We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Martin is beautiful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beach Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beach Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Beach Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
kelowna,bc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“St Martin is beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel was tired looking but very clean. We were fortunate to get an upgrade to a sea view which was very nice. Staff were cordial. The restaurant in the hotel was terrible and the breakfast that was included was okay but better restaurants were within walking distance. The location of the hotel was the best part, it was easy to walk into Marigot, get the ferry to Anguilla, get taxis and the bus. I loved St. Martin for its ambience, great food, and the variety of opportunities to see the rest of the island. I would go back anytime.

Room Tip: It depends on how much time you plan to spend in your room. Of course an ocean view is favorable, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    123
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
24
124
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shefford, qc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice place. Nice staff. Nice view. Everybody, on the french side, speak both english and french. Really good restaurant at about 5 to 10 min. walk. The beach at the hotel is ok. Fun to travel with the bus to go to one town to another. Would return over there anytime. Construction will be held beginning probably in april 2013.

Room Tip: If you want to pay i little bit more, choose the room on the marina side. For the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location is great for walking to the marina and all around Marigot. Easy walk to the ferry and to the bus stops. Furniture in the room was a bit dated although had a very french feel. Everything was clean. Good breakfast included with room. Would return again. Closing April-December 2013 for renovations.

Room Tip: Pick a room that opens into the inside atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fast and courteous check-in in a very nice lobby/entrance. Front desk staff speak both French and English. Very clean rooms (floors, furniture, bathroom) everything is spotless. Furniture is outdated and tv is small (like 15 inches small). So if you plan on spending your time in paradise in your room, think twice. Breakfast buffet is included with your room. It was stocked with fresh fruit, toast, english muffins, bagels, baguette, scrambled eggs, sausage links, bacon, hash browns, pancakes with syrup, cheese, yogurt, ham, hard boiled eggs, juice machine (OJ, apple and grapfruit), 3 types of coffee machines (latte, espresso, regular coffee, café au lait ...). All very good and fresh.
Again very clean tables and silverware with staff ready to help.

Wifi was tricky. I had to go to the centrum to get the signal the first time but then it worked from our room the rest of the trip (we were in room 237).

Some have said that noise was a problem. We were on the second floor facing the street and slept like babies. We were never awaken. The beds are HARD. We had read that in reviews on TA so we brought a mattress cover(2 inch foam type), packed in a vacuum bag to take as little room as possible, and are very glad we did.

Did not go to the hotel beach, but it looked very small. we went to Orient Beach and Mullet Bay instead. The pool looked ok but again, we did not use it.

Marigot(french side capital) is within walking distance and so is a big grocery store. For a good meal that wont cost an arm and a leg, try the lolos (LOcally owned LOcally operated).

We always rent a car ($204 for a compact with a/c, power windows, free cell phone, taxes included) and I highly recommend it to see all this island has to offer.

Check out was a breeze.

The hotel closes on April 14th for renovations and we will surely return afterwards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It is a bit worn out, but clean. The best part of it is the magnificent view on the Marigot Marina. You could spend all day and all evening on the porch and not be bored with it.
Breakfasts are edible, though my boyfriend kept complaining about bacon being undercooked. We only had dinner at their restaurant once, and it was enough.
Drinks at the bar were fine, but when I asked for regular coffee they made me an espresso, and when I asked for cream they just poured ice-cold milk into my cup. :( So bring your own cream.
The beach by the hotel is very small and it's not a good place to swim either. It's a good place to stay if you can rent a car and go to the beach or to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our 5th visit to SXM and our 2nd time at Hotel Beach Plaza. We love this place. If you are expecting a big box, all inclusive experience with huge flat screen TVs and a swim up bar...then don't stay here. The HBP is very much a Euro style hotel. Yes, it is a bit tired, however, a major renovation is on its way. The HBP has a great Caribbean feel, the lobby atrium is basically a mini bio dome with tropical plants, birds and 4 story palms...nice!

The staff is very friendly and always accommodating. The inclusive breakfast offers a wide variety of fresh fruits, juice, yogurt, eggs, sausages, french pastries and so much more.

Our ocean view room was stunning. If you enjoy being serenaded by the constant surf, this is the side of the hotel to stay on. The balcony off our room was a great place to sit back and soak it all in.

This is a perfect place to call home-base while on the island. It is clean, safe and comfortable. If you are looking for night life Cupecoy, Maho, and Port de Plaisance are a short 5-10 minute drive away on the Dutch side of the island. A car rental is a must If you want to see all this island has to offer.

Thank you to Eric and the staff at Hotel Beach Plaza. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: Oceanview all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Like another reviewer we spent one night here before picking up our charter. It is rater dated but the staff was nice. Our room at a very nice ocean view. The free Spiced Rum drink was very nice! Our friends did not pay for breakfast but when they wandered by the restaurant they were told that all people staying received free breakfast and they said it was good. The WI-FI was free and fairly quick. There is a major renovation planned for this spring and should address a lot of the problems with the property. We had about 6 hours from checkout to when we boarded out boat and the staff was wonderful to put up with us storing our luggage.

Room Tip: We were after cheap so we booked an ocean view room. When we arrived we asked if there was an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Plaza

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Hotel Beach Plaza St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beach Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.