one negative. It is still a lovely beach and the water is clear, it just is on the lagoon so you don't get the powdery sand and bright blue water that you get on the ocean side. There are plenty of chairs and there are several hammocks on the beach. There is a distant view of the airport across the bay, so it is fun to watch the planes come in.
We don't like to stay in hotels with our kids but this one was very spacious.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Holly,

Thanks you very much for taking the time commenting your stay with us.

Your suggestion of having food served around the swimming pool is actually something that we are working on right now and that will probably be organized before the end of summer.

About the elevator issue, please never fear to ask for some help at the hotel frontdesk. We will always do our best to find a member of our staff to come and give a hand in the best delay.

About the sunset view. "Amazing" is the word, there is no doubt about that. Do not hesitate to ask for the same duplex on your next stay with us (or if friends of yours come and see us). We will be more happy to arrange you, depending on availability.

Warmest regards,

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent the night there before an early take-off... Bedding was awful although room was spacious... the place is locked up... We walked to the beach on the hotel premises... Nothing special really- There are so many nicer places to stay on the island that I was glad we only spent one night at Mercure.

The + is that the staff was friendly and helpful (They let us into our room early at 1:30 PM for a 10 euro fee)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Carole,

Somewhat, we always find it unfair to be judged on a one night stay. Isn't it like judging a book by its cover?

We hope to see you again for a longer stay, so you can properly appreciate what we can offer.

Kindest Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a very nice hotel. I am ranking it lower because we arranged for taxi transport to our yacht port through the hotel. It was late and on top of that, the driver was taking us to the wrong port despite the hotel telling him which port before we left the hotel premises. The taxi driver was very sorry and felt incredibly badly about the situation. He was very nice. I think the hotel bears responsibility for the mix up as I witnessed the conversation between the driver and the hotel representative. The hotel rep was speaking quickly despite the driver not being quite sure. We had to use our mobile to connect to the internet for find directions to the correct port. The fee for this was $73 USD. If it wasn't for this, I would have ranked this hotel 5 stars. It was otherwise quite nice. The customer service in this particular situation was lacking.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Max,

We are sorry for the inconvenience you seem to have encoutered during your stay in Saint-Martin, but the events you are describing remain totally unknown by our entire staff members. Would you please be kind enough to contact us directly so that we can clarify that situation?

Kindest regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure St Martin and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Martin and Marina

Address: Baie Nettle | BP 172, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Martin and Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location on the west coast of the island, 5 km (3 miles) away from the French capital, Marigot, 7 km (4 miles) away from Juliana international airport and its surrounding nightlife - restaurants, bars, casinos - a walking distance from Baie Rouge, one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, 100 m away from Sandy Beach, the Hotel Mercure 4 Stars St Martin Marina & Spa welcomes you to paradise.The hotel: 172 rooms, a creoles tone in a modern atmosphere. From peaceful sunrises to warm sunsets, our restaurant/bar "Les Voiles" awaits you by the lagon. Its local, French as well as international cuisine, along with its exhaustive list of wines and cocktails will definitely know how to satisfy your senses. Seminaries, gathering, social events, three fully equipped rooms are ready to fulfill your needs.Might it be for leisure or business, at the Mercure Saint-Martin & Marina, everything has been thought of. Come and enjoy our private beach with palm and coconuts trees, our infinity pool (with a separate child's pool), relax yourself in our spa and train in our fitness room, tennis court or watersport club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure St Martin and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Simson Beach Saint-Martin Hotel Marigot
Mercure Hotel Marigot
Accor Hotel Marigot
Mercure St Martin And Marina St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure St Martin and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.