We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure St Martin and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure St Martin and Marina to your Saves list
Mercure St Martin and Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Nettle | BP 172, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Taste of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you are looking for a place to relax in style in St. Martin - look no further! I booked one week and loved it so much, I stayed for two!! I can't say enough good things about the hotel and its' staff who work tirelessly to assure that my stay at the Mercure was an unforgettable one. From the newly renovated rooms, to the delicious French cuisine, and sophisticated spa and gym - this hotel is big enough to fulfil your needs and small enough to feel like home.

Previously in St. Martin I had stayed at a larger resort that lacked the charm, tranquility and beauty that can be found at the Mercure. Words can not express the attention to detail that is taken to weave the natural beauty of the island with modern art, lighting and construction. Day after day and night after night, I drank in the beauty and sophistication of my surroundings. I just got home and I'm already thinking about going back.

The Mercure is conveniently located only a 10 minutes drive from both Maho (and the airport) and Marigot. It is good to have a car, but if you don't want the stress, you can also trust the wonderful hotel driver Farhid to get you where you need to go.

My advice - go see it for yourself!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing such a wonderful message! It is a real pleasure for us that your stay with us has happened to be such a nice experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you again anytime in the future.

Many thanks from the Mercure Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    61
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
66
20
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A tremendous place to stay - staff welcomes you - and everyone's wonderful and goes the extra mike to make your stay memorable. Renovation is nearly done - and will make a great place a truly world class resort.
Looking forward to coming soon again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Henry,

Thank you very for taking the time commenting your last stay at the Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and are happy to confirm you that yes indeed, the final part of our renovation is almost over.

See you soon!

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Esther, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed 5 nights there, and had a great time. Everybody form owner to staff did a great job, there is never a "no sir".

Room was great, new, tropical shower in the bathroom, excellent.

Breakfast in the marina is so peaceful and great. Never expected that charming level in a Mercure (this means: Mercure is allways a good choice, but that one exceeded our expectations by far).

Dinner was great, too (had a fresh grilled thuna).

Situated not far from the aiport but far away from all disturbing things outside, we call it a real catch with fair prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you very much for this enchanting message! It is a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your time at the Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you anytime again, maybe for a longer stay!

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have spent two weeks in this wonderful vacation destination : Mercure hotel is a nice resort with a functional and spacious layout and with gardens full of tropical trees , flowers and lots of sculptures.
I have appreciated the hotel's location : a quiet area of the island ( Baie Nettlé ) on the French side , two minutes walk of the very clean Baie Rouge beach , good restaurants within walking distance , near the Dutch side and its tax free shops .
My renovated room was comfortable , spacious , calm , airy and with a balcony full of flowers and overlooking the pool and the gardens .
Staff were very professional , friendly and helpful , always smiling and quick to help : to provide tourist information and to direct to interesting places , to recommend activities available in the hotel or elsewhere ( snorkeling , diving and boat trips from the Mercure marina ) , to rent a car , to do shopping , to manage taxi rides to the airport…, specially the owners always inquiring about my needs .
Also great selection of food for breakfast , lunch and dinner with an amazing buffet ( I recommend the well prepared fish dishes) at the restaurant opened to the lagoon.
This hotel has a large sandy beach facing the lagoon with lounge chairs and hammocks under palm trees .
I have also enjoyed the daily activities organized by professionals in the large swimming pool , the gym and the spa as well as the evening entertainments .

Room Tip: rooms facing the lagoon or the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time sharing your experience at the Hotel Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa. We are pleased to read that you greatly enjoyed the two weeks vacation you spent with us, and are happy to inform you that the last part of our renovation is almost completed.

We hope we will welcome you soon again!

Kindest Regards

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was sent to the Mercure when I missed a flight connection. Despite being pretty fed up about having to stay in St. Martin, I have to say that the Mercure made it a very pleasant experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice, airy, calm and relaxing, very modern and well equipped, quiet and with a lovely view. The restaurant was superb, serving fresh, well prepared fish dishes (and others I assume, but I stuck to fish). Staff helpfully directed me to nearby locations where I could jog/walk and I had a very pleasant walk to and along an extensive beach. In the morning, despite a very early departure, I was invited to have breakfast before the scheduled time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that despite missing your flight, you enjoyed your room and the fresh gastronomy of our restaurant, as well as the beauty surrounding the Hotel Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa.

We hope we will welcome you for a longer stay.

Kindest Regards

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our second visit to the Mercure, having just been there last November. We like that its kind of "out of the way" as its quiet at night, but still close enough to all the action (definitely rent a car - we get a small Hyundai, all in for about $200USD for the whole week). Again, breakfast is very good (Candice is exceptional at the restaurant), rooms are nice and clean and the resort itself is very pretty. We were told when we left last November to send an email letting them know when we would be coming back again and they would "do something special for us". When we arrived, we actually ended up in a street facing duplex and unfortunately, no upgrade was even offered (I did send the email and also advised the front desk when we arrived we were repeat guest). Honestly, I did not say anything when we got to our room as at this point I just want to start my vacation. There is traffic noise early in the morning that you can hear in your room, so I would definitely recommend the lagoon view, which is what we had last time.
We still had a great time but for the money we paid (much more then our last trip), we will be looking elsewhere for our next stay in November.

Room Tip: renovated duplex on lagoon side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I B, Directrice adjointe at Mercure St Martin and Marina, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Erin,

We thank you for taking the time sharing your experience with us. We are disapointed to read that your last vacation did not fully meet your expectations. As for the reservation, we do want to remind that you can ask for a lagoon view at the time of reservation, which we will do our best to provide depending on availability.

Kindest regards

The Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure St Martin and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Martin and Marina

Address: Baie Nettle | BP 172, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure St Martin and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location on the west coast of the island, 5 km (3 miles) away from the French capital, Marigot, 7 km (4 miles) away from Juliana international airport and its surrounding nightlife - restaurants, bars, casinos - a walking distance from Baie Rouge, one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, 100 m away from Sandy Beach, the Hotel Mercure Saint-Martin & Marina welcomes you to paradise.The hotel: 170 rooms, a creoles tone in a modern atmosphere. From peaceful sunrises to warm sunsets, our restaurant/bar "Les Voiles" awaits you by the lagon. Its local, French as well as international cuisine, along with its exhaustive list of wines and cocktails will definitely know how to satisfy your senses. Seminaries, gathering, social events, three fully equipped rooms are ready to fulfill your needs.Might it be for leisure or business, at the Mercure Saint-Martin & Marina, everything has been thought of. Come and enjoy our private beach with palm and coconuts trees, our infinity pool (with a separate child's pool), relax yourself in our spa and train in our fitness room, tennis court or watersport club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure St Martin and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Simson Beach Saint-Martin Hotel Marigot
Mercure Hotel Marigot
Accor Hotel Marigot
Mercure St Martin And Marina St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure St Martin and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.