We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roasted Rooster

Roasted Rooster
101 Front Street | Boardwalk, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 66 restaurants in Philipsburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Clean, friendly, air-conditioned restaurant with open kitchen is well decorated and highly equipped offering free Wi-Fi to customers. Seating for 32 people is available both inside and out where views across Great Bay can be enjoyed from the terrace. Roasted Rooster's chickens are all 100% hormone free and Halal. The restaurant offers a delivery service to local businesses and is available for private parties.The menu features roasted chicken from the rotisserie served with fries or rice 'n' peas, salad and homemade coleslaw, wraps, salads, nuggets, pitas and wings. There is also burgers and shrimps for those non-chicken lovers. Vegetarian meals also available. Prices range from $8 to $12.If you are in a hurry you can always take home or to the beach one of our roast chickens in-a-bag for only $12.
edmonton, alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent chicken dishes and free wi-fi. You can eat inside in air conditioned comfort or out on the veranda overlooking the beach. I highly recommend this place for lunch. Scrumptious! We were told that their most consistent repeat customers are the staff from the cruise ships, so that says something.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    25
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great meal off the ship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were on a cruise and spent the day shopping in St. Maarten. We looked for places for lunch and decided on the Roasted Rooster. What a pleasant surprise. Our friends order the chicken and said it was absolutely delicious. I ordered a wrap and it was delicious as well. We were so impressed we told crew onboard the ship about the restaurant since it was a little away from the other restaurants. it is worth the walk and a great place for crew to eat to get away from the hubbub .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Roasted Rooster Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great food. Liked the chicken so much ate lunch ther 3 days out of 10 day visit to St. Martin. The owners welcomed us like locals after first time, as others have said it's a "mom & pop" restaurant with delicious food that we were happy to support. Good Value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Didn't trust to let try the if the Wifi works before I made an order”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I wanted to check my email while eating lunch. This restaurant advertised that they have a free wifi. After experiencing lousy wifi services in other places I asked if I could try the connection before I settle down. The personnel didn't like the Idea, but just accused that I'll just 'steal' the password and walk away. Finally I ate a decent chicken sandwitch and the wifi also worked well. The lack of trust toward me as a customer was just weird...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Owner at Roasted Rooster, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am sorry that you took offense of our free WiFi policy in the Roasted Rooster. The restaurant is a restaurant and not an internet cafe. As with everything on St Maarten our internet connection is very expensive and we do not want it to be abused. We find it very strange that the first thing holiday makers on our beautiful island ask for now is for the WiFi password before the menu. Once again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, The Place to Eat, Awesome Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Roasted Rooster is an awesome place to eat and a Great Value! The owners are awesome and put their heart and soul into their business. A place you want to support. Skip the other eateries and sit down and relax and eat a roasted chicken that is juicy and delicious.
Dana and Mark Klaus

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roasted Rooster also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Roasted Rooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roasted Rooster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.