We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb French restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Bistro

Mario's Bistro
Sandy Ground Bridge, Marigot, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Marigot
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb French restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant -- and what a surprise to get world-class French cuisine on this little Caribbean island! The menu is short with an emphasis on sea food but poultry, beef, and pork are also available. The food is perfectly prepared, beautifully presented, bursting with flavour. Service is efficient and friendly. The restaurant overlooks a canal so try to get a seat next to the water, especially if you want a romantic setting. This place is not cheap but it is well worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    30
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aston, PA, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Food, service and ambiance are all excellent. Get a table by the water and watch the boats go by and see the fish swimming in the canal. Staff is attentive from your server to the bartender. The owner circulates the room and even gave us a complimentary after dinner drink. We have been to St. Maarten's 20 times and this is now one of our favorite ones.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been here 5 times and each visit excellent. The food is delicious, well made, and quite a fusion of cuisines. Service is attentive, warm, and helpful. The restaurant has tons of charm and casual elegance. Definitely one of St. Martin's best, which is really saying something considering the number of great restaurants here. Can't wait to return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Dinner on St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Mario has done it again. Every time we eat here it is wonderful (probably once or twice a year since its opened)!. I usually like to try new things, but I can't help but order the Pad Thai. It is like nothing you've ever eaten at a Thai restaurant. With succulent duck and shrimp it is magnificent. The rest of my table usually orders more exciting and different things. No one ever goes home unhappy. While the food is delicious beyond belief, the presentation is just pure artwork. Mario is just a genius and his partner, Didier, who is the host of this marvelous restaurant, is warm and friendly and so gracious. The overall service by the waitstaff continues to be the best. The waiters are attentive and there is no rushing you out. I love this place- my absolute favorite on St. Martin and if I had to recommend only ONE restaurant on the Island, this would be IT! And considering I feel it's the best, it's definitely not the most expensive. Yes prices are high, but after dining elsewhere on the Island I know it is competitively priced for fine dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Completes the "Must Eat" Hat Trick of SXM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Three dinners you must have in St Martin: Ti Bouchon, Pressoir and Mario's Bistro. We've been going for six years, and the front of house is the same -- Didier is the maitre'd and runs the front, Mario is running the kitchen. Reservations are a must as they try to do "seatings" at 6 and 9 (more like 9:15).

I can only give accolades to Mario's red sauce from the pretext of eating a lot of red sauce -- we live in the NY area, we visit a lot of Italian restaurants, and red sauce (gravy) is a staple -- we put it on meat, on shellfish, on bread, on just about everything except ice cream. Mario's red sauce is up there in the Gravy Pantheon. It really is -- there aren't many dishes that my wife will try to recreate (using Mario's cookbook and a lot of practice), but Mario's sauce is worth the effort.

Mussels with red sauce. Must-have appetizer. Keep the bowl of sauce and mop it up with some of their bread. Aspire to be Bobby Baccala in real life. It's that good.

We've had a variety of fish, shrimp, veal and duck dishes, and they have all been outstanding. It's a good combination of sauces and flavors, and the right combination of Italian influence and French approach. The half duck is pretty outstanding, and the veal scallopine approaches the red sauce in epic wonder and reputation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Bistro also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Mario's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.