We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 1 night pre-cruise stay in St. Martin, Marigot area Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beach Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beach Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beach Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Marigot
texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“our 1 night pre-cruise stay in St. Martin, Marigot area Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Let me start by saying, "yes, I read the reviews, not great, tired, needs updating.... etc. ; huge renovation? really? maybe a small one that was never completed, but supposedly the "big one is happening in 2013, according a worker, & the hotel will soon to close down for the re-do. I was concerned with hotel choices because our flight out of Miami was arriving late & was worried about possible delays, so, I chose this hotel that our cruise ship line recommended out of 2 hotels because of its close proximity to the St. Martin Airport, so I thought. I read on a website that it was only 2.5 mi. from the airport, when in fact It was a 25 min. taxi ride ( $25.00) with the, the bad traffic jams in the Simpson Bay area, road construction @ 10:30 at night! As of December 2012, this was a terrible pre-cruise choice! We checked in just before 11:00. The hotel front drive had a huge chain that was pad-locked. A security guard had to unlock it & let our taxi in. The hotel seemed oddly dark & vacant. We were super thirsty, needed a drink from out long day of travels from Dallas. The most un-friendly, unhelpful, even rude night check-in person motioned that the bar-tender was just leaving, he did not even acknowledge my request to ask him to please stay just a few more min. to serve us a drink. I am sure if he wanted he could have gotten a couple of bottles of waters for us from some where! He said we would have to walk down the road, " a short distance" to a little store to buy bottled waters. He failed to mention that The French side of St. Martin or at least the Marigot area closes at 11:00. After taking our bags up to our 3rd floor room ourselves, We walked back down past the clerk & out of the hotel, stepped over the huge security chain in the dark in search of the little store to buy some water. Short distance?? not so, in fact we never found the little store after walking 15 min. in the dark, parched! it started to rain, we came upon a few closed restaurants along the marina, one still had the owner & a couple of workers having an after hours glass of wine. They explained that every thing closes @ 11:00 in Marigot & that our hotel staff certainly knew this. They were kind enough to sell us a large bottle of water. Off we went back to our dark deserted hotel. I booked this hotel directly through it's website, asked for an ocean view room, I really wanted an OV room to wake up to after traveling all day! O.K. so our room viewed the parking lot, & the AC had been turned off, it was dark & "dank" We had one of those little wall units that was over the door, still not cool after our long walk, not did the air even reach our very old hard bed. We asked to switch rooms, to have an AC that worked an an OV as promised. The clerk gave us a key to another room 1 floor down to "the old section over looking the little pier passed their beach. The AC worked better in this room & i did get my OV. This hotel was straight out of the 70's, & I am sure it was nice in its day. interesting lobby area with glass floor paths with water & lots of vegetation. The had attempted to update the bathrooms in the rooms, some-what, but the work was not good, broken tile, etc. A comp. breakfast buffet was offered the next morning in a tired old dining room with banquet chairs out of the 70's. The coffee was excellent! buffet eggs...& euro weird meat choices, soggy bacon. The day check- out-staff were very kind & pleasant though. My husband unfortunately left his sport coat & nice jeans that he traveled in, in the first room, & upon returning back to St. Martin post cruise, they could not locate it?? hmmm. He made up for our first lousy night @ Beach Plaza by booking a us a room post cruise @ the luxury La Samanna. The complete antitheses of The Beach Plaza! WOW i will be giving my review of LS too! pure luxury! LS called the Beach plaza for us asking about his clothing, twice, with no luck. After returning to Dallas, we called a rep. from the cruise lines, who called the hotel for us & amazing they found it for him! but the cruise lines had recommended this hotel along with only one other to it's pre-cruise guests. We had to pay to fed-ex it back. For pre-cruise 1 night stay, do stay on the Dutch side, if arriving late, the cafe's are open late! super friendly people too! I heard wonderful things fro our fellow cruisers about The Holland House. We will stay there next time. Post cruise....La Samanna!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel! if pre cruise stay on the Dutch side where the bars & cafes are open late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    121
    52
    21
    14
See reviews for
23
120
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My daughter and I liked this hotel last week. Nice sandy beach. Beautiful view of Marigot Harbor from balcony. Breakfast was nice. Service very friendly.
Five minute walk to Supermarket, 10 minutes to town and local markets.
Used some buses and hitch hiked.
They will be renovating the hotel next year. April-December. 2013

Room Tip: We were on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this trip through US airways vacation, and was pleasantly surprised at the end of our stay. The hotel was clean and in the middle of a huge renovation. We were somewhat skeptical about staying on the French side of the island. We were wrong, the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The hotel was walking distance to Marigot. Depending on which way you head into town you will pass Sarafina's bakery you must stop and treat yourself to wonderful French pastries. While in town we took a ferry to Anguilla.


Once the renovations are complete this hotel will be a Gem. Our overall experience was
Outstanding, hats off to the staff for making it happen!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had to stay in Marigot for one night when we were catching a plane early after holiday in Anguilla.
The location is great. Close to Marigot, about a 5 mintue walk to the Marina where all the good restaurants are.

Room was large and the public spaces huge. It needs a makeover which they are attempting to do. Still it is on the beach, clean and friendly staff. If you want a quiet holiday near the charming town of Marigot then this is the place. Not fancy but worth the price.

Room Tip: The beach side rooms are away from the traffic but there is no breeze. The island view rooms have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

There are several reasons why I keep returning to the Beach Plaza.
It is located on the French side of the island which is far more pleasant and laid back unless you demand the far more exciting night life on the Dutch side.
It is located within walking distance of Marigot, the charming French capital, and is only five minutes from Marina Royale and a choice of several outstanding waterfront restaurants. There is therefore no real need to have a car unless you want to do a lot of island sightseeing; alternatively if you only want one for a couple of days, an excellent local rental agency has a representative on site in the mornings. Given that parking is an absolute nightmare in the Dutch capital, Phillipsburg, my preferred way of getting there for an afternoon is to partake of the island's cheap, admittedly eccentric but always entertaining bus service.
The Beach Plaza is certainly not a luxury resort hotel, but it is friendly and comfortable. The beach is small but pleasant, and there's also a short causeway which leads through the water to a sunning platform. The ground-floor public areas, which are not enclosed and are instead open to the elements, are attractive.
The poolside bar is a most pleasant place for a noontime drink or sandwich. The complimentary buffet breakfast in the restaurant is oustanding, with a fantastic selection of hot and cold items, including lots of fresh fruit. However, the one evening meal I had there on my last stay was problematic, but as I have already noted, many outstanding alternatives food places are available five minutes away.
The rooms are large, comfortable and acceptably maintained. Guests who demand the equivalent of a mainland North America hotel may be demanding too much. It's easy, for example, to complain about signs of rusting in a facility like this, but it should be remembered that salt-water climates cause continuing problems to any physical plant. And no doubt, guests who expect a choice of a zillion English-language channels on a giant screen will be dismayed by the modest size of their old-fashioned TV set and horrified that most of the few channels available are in foreign languages. Still, CNN is available in English — and anyway, we should remember that we ARE in a foreign country.
The bottom line is that the Beach Plaza is a thoroughly nice place to stay, provided you leave your prejudices and unreasonable expectations at home.

Room Tip: Ocean-side rooms are pleasant but more expensive. I usually stay in a room overlooking the lagoon on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel Beach Plaza is at a nice location but I believe the stay will be A LOT more pleasant for its guests after a full renovation. Thank goodness we brought our camping flash lights due to the many yet unforeseen power outages which ocurred during our stay. With lights out, so was the AC and the telephone. There were also problems with the room safe not working. The breakfast was wonderful, however too many ants around. Also watch out for the birds, if you leave to go out for seconds on your meal, you may return to find yourself in company with a hungry flock. Since the hotel is somewhat open the birds fly in and out at will looking for food.

Room Tip: The bartender Marie is a gem. Be sure to catch a drink at her bar and she will inform you of all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

but try to get a room on the beach side as the traffic can be noisy at times on the roadside.
Pool is also in the shade for half the day...but great for car rental and walking to Marigot and Ferry. This is a 3 Star property... NOT 4 star....

Room Tip: also the rooms have fridges and microwaves...very handy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Plaza

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beach Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Hotel Beach Plaza St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beach Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.