We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scooby Too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prickly Pear

Prickly Pear
Marigot, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 attractions in Marigot
Type: Islands
Activities: Snorkeling
Attraction Details
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Scooby Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a great excursion to take while in St. Martin. Just went this past Wednesday on a day trip to Prickly Pear for snorkling/beach/lunch. They pick you up right off the beach at the Grand Case Beach Club. This is the second time we went on a trip with Scooby Too and would do it again! Well worth the $120 each for the day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Day excursion by boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful beach!! Stopped here for snorkeling on our way to Anguilla. I thought the water at Maho was beautiful, but this was breathtaking!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pretty place, but coral is dying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a lovely boat ride out to Prickly Pear with Bluebeard and had fun snorkeling, but it's obvious that tourism is killing what was likely a beautiful place. When we arrived out to the reef, there were already 2 boats there (from other operators) with about 70 people in the water. The island is still pretty and I enjoyed dreaming of being on a deserted island and never returning to work, but I've seen better snorkeling elsewhere in the Caribbean.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Beautiul and coral reef is dying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not worth the 2 hour ride except for the sheer beauty of water and isalnds. Prickly Pear Coral Reef id dying due to abuse by man. Some nice fish, but coral has no color, it"s dead.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An excursion like any other”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just like any other side trip: boat ride out (catamaran this time), snacks, entertaining staff, lunch on the beach, swim/snorkel time, return trip

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prickly Pear also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Prickly Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prickly Pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.