We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French in Marigot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Nu

Bistro Nu
Allee de l'ancienne Geole, Marigot 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
011 (590) 590-87-97-09
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 61 Restaurants in Marigot
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic French in Marigot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Bistrot Nu was recommended by friends and they were right. Good traditional french dishes in a quiet alley of Marigot.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Who Nu?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As first timers, we loved this authentic French restaurant in Marigot! From the moment we were greeted by the gentleman owner to the coziness of this restaurant we knew we were going to enjoy our evening. I think if you choose any wine off the wine list you will be totally satisfied. The french onion soup is best I ever had, salads were great. I had the dover sole and the owner deboned the fish for me at the table side, it was a delight to watch him carefully pull the bones away from the fish! The sole tasted wonderful, would go back and order it again. One daughter had coq au vin and it was fabulous, my husband and other daughter ordered chicken with curry and goat with curry, both loved their entrees as well. For dessert we shared a chocolate mousse that was out of this world. Will return to this restaurant probably the first night we go back to St. Martin! A local told us he goes to Bistro Nu for the more unusual items on the menu such as ostrich and frog legs, he said Bistro Nu has an incredible variety of unusual food items on the menu that you will find no where else. We agree, it was fabulous. A little tricky to find, the restaurant is across the street from the stadium and if you find the store Le Crayon, look just down the alley from there and you are there! Will be easy to find now that we know where it is!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best goat cheese salad on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is a hidden gem! The small restaurant offers amazing French cuisine! Duck confit, French onion soup, goat cheese salad & cassoulet are must haves! Definitely worth a stop in, you'll come back each year!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Simple place and excellent French cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Situated in a small alley, you will need to find a parking place in the nearby church. It is a simple place with excellent French dishes where you wil be able to see where locals go.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful French Bistro in Marigot, St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

On the recommendation of a friend we went to Bistro Nu, "in spite of the look from the road" and WOW were we glad we did! The food was wonderful (Onion soup just right, beef bourguignon and coc au vin both perfect), the wine tasty, the atmosphere lovely (felt like I was in France rather than the Caribbean), and our host was a wonderful and thoughtful accompaniment to the evening. In truth, he was charming...

Find Bistro Nu across from the stadium in Marigot off the main road, follow the small blue sign by the road down a side alley into a nice (small) quaint building.

And then, sit back and enjoy...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Nu also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bistro Nu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Nu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.