We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carribean retreat with european flare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure St Martin and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure St Martin and Marina to your Saves list
Mercure St Martin and Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Nettle | BP 172, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“carribean retreat with european flare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved Saint Martin, can't wait to go back. Everyone at the Mercure was so welcoming and accommodating. The owners Mr. and Mrs. Arbia are very gracious hosts as well as so many nice staff we made friends with Karim, Anna, Candice, Rudy, Damian, and so many more. The food is amazing- you feel like you're in Europe! There's also a scuba school onsite where my partner passed his diving school and loved it. Our room had a beautiful view of the sea, it looked like a scene from a postcard. The island is very relaxing, a great place to go recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISABELLE L, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you very much for this wonderful message. We are happy to read that our friendly staff has made your vacation a success and we cannot wait to welcome you back again next year.

Truly yours,

The Mercure Team

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    59
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
64
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I stayed at Mercure for Summer Pole Camp 2014 and really enjoyed the delicious buffets, our comfortable room and the friendly staff. I only just realised that I didn't have the chance to dip into the beautiful pool, but I did visit the lovely, clear-watered beach close by. However, for someone who is always working the bad wifi connection was a real dilemma. Fix that and I might just move there for good!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very for your comment. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do not worry about the dip in the swimming pool you missed! It has been renovated by the time you were gone, so you will have the chance to take an "overlooking the lagoon swim" on the next 2015 Summer Pole Camp. As for the wifi, we are currently graciously providing the best offer available so far on the island. Please be sure that an improvement will be made as soon as an opportunity comes up.

Kindest regards

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Mercure for Summer Pole Camp two years in a row. The hotel is beautiful; the rooms have great views of the bay. The staff is friendly and make you feel at home. The food is very good and there is nightly entertainment for guests to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Frances,

Thank you very for taking the time commenting your stay with us. We are happy to announce you that the 2015 Summer Pole Camp is already under preparation, and we sure hope to see you there!

Friendly regards,

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

This past July I went on vacation to the MERCURE St Martin & Marina, on my way there I was planning my vacation for the following summer in Spain.... After being at this dream resort for only a couple of days I had changed next year's vacation to three weeks at the MERCURE St Martin! The staff and the guests were so friendly and nice that the Mercure felt like home. The beautiful room remodels with non-stop A/C made it perfect. The beds were very comfortable and they kept the rooms super clean like I like;) The restaurant is on the water, but covered perfectly with fans overhead, it's hot! Then you look out over this dock to the water. It's great:) The pool has the same view, done. I loved the food, and I'm a very picky eater. They were able to find me great options and also, order the Chocolate Lava Cake! I'm currently working out now so I can eat extra 1s next summer.... Overall the MERCURE has found a place in my heart, I just love them and can not wait to be back there next year relaxing and being taken care of:)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing such a nice review! We are happy to read that your stay with us was such a delight and it is with real pleasure that we will be welcoming you again next year.

Kindest regards,

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Stayed fot 1 night courtesy of Air France pilots strike,not at all impressed with the hotel, put in room 254 no lifts no bell boy don't know how people on higher floors managed,had to buy water as it was not paid for by airline ,evening meal was set with no choice even offered to pay the extra and told NON ,breakfast was good buffet style,room was small air con was not turned on so room was about 30c ,fridge was also not on,no coffee in room.no shops near by you need a car and we had returned ours due to checking in at airport,would I stay here again not through choice it was lucky to get an average rating should really be poor

Room Tip: Lower floor because no lift in the block we were allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Sir,

As you wrote it yourself, you stayed at our hotel because of an airline strike - an airline company that paid for your stay, food, and transport. You must have realised you were not the only passenger that has been redirected to our hotel. In the hotel industry, we call this rare situation an "Emergency". So, on that particular evening, we suddenly had to accomodate around 200 unexpected guests, get all the rooms ready, prepare and serve food to those guests, etc... all this without the inapropriate number of staff, as you can guess. Therefore, do you really think it is fair to leave such a comment after staying only one night in our hotel, during such a special event?

Furthermore, writing that "there is no shop around" is not true. Not even mentionning the shop right inside the hotel hallway, there is a gas station/grocery shop 30 meters away and a minimarket 100 meters further.

In conclusion, no, your comment isn't fair, but it proves only one thing: if a major airline company trusts and relies on us to urgently accomodate hundreds of their passengers, there must be a good reason...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This is the third time I'm staying at the hotel and every single time my stay gets better than the last. The hotel is now renovated and the new rooms really add some flair to the hotel. The staff is friendly and is always looking to help you in everything they can. Every single member of the staff is always looking to give you the best time. The hotel also provides evening activities which sometimes consists of salsa night / karaoke/ poker. Also during the day you have zumba lessons and if all the activities are not enough for you they have a water sports facility where you can try to jetsky, watersky and if you are looking for something different flyboard ( you'll feel like ironman!) The hotel is right next to a lagoon where all these sports are practiced and the beach is just across the street.
The food of the restaurant is amazing, it's fresh and with the best ingredients, try their sirloin steak and goat cheese salad. If you really like sweets don't miss their tarte tatin and chocolate lava cake.
Can't wait to be back next year!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lagoon view, you'll wake up to a gorgeous sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Patty,

Thank you very much for this charming and encouraging message. We are happy to read that you enjoy every aspects of what the Hotel Mercure Saint Martin & Marina proposes and we are proud to count you as one of our loyal guests.

Understanding your profile picture right, we tell you see you next year... for the 2015 Summer Pole Dance Edition!

Thanks again

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I spent three weeks it this hotel in July and it was amazing. The rooms were nice and clean and the aircon worked perfectly. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. There was a large variety of food and the most amazing chocolate lava cake.

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for somewhere in St Martin.

Hopefully returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Sally,

Thank you very much for this wonderful message! We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sure looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Sincerely yours

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure St Martin and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Martin and Marina

Address: Baie Nettle | BP 172, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure St Martin and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location on the west coast of the island, 5 km (3 miles) away from the French capital, Marigot, 7 km (4 miles) away from Juliana international airport and its surrounding nightlife - restaurants, bars, casinos - a walking distance from Baie Rouge, one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, 100 m away from Sandy Beach, the Hotel Mercure Saint-Martin & Marina welcomes you to paradise.The hotel: 170 rooms, a creoles tone in a modern atmosphere. From peaceful sunrises to warm sunsets, our restaurant/bar "Les Voiles" awaits you by the lagon. Its local, French as well as international cuisine, along with its exhaustive list of wines and cocktails will definitely know how to satisfy your senses. Seminaries, gathering, social events, three fully equipped rooms are ready to fulfill your needs.Might it be for leisure or business, at the Mercure Saint-Martin & Marina, everything has been thought of. Come and enjoy our private beach with palm and coconuts trees, our infinity pool (with a separate child's pool), relax yourself in our spa and train in our fitness room, tennis court or watersport club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure St Martin and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Simson Beach Saint-Martin Hotel Marigot
Mercure Hotel Marigot
Accor Hotel Marigot
Mercure St Martin And Marina St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure St Martin and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.