We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Auberge Des Isles

La Petite Auberge Des Isles
11 Auberge de Mer | Marina Port la Royale, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
0690538204
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Middletown, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We took the Calypso Dinner Cruise, which brought us here for dinner. From appetizer to dessert, my fiance and I loved every bite!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great food, great location. We went there two people after having asked for a restaurant with local food. We were greeted by the owner and the waitress, the kindest and sweetest people we met at the island. They suggested a great meal and we had the feast of our trip.
The food is Caribbean local when it's the best. Not touristy (not when we were there at least) and with a nice atmosphere. You're seated basically at the harbor front. It is not a fancy type place but local and kind.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

It's easy to miss this restaurant. It's not part of the main Marina Royale action. Instead, it's at the far end of this delightful waterfront area: you have to follow the curve and then suddenly, there it is around the corner, the sole survivor in a darkened row of shuttered businesses.
I've been eating here for years, and under its new ownership, it continues to offer memorable value in an area notable for its high prices. It's the sort of place where the young owner-chef is apt to come out of the kitchen for a friendly chat before returning to continue his creation of culinary delights.
It's a cosy place with fewer tables than most establishments on the marina, but with attractive views of the bay and boats of every description.
I have never had a bad meal here, but for visitors watching their budget I would recommend the prix fixe menu which offers a selection of three courses at a total cost less than that of a single course elsewhere on the marina. Starters include an excellent French onion soup and a signature house salad which is normally my choice. Entrees, always garnished with a selection of beautifully cooked vegetables, include Mahi Mahi, chicken and a daily special. The prix fixe menu's dessert offering includes a choice of ice cream or a magnificent warm chocolate cake.
The wine list is impressively reasonable for St. Martin. Still, I must report that the service on my last visit was cheerful but erratic. Language difficulties may also have been a factor, but the server seemed unfamiliar with the need for a customer to punch in a PIN number on some credit cards, and also there was some confusion not only with my order but orders placed by other diners.
But this is a minor quibble. This little waterfront restaurant is wonderful

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 209 cities Reviews in 209 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining At Its Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights in Marigot and spent a lot of time walking around the Marina there. On our second afternoon, we skipped lunch while we shopped around. About four p.m., we finally became hungry and stopped at the very unpretentious La Petite Auberge and inquired about their menu for something to carry us over to dinner.

We had passed there the night before and there was no one dining at 8 p.m. and so we thought that perhaps the food might not be good. There was a couple just leaving, she having had too much to drink and having difficulty standing up, and her husband raving about the food and the wine. He said that it was the best food on the Island. I usually prefer not to take recommendations from those who have difficulty walking but we decided to give it a try.

The Chef quickly suggested something light, as we had already made dinner arrangements for later that night, elsewhere and didn't want a full meal. My wife had an absolutely wonderful salad paired with a nice French Chardonnay and I had a sea food risotto type of dish with a good Bordeaux. The portions were substantial and the tastes were superb! Excellent dining with a great view of the marina! The tab came to €38! We will return there for a full dinner on our next trip back to St. Martin!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is one of the best places to eat on the whole island, and believe me, Saint Maarten has many wonderful places to dine. we can't wait for our next visit to the island, because we will certainly return for the great food and the wonderful warm friendly service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Auberge Des Isles also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to La Petite Auberge Des Isles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Auberge Des Isles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.