We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day excursion by boat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prickly Pear

Prickly Pear
Marigot, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$110*
and up
Day Trip to the Island of Prickly Pear from St...
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Clinton, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Day excursion by boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful beach!! Stopped here for snorkeling on our way to Anguilla. I thought the water at Maho was beautiful, but this was breathtaking!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty place, but coral is dying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a lovely boat ride out to Prickly Pear with Bluebeard and had fun snorkeling, but it's obvious that tourism is killing what was likely a beautiful place. When we arrived out to the reef, there were already 2 boats there (from other operators) with about 70 people in the water. The island is still pretty and I enjoyed dreaming of being on a deserted island and never returning to work, but I've seen better snorkeling elsewhere in the Caribbean.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSurely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiul and coral reef is dying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not worth the 2 hour ride except for the sheer beauty of water and isalnds. Prickly Pear Coral Reef id dying due to abuse by man. Some nice fish, but coral has no color, it"s dead.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rocky423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An excursion like any other”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just like any other side trip: boat ride out (catamaran this time), snacks, entertaining staff, lunch on the beach, swim/snorkel time, return trip

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“go with Bluebeard operation out of Simpson Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our group of 9 did this excursion with Bluebeard Charters, I would highly recommend them. It might have taken a little long to get us all out to the catamaran, but once we were on our way it was great. Beer, rum punch, soft drinks, and cheese and crackers were offered, but it ended up being more of a relaxing mellow trip, not a rowdy booze cruise. Once we got to Prickly Pear, they provided snorkel gear if you wanted to go out to the reef. Or you could just swim right to shore, or they offered to take you to shore in a dinghy, which was nice if you wanted to stay dry. The reef snorkeling was great, and the beach on the island was lovely. The lunch provided was fantastic, much better than I'd expected. I had the mahi, it came with plantains and a couscous salad, very nice. Once we got back to Simpson Bay, I mistakenly left my own snorkel gear behind on the boat, which I didn't discover until we went to go snorkeling the day before our departure. Bruce, with Bluebeard Charters, actually went through the entire list of people on the catamaran and where they were staying, and eventually tracked us down!! Now that is impressive customer service!! Thank you Bruce!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank herrmatello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prickly Pear also viewed

Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
St. Maarten-St. Martin, Caribbean
Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Prickly Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing