We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the same” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beach Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Beach Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Beach Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Swinoujscie, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always the same”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed a few times in this hotel. The hotel is located in walking distance from center of Marigot and marinas. the building is a little bit "tired" , but is already under renovation.
Nice staff, swimming pool, good food. I can recommend Beach Plaza for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    123
    54
    21
    15
See reviews for
24
124
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The location is great! walking distance to the Pier, mall and ferries to other Islands. The breakfast is good and more than enough though it could have better if it offers different dishes everyday. The Ocean Front is perfect and price is very reasonble. My room has very nice view with balcony and you can hear the waves that is so relaxing. The hotel is walking distance to all and you can spend a day of shopping around the area and there are lots of good local restaurants around this place and safe to walk even at night. The Pier have lots of ferries going to other Islands and a lot of Tour offered in which i will highly recommend St Barts Island.

Room Tip: You can walk to the pier and book a trip to different Island Tours 1 day for each Island, Book the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Although the hotel is in the process of renovations, it is still up and running smoothly without disruption to any of the guests. I found the hotel to be well maintained and very clean. I was travelling with a friend however we both had our own rooms. I was very impressed with the hotel security and felt very safe and secure at all times.
The staff, cleaning, serving, maintenance, and front desk were all very professional and friendly and went out of their way to ensure any needs were met. In particular, Joseane at the front desk, was so very helpful in answering any questions I had and was quick to respond to any request.
As this trip was a celebration of my recent retirement I would like to thank the hotel manager and all the staff for making this trip a memorable one. I will be returning to the Beach Plaza again next year.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from another great week at this hotel. Went last year and enjoyed it so much I decided to break my travel rule and not only return to St. Martin but also stay at the same accomodation. After having experienced several different Caribbean islands over the years and the massive all inclusive-activity packed resorts, finding the quieter (and very safe) French St Martin and the Hotel Beach Plaza was a relief. Yes the hotel and its rooms could do with a bit of updating BUT they are very large rooms and super clean each and every day. Wifi on the entire island can be a bit iffy. At the hotel itself, wifi has improved since last year (for those who want to bring tablets or whatever). You can now get a signal on the beach and in your room most of the time tho signal strength can fluctuate by the minute sometimes. Last year, the signal was limited to the hotel lobby. The beds are on the firm side but not uncomfortable at all. I highly recommend paying extra for the ocean view. The bathroom is very European in style. Air con is a bit noisy but its worth shutting off at night (or turning down low) and opening your balcony doors to fall asleep to the waves of the ocean instead). There are plans to temporarily close the hotel to renovate but we heard this has been delayed now (possibly even to next year). Nothing beats having morning coffee every morn on the balcony looking over at Anguilla in the distance and all the beautiful catamarans in the harbour. Since last year, the breakfast included in the rate has been scaled back (you have to order and pay separately now for eggs and bacon) but what you still get, is sufficient to start your day (super fresh breads, pastries, yogurt, cheeses, juices, coffees, fresh fruit---and some canned fruit too but that's typical of European type continental breakfasts). And when you need a change, the BEST bakeries are a 5 min walk away. The beach is small but its certainly adequate and never crowded to the point where you are fighting for a spot or a chair. On windy days tho, the current can be very strong so kids and weak swimmers need to be careful. When the winds are calm tho....its like glass and great for the novice snorkeller. Clientele is the 30-ish to 60-ish range on average (no university crowd and young families are rare) The staff was always friendly and polite but can come across as shy. I've seen reviews calling the staff rude but i totally disagree. If you greet them with a smile and a hello or good morning they are more than eager to help out when needed. I also ran into other tourists complaining about the tiny tvs!!!! Who the heck goes to the Caribbean and wastes their time (and money) staying in their room watching tv anyway?! As far as hotel location goes....you can't beat it. You are within walking distance to the best restaurants anywhere (Marina Royal across the street), 10 min walk to Marigot shops and more eateries, 2 min walk to grocery store/convenience stores, 15 min taxi or publlic bus ride to Grand Case, 20 mins to the glitz and glamour of the Dutch side St Maarten if you want a night of excitement. And if you need some touristy type help, the Tourist Bureau is right across the street too. There is a car rental rep at the hotel most mornings (or you can rent scooters across the street). Last year, there was a rep who would help you with booking offsite activities (like jet ski rentals, dinner cruises etc or snorkelling tours) but it looks like noone does that anymore tho the brochures are there. I found the Tourist Bureau across the street will help you with this instead now. If you are looking for a quieter locale on an island where you feel safe and noone hassles you to sell you cheap trinkets or braid your hair every 5 mins, where you can drink the water and eat excellent food day after day without worries of getting sick....trust me.....go to St. Martin.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a 2nd floor ocean view overlooking the beach if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Indeed the hotel might be getting a mite tired around the edges, but it is ideally located to enjoy Marigot by foot and offers an old-world charm that the modern chains just can't match. The hotel was immaculate clean, our room was charming, service was friendly, the view is to die for, breakfast was more than adequate and the beach was small, but better than nothing. The street noise mentioned in other reviews was a non-issue and neither was security. Bluntly, the naysayers who complain about this place need remember that standards vary around the world and one of the reasons that most people travel is to experience different cultures and experiences. All-in-all, great value for the price. Yes, a major renovation is scheduled, but don't hold your breath as the financing is not in place. As such, there is still an opportunity to snatch up this bargain.

Room Tip: Street side has more sun and a nice mountain view, Ocean side has a great view of the marina but vir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Hotel Beach Plaza four star rating is more of two or a three star rating by American standards. The hotel is clean and the rooms are adequate, however the rooms and hotel need updating. Judged by the plans in the lobby, it looks like the hotel is planned for an upgrade. With actual room keys (instead of key cards), the hotel of this caliber should have higher expectations.

On the outskirts of Sandy Ground and walking distance to Marigot (recommended, instead of trying to park in town), the hotel has a pool, restaurant, breakfast, atrium lobby and some resemblance of a beach with a narrow strip of sand along the hotel, but makes up for with a view of the bay and the yachts moored nearby.

The hotel is quiet, includes WiFi and has potential. This could be the premiere property for those wanting to stay in or near Marigot. Although it can't compete with the major resorts on the island, it can be the town hotel with all of the modern amenities, room and furniture updates and lobby presentation, especially for those who want to stay near Marigot and a reasonable distance to Orient Bay, Phillipsburg and Maho Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are an adult couple, and stayed a week in this hotel in the beginning of Feb. I am happy we had this opportunity to stay here, before it's massive renovation begins in April. I had read all the evaluations of this hotel beforehand, and propably based on that we were positively surprised. First of all, the young lady in the reception when we checked in was exceptionally sweet and friendly. And there were many others who earn our special thanks. Even the car rental guys were nice fellows :) Breakfast was ok - specially coffee and fruit! Room was always clean. We had an ocean view room, and it was perfect. We loved the sound of the waves hitting the rocks on the beach. And observing the sailing boats that had arrived during the night and early morning was exciting. Location is perfect. Wery peaceful but still near (walking distance, couple of minutes) Marigot city. Of course the age of the hotel can be seen, and everything is more or less outdated, but I think the charm is in there. The only real minus came from malfunctioning wifi (it really was very unstable) and from a small water-damage which caused water-outage in our bathroom for a half of a day. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay in Beach Plaza.

Room Tip: Ocean view in main building and the 2nd floor makes you feel like staying in the middle of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Plaza

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Hotel Beach Plaza St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beach Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.