We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service and location good but the hotel is dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beach Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beach Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beach Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“service and location good but the hotel is dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked via priceline and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel provided us with early check-in and a roll-away bed at no extra cost. The room was very clean but did look worn. Unfortunately, we had almost no hot water in the shower. The toilet was prone to running continuously or not flushing at all. We stopped using the bathroom lock after I almost couldn't get out of the bathroom because the lock stuck. As for the view, the island view is a view of the parking lot. The wifi at the hotel was infuriating. It worked for a minute or two and then kicked you off.

The pluses of the hotel were its location on the water with an easy walk to Marigot, the included breakfast, the generally friendly service and a bar that mixed good mojitos. I wouldn't rule out staying again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: The island view is a parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    121
    53
    21
    15
See reviews for
23
121
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a shabby and worn-out hotel that is nowhere near average, let alone classy by any standard - European, American or Caribbean. The appearnce is very disappointing. The only upside is that guests can walk to Marina Royal in Marigot for dinner, and the free breakfast is good. When I stayed there for a couple of days, I had to pay taxis or take the ferry during the day just to have a decent place to hang out in. When you factor that cost in, I may as well have stayed somewhere else. If the hotel would stop advertising itself as 4-star and advertise itself clsoer to what it really is, then the hotel would at least meet customer expectations.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We returned from a cruise and stayed over a night. This hotel was part of the 'stay and cruise' that our cruise ship offered (although we booked separately), so we thought it would be a nice place. WRONG!!! We booked several months before we arrived (arrived on 3/17) and also confirmed 2 weeks prior. Good thing we did...they had us reserved for only 1 room when we had reserved---and prepaid--for 2. Our rooms were oceanfront. They had a decent balcony that is in serious need of rehabbing. We arrived at hotel around 9:30 a.m. or so..checked in and they said rooms was not ready--check back around 2:30. Around 2:30 we did, room not ready and we got in around 3:30. Our friends, who arrived at the same time we did, got in their room at 4:30. Extremely poor...and unhelpful---front desk staff.

The bed looked almost like a rollaway, although, it seemed pretty comfortable. The room just sort of had that 'buggy' feel, but I tried to not stress over it. Bedding was worn and old. Hotel old and worn and needs some serious TLC. It is getting some overhaul, just not sure what they are rehabbing. TV only has 1 channel that is not in French and that is CNN. No clock.

Sunday morning we had breakfast in the restaurant that was included in cost....fruit, bread (GREAT croissants!!), runny eggs, bacon..it was adequate.

Now...here is where I WILL NEVER GO BACK...Sunday morning taking a shower, after I get all lathered up, I look up to see a roach climbing on the inside of the shower curtain. That was it for me. I spent the rest of the day feeling like something was crawling on me!! YUKKY!!!

We spend 2 weeks every year in St Lucia, so I do not buy the argument that they are in tropical places...I have never seen one there in the 13 years we have been going.

In the hotel's defense, there is a good view and it is an easy walk to Marigot and to the wharf which has several good restaurants for dinner.

All in all, for the amount of money I paid ($415 US) this place was a disgrace and I would never stay here again. I have even notified the cruise line that they definitely need to change their hotels!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayner, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Saint Martin is, for me, the perfect vacation getaway. Lots of places in the Caribbean have gorgeous beaches. Not many have clothing-optional ones, and none that I know have a town as chill, swank and pleasurable to hang out in as Marigot. Hotel Beach Plaza is ideally located for doing just that. I have sayed there five times.

it is a small, European-style and very comfortable hotel where oceanview is worth every penny. First class rooms, very comfortable beds. The 7-breakfast 3-dinner meal plan is perfect for experiencing off-resort cuisine that is widely regarded as the best in the Caribbean. Do not expect rafts of activities or a great on-location beach. Over forty exist on the island. By all means possible, rent a car. This hotel is for the independent traveler that enjoys being immersed in the destination, not insulated from it.

That said, the main French-side town of Marigot is less than a five-minute stroll away. The marina district is lined with elegant cafes and restaurants. An excellent moderately priced restaurant there is the Fish Bar. Extensive opportunities for shopping with a full selection of French wines and cheeses as St. Martin is fully integrated with France. Favourite beaches are Cupecoy and Baie Rouge.

Other island highlights not to be missed are lolo barbecue lunches in the gastronomic village of Grand-Case, a drive to the top of Pic Paradis, rum punch while watching planes land overhead head at Sunset Bar.

For such a small island, Saint Martin/Sint Maarten packs a powerful punch. Hotel Beach Plaza is the perfect base to experience the full breadth of it.

Room Tip: Oceanview all the way. Island view is non-descript.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our third stay at Beach Plaza in the past 5 years confimed the benefits of a nice balcony with great view over Marigot Bay, and short walk to dozens of excellent restaurants. However, the very basic, minimally adequate room showed signs of wear with paint peeling, rust on bathroom fixtures and balcony railing, and general disrepair. Definitely past due for a rehab. Front desk staff seem to have missed the part about how easy it can be to smile, seem friendly and be helpful. Be aware that the "beach" is about 200 ft. long, and narrow: not exactly a destination, but ok for a few days to enjoy the scenery, food and 3 nearby pastry shops that are wonderfully French.

Room Tip: Spring for the extra cost of an oceanfront room. Also: in late February 2012 some major road cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

stayed 2/8/12-2/11/12 and the place is worn out and seen better days. looks like it is headed for liquidation. minimum service (poor) at front desk and no help with luggage. front desk service is poor and very minimal. also strange set of events when using amex card. pay cash.

Room Tip: island view rooms mean they are on a busy street with construction taking place. avoid island view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

A tired property, well past it's prime. While clean, the service at check in could be described as chaotic.

The rooms feature such amenities as: empty mini bars! 13 inch television set with spanish channels!

Get an ocean view, the highway view not very appetizing.

The bed made plywood seem pliant and comfortable. The linens were thin and angry.

In all, the only reason I stayed here was a cancelled flight. Still, I regret it.

Room Tip: at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Plaza

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beach Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Hotel Beach Plaza St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beach Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.