We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel's future is cause for concern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beach Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beach Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beach Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Marigot
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“This hotel's future is cause for concern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Since I gave this hotel a very favorable rating 18 months ago, there have been changes — and not necessarily for the best. The hotel is under new ownership which plans to shut it down in April for extensive renovations which will continue to December. Architect sketches, now on display in the lobby, suggest a splendid new luxury hotel awaits visitors. Well, we shall see. What does seem probable is a substantial increase in room rates which may deter the many regulars who have stayed at the Beach Plaza for years,
Yes, the hotel has become a little run-down — shabby furnishings in the lobby, rust in the bathrooms, ridiculously small TV sets in the rooms — so touching up is certainly justified. But the basic complex has always remained attractive. the rooms are excellently serviced, the beach area is pleasant although small, and one huge bonus is that guests are only a five-minute walk from Marigot and some of the best restaurants on the island.
The hotel has offered good value. Whether it will continue to do so is a matter for conjecture.
With the hotel closing for renovations in April, what follows is an interim report, aimed at giving guests some idea of what to expect over the next two months.
I had a prepaid confirmed reservation when I checked in, but the front desk was not expecting me. Its arrivals list for that day did not contain my name. It later transpired that my arrival and departure dates had been incorrectly entered by staff into the hotel's computer system. They managed to find me a room but only after deciding to upgrade me. But what happened was disturbing given the fact that a few days after my arrival the hotel was completely sold out. I subsequently discovered that such mix-ups have happened more than once.
Housekeeping of the rooms was as usual impeccable. The free breakfast was as usual generous in its selection but no longer consistent in quality. You were safe if you wanted fresh fruit, but if you wanted hot food from the buffet, you had to be prepared for mornings characterized by watery scrambled eggs and bacon which was either burnt to a crisp or alarmingly undercooked. You often had to go chasing after the basket of fresh croissants traditionally supplied to each table, and there was a failure to regular replenish the assortment of jams which on most mornings were deprived even of identification labels. Cold cereals were hit and miss: sometimes at least cornflakes were available, sometimes not even this because of failure to replenish the cereal containers. This is a sloppy way to run a breakfast service.
The new ownership has already made unwelcome changes. The lounge chairs which used to be available in the shaded verandah overlooking the beach have been removed and replaced by formal dining tables with cutlery and tablecloths at one end and, at the other end, lobby furniture which has been moved from inside onto the verandah, Twice, while sitting there reading, it was suggested to me that I shouldn't be occupying this space unless I wished to order a beverage. I ignored the advice, and stayed where I was while inwardly fuming.
The popular pool bar was shut down while I was there, and the pool area itself was unusable for several days, with the poolside deck chairs stacked up and the area taken over by a huge heap of sand.
It's always tricky to pass judgment during a transition period, One wishes to be fair. But at the moment there seems to be a cavalier disregard for guests and what they have a right to expect when staying here.
There's little doubt that employees are distressed by what is happening now — also, presumably, by what the future will bring. One ex-employee told me bluntly that the new ownership has little or no experience in hotel management. This didn't seem to be sour grapes, given that he had worked at the Beach Plaza for more than a decade, knew what he was talking about and was quick to point out that the new owners had the best of intentions. We shall see whether good intentions are enough.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    127
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
22
120
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kelowna,bc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel was tired looking but very clean. We were fortunate to get an upgrade to a sea view which was very nice. Staff were cordial. The restaurant in the hotel was terrible and the breakfast that was included was okay but better restaurants were within walking distance. The location of the hotel was the best part, it was easy to walk into Marigot, get the ferry to Anguilla, get taxis and the bus. I loved St. Martin for its ambience, great food, and the variety of opportunities to see the rest of the island. I would go back anytime.

Room Tip: It depends on how much time you plan to spend in your room. Of course an ocean view is favorable, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shefford, qc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice place. Nice staff. Nice view. Everybody, on the french side, speak both english and french. Really good restaurant at about 5 to 10 min. walk. The beach at the hotel is ok. Fun to travel with the bus to go to one town to another. Would return over there anytime. Construction will be held beginning probably in april 2013.

