We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and Worn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beach Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beach Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Beach Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Shabby and Worn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a shabby and worn-out hotel that is nowhere near average, let alone classy by any standard - European, American or Caribbean. The appearnce is very disappointing. The only upside is that guests can walk to Marina Royal in Marigot for dinner, and the free breakfast is good. When I stayed there for a couple of days, I had to pay taxis or take the ferry during the day just to have a decent place to hang out in. When you factor that cost in, I may as well have stayed somewhere else. If the hotel would stop advertising itself as 4-star and advertise itself clsoer to what it really is, then the hotel would at least meet customer expectations.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    126
    55
    24
    15
See reviews for
24
125
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We returned from a cruise and stayed over a night. This hotel was part of the 'stay and cruise' that our cruise ship offered (although we booked separately), so we thought it would be a nice place. WRONG!!! We booked several months before we arrived (arrived on 3/17) and also confirmed 2 weeks prior. Good thing we did...they had us reserved for only 1 room when we had reserved---and prepaid--for 2. Our rooms were oceanfront. They had a decent balcony that is in serious need of rehabbing. We arrived at hotel around 9:30 a.m. or so..checked in and they said rooms was not ready--check back around 2:30. Around 2:30 we did, room not ready and we got in around 3:30. Our friends, who arrived at the same time we did, got in their room at 4:30. Extremely poor...and unhelpful---front desk staff.

The bed looked almost like a rollaway, although, it seemed pretty comfortable. The room just sort of had that 'buggy' feel, but I tried to not stress over it. Bedding was worn and old. Hotel old and worn and needs some serious TLC. It is getting some overhaul, just not sure what they are rehabbing. TV only has 1 channel that is not in French and that is CNN. No clock.

Sunday morning we had breakfast in the restaurant that was included in cost....fruit, bread (GREAT croissants!!), runny eggs, bacon..it was adequate.

Now...here is where I WILL NEVER GO BACK...Sunday morning taking a shower, after I get all lathered up, I look up to see a roach climbing on the inside of the shower curtain. That was it for me. I spent the rest of the day feeling like something was crawling on me!! YUKKY!!!

We spend 2 weeks every year in St Lucia, so I do not buy the argument that they are in tropical places...I have never seen one there in the 13 years we have been going.

In the hotel's defense, there is a good view and it is an easy walk to Marigot and to the wharf which has several good restaurants for dinner.

All in all, for the amount of money I paid ($415 US) this place was a disgrace and I would never stay here again. I have even notified the cruise line that they definitely need to change their hotels!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayner, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Saint Martin is, for me, the perfect vacation getaway. Lots of places in the Caribbean have gorgeous beaches. Not many have clothing-optional ones, and none that I know have a town as chill, swank and pleasurable to hang out in as Marigot. Hotel Beach Plaza is ideally located for doing just that. I have sayed there five times.

it is a small, European-style and very comfortable hotel where oceanview is worth every penny. First class rooms, very comfortable beds. The 7-breakfast 3-dinner meal plan is perfect for experiencing off-resort cuisine that is widely regarded as the best in the Caribbean. Do not expect rafts of activities or a great on-location beach. Over forty exist on the island. By all means possible, rent a car. This hotel is for the independent traveler that enjoys being immersed in the destination, not insulated from it.

That said, the main French-side town of Marigot is less than a five-minute stroll away. The marina district is lined with elegant cafes and restaurants. An excellent moderately priced restaurant there is the Fish Bar. Extensive opportunities for shopping with a full selection of French wines and cheeses as St. Martin is fully integrated with France. Favourite beaches are Cupecoy and Baie Rouge.

Other island highlights not to be missed are lolo barbecue lunches in the gastronomic village of Grand-Case, a drive to the top of Pic Paradis, rum punch while watching planes land overhead head at Sunset Bar.

For such a small island, Saint Martin/Sint Maarten packs a powerful punch. Hotel Beach Plaza is the perfect base to experience the full breadth of it.

Room Tip: Oceanview all the way. Island view is non-descript.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our third stay at Beach Plaza in the past 5 years confimed the benefits of a nice balcony with great view over Marigot Bay, and short walk to dozens of excellent restaurants. However, the very basic, minimally adequate room showed signs of wear with paint peeling, rust on bathroom fixtures and balcony railing, and general disrepair. Definitely past due for a rehab. Front desk staff seem to have missed the part about how easy it can be to smile, seem friendly and be helpful. Be aware that the "beach" is about 200 ft. long, and narrow: not exactly a destination, but ok for a few days to enjoy the scenery, food and 3 nearby pastry shops that are wonderfully French.

Room Tip: Spring for the extra cost of an oceanfront room. Also: in late February 2012 some major road cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

stayed 2/8/12-2/11/12 and the place is worn out and seen better days. looks like it is headed for liquidation. minimum service (poor) at front desk and no help with luggage. front desk service is poor and very minimal. also strange set of events when using amex card. pay cash.

Room Tip: island view rooms mean they are on a busy street with construction taking place. avoid island view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

A tired property, well past it's prime. While clean, the service at check in could be described as chaotic.

The rooms feature such amenities as: empty mini bars! 13 inch television set with spanish channels!

Get an ocean view, the highway view not very appetizing.

The bed made plywood seem pliant and comfortable. The linens were thin and angry.

In all, the only reason I stayed here was a cancelled flight. Still, I regret it.

Room Tip: at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Several years ago, while on business in Marigot, I stayed at this hotel. It was great then and so I decided to take my wife there as the second part of a three part 15th Anniversary celebration. The third part was a Wind Star Cruise on their large sailing yacht "Wind Surf" which departed from Phillipsburg. On arrival, we did have a problem with our reservation which had been arranged through American Express which subs out these types of reservations through Travelocity. Although we had booked, and prepaid, and had confirmation of an Ocean View room with balcony, the hotel staff advised that Travelocity had confirmed only a street side ("island view") room which sells for a lot less than the beach side! Fortunately, I was able to provide them with a copy of my confirmation from American Express and they moved us into an ocean view room in the second building well away from the main building. The copy of the reservations from Travelocity that they gave me stated "DO NOT REVEAL TRAVELOCITY NAME TO GUEST". Fortunately, the staff were very helpful in resolving the problem caused totally by Travelocity!

Once the room issue was resolved, we did find the room to be comfortable, the balcony a great place to sit and look out to sea (and to Anguilla) and from which to watch all of the passing yachts. The hotel is centrally located to the marina and the nearby shopping district.

Breakfast was good with various fruits, cheeses and breads along with the standard eggs (friend, scrambled, boiled, etc).

Room Tip: Make certain to confirm your reservation if made through American Express!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Plaza

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Hotel Beach Plaza St Maarten-St Martin/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beach Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.