We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day excursion by boat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prickly Pear

Prickly Pear
Marigot, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$110*
and up
Day Trip to the Island of Prickly Pear from St...
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Marigot
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling
Attraction details
Clinton, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Day excursion by boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful beach!! Stopped here for snorkeling on our way to Anguilla. I thought the water at Maho was beautiful, but this was breathtaking!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    33
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pretty place, but coral is dying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a lovely boat ride out to Prickly Pear with Bluebeard and had fun snorkeling, but it's obvious that tourism is killing what was likely a beautiful place. When we arrived out to the reef, there were already 2 boats there (from other operators) with about 70 people in the water. The island is still pretty and I enjoyed dreaming of being on a deserted island and never returning to work, but I've seen better snorkeling elsewhere in the Caribbean.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Beautiul and coral reef is dying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not worth the 2 hour ride except for the sheer beauty of water and isalnds. Prickly Pear Coral Reef id dying due to abuse by man. Some nice fish, but coral has no color, it"s dead.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An excursion like any other”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just like any other side trip: boat ride out (catamaran this time), snacks, entertaining staff, lunch on the beach, swim/snorkel time, return trip

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“go with Bluebeard operation out of Simpson Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our group of 9 did this excursion with Bluebeard Charters, I would highly recommend them. It might have taken a little long to get us all out to the catamaran, but once we were on our way it was great. Beer, rum punch, soft drinks, and cheese and crackers were offered, but it ended up being more of a relaxing mellow trip, not a rowdy booze cruise. Once we got to Prickly Pear, they provided snorkel gear if you wanted to go out to the reef. Or you could just swim right to shore, or they offered to take you to shore in a dinghy, which was nice if you wanted to stay dry. The reef snorkeling was great, and the beach on the island was lovely. The lunch provided was fantastic, much better than I'd expected. I had the mahi, it came with plantains and a couscous salad, very nice. Once we got back to Simpson Bay, I mistakenly left my own snorkel gear behind on the boat, which I didn't discover until we went to go snorkeling the day before our departure. Bruce, with Bluebeard Charters, actually went through the entire list of people on the catamaran and where they were staying, and eventually tracked us down!! Now that is impressive customer service!! Thank you Bruce!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prickly Pear also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Prickly Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prickly Pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.