We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balance in price and quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beach Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beach Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beach Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Marigot
Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Balance in price and quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hotel Beach Plaza is situated next to Marigot. It's not even a 5 minute drive to town. It's right at the beach which makes it perfect for a relaxing short trip. The hotel itself is good. Bathroom was just redone and had a nice bath. Bed was good.
It's what you expect for this price. Good, comfortable and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    127
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
22
120
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

check in was fast. staff at desk are freindly. wifi is terrible had to stand in hall to get signal and then it would drop constantly too.beach is okay kind of rocky. close to grocery store to walk for staples. breakfast buffet is basic but quick. rooms are spacious get very few english channels. walk to marigot for shopping market can be busy on cruise days. no night entertain for a night life need to go to dutch side.

Room Tip: pick room on ocean side other is on a main busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from Newmarket
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for one week at this Hotel. Yes it does need some work, paint, upgrading, but overall very clean and the service was excellent. Check-in was quick and anytime we needed anything at the front desk, e.g. towels, directions, advice, staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is quite expensive, but there are several restaurants within walking distance to choose from. There is also a US Grocery Store right next store. Better to purchase an Oceanview room. There is lots of construction at Islandview. Noisy and lots of traffic. Oceanview you can see to Anguilla. It is quiet with beautiful sunsets. Beach is tiny but we had lovely swims and never had a problem getting a chair or umbrella. Breakfast was outstanding! Bacon & eggs, pancakes, breads, fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, meats and cheese. Lots to choose from. Breakfast was served between 7 a.m. and 11 a.m. We took the ferry to Anguilla which has awesome beaches. It's only a 15 minute ride for $40. Worth it. Also took the ferry to St. Barth's. This is 1 1/2 hr. ride but it was a great day. Book in advance and you will get it for $50 euro. We much prefer the French side of St. Martin. It is quieter, restaurants are awesome and it is very European. Also very safe. Visit the Marina for the fine French restaurants there. Hotel had a nice pool which was kept immaculate and a nice sundeck. There was a pool bar and a piano bar. There was supposed to be a piano player three nights but we only saw him one night. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get an Oceanview room. Beautiful view of the Bay and you can see to Anguilla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked via priceline and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel provided us with early check-in and a roll-away bed at no extra cost. The room was very clean but did look worn. Unfortunately, we had almost no hot water in the shower. The toilet was prone to running continuously or not flushing at all. We stopped using the bathroom lock after I almost couldn't get out of the bathroom because the lock stuck. As for the view, the island view is a view of the parking lot. The wifi at the hotel was infuriating. It worked for a minute or two and then kicked you off.

The pluses of the hotel were its location on the water with an easy walk to Marigot, the included breakfast, the generally friendly service and a bar that mixed good mojitos. I wouldn't rule out staying again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: The island view is a parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a shabby and worn-out hotel that is nowhere near average, let alone classy by any standard - European, American or Caribbean. The appearnce is very disappointing. The only upside is that guests can walk to Marina Royal in Marigot for dinner, and the free breakfast is good. When I stayed there for a couple of days, I had to pay taxis or take the ferry during the day just to have a decent place to hang out in. When you factor that cost in, I may as well have stayed somewhere else. If the hotel would stop advertising itself as 4-star and advertise itself clsoer to what it really is, then the hotel would at least meet customer expectations.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We returned from a cruise and stayed over a night. This hotel was part of the 'stay and cruise' that our cruise ship offered (although we booked separately), so we thought it would be a nice place. WRONG!!! We booked several months before we arrived (arrived on 3/17) and also confirmed 2 weeks prior. Good thing we did...they had us reserved for only 1 room when we had reserved---and prepaid--for 2. Our rooms were oceanfront. They had a decent balcony that is in serious need of rehabbing. We arrived at hotel around 9:30 a.m. or so..checked in and they said rooms was not ready--check back around 2:30. Around 2:30 we did, room not ready and we got in around 3:30. Our friends, who arrived at the same time we did, got in their room at 4:30. Extremely poor...and unhelpful---front desk staff.

The bed looked almost like a rollaway, although, it seemed pretty comfortable. The room just sort of had that 'buggy' feel, but I tried to not stress over it. Bedding was worn and old. Hotel old and worn and needs some serious TLC. It is getting some overhaul, just not sure what they are rehabbing. TV only has 1 channel that is not in French and that is CNN. No clock.

Sunday morning we had breakfast in the restaurant that was included in cost....fruit, bread (GREAT croissants!!), runny eggs, bacon..it was adequate.

Now...here is where I WILL NEVER GO BACK...Sunday morning taking a shower, after I get all lathered up, I look up to see a roach climbing on the inside of the shower curtain. That was it for me. I spent the rest of the day feeling like something was crawling on me!! YUKKY!!!

We spend 2 weeks every year in St Lucia, so I do not buy the argument that they are in tropical places...I have never seen one there in the 13 years we have been going.

In the hotel's defense, there is a good view and it is an easy walk to Marigot and to the wharf which has several good restaurants for dinner.

All in all, for the amount of money I paid ($415 US) this place was a disgrace and I would never stay here again. I have even notified the cruise line that they definitely need to change their hotels!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayner, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Saint Martin is, for me, the perfect vacation getaway. Lots of places in the Caribbean have gorgeous beaches. Not many have clothing-optional ones, and none that I know have a town as chill, swank and pleasurable to hang out in as Marigot. Hotel Beach Plaza is ideally located for doing just that. I have sayed there five times.

it is a small, European-style and very comfortable hotel where oceanview is worth every penny. First class rooms, very comfortable beds. The 7-breakfast 3-dinner meal plan is perfect for experiencing off-resort cuisine that is widely regarded as the best in the Caribbean. Do not expect rafts of activities or a great on-location beach. Over forty exist on the island. By all means possible, rent a car. This hotel is for the independent traveler that enjoys being immersed in the destination, not insulated from it.

That said, the main French-side town of Marigot is less than a five-minute stroll away. The marina district is lined with elegant cafes and restaurants. An excellent moderately priced restaurant there is the Fish Bar. Extensive opportunities for shopping with a full selection of French wines and cheeses as St. Martin is fully integrated with France. Favourite beaches are Cupecoy and Baie Rouge.

Other island highlights not to be missed are lolo barbecue lunches in the gastronomic village of Grand-Case, a drive to the top of Pic Paradis, rum punch while watching planes land overhead head at Sunset Bar.

For such a small island, Saint Martin/Sint Maarten packs a powerful punch. Hotel Beach Plaza is the perfect base to experience the full breadth of it.

Room Tip: Oceanview all the way. Island view is non-descript.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Plaza

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beach Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Hotel Beach Plaza St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beach Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.