Room Tip: If you want to pay i little bit more, choose the room on the marina side. For the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location is great for walking to the marina and all around Marigot. Easy walk to the ferry and to the bus stops. Furniture in the room was a bit dated although had a very french feel. Everything was clean. Good breakfast included with room. Would return again. Closing April-December 2013 for renovations.

Room Tip: Pick a room that opens into the inside atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fast and courteous check-in in a very nice lobby/entrance. Front desk staff speak both French and English. Very clean rooms (floors, furniture, bathroom) everything is spotless. Furniture is outdated and tv is small (like 15 inches small). So if you plan on spending your time in paradise in your room, think twice. Breakfast buffet is included with your room. It was stocked with fresh fruit, toast, english muffins, bagels, baguette, scrambled eggs, sausage links, bacon, hash browns, pancakes with syrup, cheese, yogurt, ham, hard boiled eggs, juice machine (OJ, apple and grapfruit), 3 types of coffee machines (latte, espresso, regular coffee, café au lait ...). All very good and fresh.
Again very clean tables and silverware with staff ready to help.

Wifi was tricky. I had to go to the centrum to get the signal the first time but then it worked from our room the rest of the trip (we were in room 237).

Some have said that noise was a problem. We were on the second floor facing the street and slept like babies. We were never awaken. The beds are HARD. We had read that in reviews on TA so we brought a mattress cover(2 inch foam type), packed in a vacuum bag to take as little room as possible, and are very glad we did.

Did not go to the hotel beach, but it looked very small. we went to Orient Beach and Mullet Bay instead. The pool looked ok but again, we did not use it.

Marigot(french side capital) is within walking distance and so is a big grocery store. For a good meal that wont cost an arm and a leg, try the lolos (LOcally owned LOcally operated).

We always rent a car ($204 for a compact with a/c, power windows, free cell phone, taxes included) and I highly recommend it to see all this island has to offer.

Check out was a breeze.

The hotel closes on April 14th for renovations and we will surely return afterwards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It is a bit worn out, but clean. The best part of it is the magnificent view on the Marigot Marina. You could spend all day and all evening on the porch and not be bored with it.
Breakfasts are edible, though my boyfriend kept complaining about bacon being undercooked. We only had dinner at their restaurant once, and it was enough.
Drinks at the bar were fine, but when I asked for regular coffee they made me an espresso, and when I asked for cream they just poured ice-cold milk into my cup. :( So bring your own cream.
The beach by the hotel is very small and it's not a good place to swim either. It's a good place to stay if you can rent a car and go to the beach or to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our 5th visit to SXM and our 2nd time at Hotel Beach Plaza. We love this place. If you are expecting a big box, all inclusive experience with huge flat screen TVs and a swim up bar...then don't stay here. The HBP is very much a Euro style hotel. Yes, it is a bit tired, however, a major renovation is on its way. The HBP has a great Caribbean feel, the lobby atrium is basically a mini bio dome with tropical plants, birds and 4 story palms...nice!

The staff is very friendly and always accommodating. The inclusive breakfast offers a wide variety of fresh fruits, juice, yogurt, eggs, sausages, french pastries and so much more.

Our ocean view room was stunning. If you enjoy being serenaded by the constant surf, this is the side of the hotel to stay on. The balcony off our room was a great place to sit back and soak it all in.

This is a perfect place to call home-base while on the island. It is clean, safe and comfortable. If you are looking for night life Cupecoy, Maho, and Port de Plaisance are a short 5-10 minute drive away on the Dutch side of the island. A car rental is a must If you want to see all this island has to offer.

Thank you to Eric and the staff at Hotel Beach Plaza. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: Oceanview all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Plaza

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beach Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Hotel Beach Plaza St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beach Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.