We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 9 beach front” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas on Great Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas on Great Bay
211 Front Street, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unit 9 beach front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Villas on great bay unit 9 from the 16-22 nov. 2012 . The unit was extreamly clean and well kept. The managers Jim and Gina are the best on the island. They were very friendly and helpful with every from renting a car to giving us sugestions and directions on places to see and eat. The view from the upstairs balcony was great and so relaxing that we fell asleep out there one night. The Villa is close to a nice little corner store and short walk to the board walk and downtown Philipsburg. The beach is very quiet and wasn't crowded at all. We had a wonderfull time sitting on the deck (that is directly on the beach) jet sking, horseback riding, swimming, site seeing and slew of other stuff. When we go back to the island we will stay at the Villas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Proprietario at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
On behalf all villas owners I would thank you for the kind review. Together with our on-site managers Jim & Gina, we make all efforts to improve the quality of our guests stay. A lot has been made during last year to upgrade beauty, comfort and safety of the villas and we keep going. All the best to you and your family and we wait you again at our beachfront piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Surfing the web we found this hidden treasure: a small nice villas complex lying on the beach of Philipsburg, the capital of Sint Maarten. Management is very friendly and always ready to help for suggestions and needs. We stayed 2 couples in one of the beachfront villas and I have to say I will never forget the relaxing view from the terrace where we used to have meals and get sun tanning. Villa was clean and comfortable, perfect for 4 people thanks to the two bedrooms layout (maybe you will have to fight for the ocean bedroom and his stunning view :-). Nearby the complex you can find a grocery store and getting a car also some big supermarkets to buy food and use the kitchen of the villa, a good way to save some money!
In addition you have wireless internet for free and you can save a lot of money using skype instead of the expensive dutch telephone rates (6 euros per minute).
The villa is directly on the beach and close to the sea, quite always calm and warm. There is also a small infinity pool and outside showers I really liked.
A place to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGB2010, Proprietario at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you Stefan for your review. We'll continue our efforts to assure a perfect vacation to all our guests. We wait for your return in the Villas on Great Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in Unit 2 from 23 - 30 April 2012 and could not have been more pleased. The condo looked as good or better than in the listing, very clean and well equipped. The owner answered all our question prior to our visit and the onsite manager, Frank and his wife Sandy, were extremely helpful and very pleasant to work with. The location was wonderful. In a five minute walk you could be in downtown Philipsburg where there were many restaurants and shops. We would highly recommend this condo and hope to be back next year. Pat and Roger

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Right on the beach in Philipsburgh Stayed in recently renovated unit #2 Very helpful manager on site. Two bedrooms with king beds and 2.5 baths. You can walk along the beach about three minutes into the boardwalk and town. Very close to groceries. You will want a car for dinners out at night. Would reccomend Simpson bay for dinner, and Grand Case is a must to go one night. There is one night a week in Grand Case with a small mardi Gras parade, and of course, if you dont go to Sunset Beach, you will have missed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in Unit #1 from March 3rd to 13th, 2012. The property is gated and has 12 units in total. The unit we stayed in is two storeys and is an end unit, which we liked because it provided extra privacy. It has two large bedrooms and one and a half bathrooms. There is a king bed in one room and queen bed with private deck in the other. The whole unit was nicely renovated and it was beautifully decorated, lots of white and turquoise blue colours, it felt like a beach house. Everything seemed new with a fresh kitchen (fully stocked), beautiful bathroom upstairs with a great shower and double sinks. There is plenty of room for 2 couples or a family. We were impressed by the modern amenities like a large screen TV and wireless Internet. Not that we spent much time inside, but there is a large AC downstairs and one in each bedroom. We had no problem staying cool when we wanted to and just needed to use the AC in the bedroom at night.

The view of the great bay was amazing with the beach literally at your doorstep. Each day we saw the cruise ships dock in the nearby town of Philipsburg. The town gets a good flood of tourists during the day and with it comes an entertaining beach side experience on the main boardwalk. There are lots of restaurants, bars, casinos and shops all throughout the town. Unbelievable prices on jewellery, alcohol, tobacco, perfumes, purses and shoes and very good deals at the bars. Also, there was this great convenience store located just outside the Villas, less than a block away called Suki's. It was busy every time we went there but I can see why as the store carries lots of the everyday necessities.

The island itself was great too. We heard that the island is 37 square miles and has 37 beaches! We visited some of them during our stay and loved the white sand and turquoise water. Most beaches offered a deal such as 2 beach chairs, umbrella and some drinks for a daily rental at really reasonable prices. A tip – make sure to take some buns or something to the beaches to feed the fish, great fun! Lots to check out, see and do. The time that we enjoyed most though was sitting out on the lanai at the Villa.

With fantastic views, a great location and a beautifully appointed home, this Villa on the Great Bay was a real gem and we'll definitely be back. We can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Unit #1 has been recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Villas of Great Bay is a fantastic location to stay in Philipsburg. This is our 4th time back and it gets better and better with each visit. We had the privilege of staying in Villa #1 which has been recently renovated by very motivated new owners. Villa #1 is an end unit and right on the beach. Nothing is better than opening the sliding glass doors on the upper level in our bedroom while laying in bed and having a view through palm trees that overlooks the water. Relaxing on the new very large patio just outside the living room or bedroom and watching the Cruise Ships come in each day but yet far enough away that you don’t have to be in the hustle and bustle of all the people. Actually you can see the ocean from any room on the first floor. We were there with another couple and had plenty of room to move around but also privacy if we wanted. The new bathroom is to die for. Very large with a double sink and an open walk in shower. There is a skylight in the bathroom that just makes the bathroom so bright and open. The kitchen is very well equipped and we also enjoyed cooking on the gas grill. Everything has been renovated with very high end quality. The four of us enjoyed laying by the pool and just watching the view. The other renters of the Villas are very friendly if you want to socialize but you also have privacy if you want it. You can walk into town in about 10 minutes from the beach or take about 20 minutes by sidewalk on Front Street. Mangers Frank and Sandy will help you with anything you need from car rental, restaurants, shops, and beach suggestions. Frank delivers a newspaper to your patio each morning so if you choose you can still keep in touch with the outside world while vacationing. We could go on and on we were very happy satisfied renters for 11 glorious days. This is a place that you will want to return to time and time again. We definitely would ask for Villa #1 again. I shouldn’t be saying that because I want it available the next time we come. We don’t want too many people finding this wonderful place. Dean and Robin - Pennsylvania

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We all know that the enjoyment of any vacation trip depends mostly on who you're with, not where you are! But if you have someone you love, you'll love going to this place. The villa is awesome- far, far better than any hotel room- huge, new, pretty, so so comfortable in every respect, and opens up right onto the beach. We were the first people to stay after the total renovation, and everything is so nice. The managers, Frank and Sandy, are so sweet, you'll want to take them home with you! The short walk on the beach to all the restaurants and shopping is just right and so entertaining (10 minutes). The villa has everything you could ask for, and the WiFi is fast and dependable. The kitchen is so well supplied, I cooked great breakfasts with ease, and even grilled-out one night. The food market is just a half block away, and well supplied. In all our trips, we have never stayed anywhere as nice and comfortable! The view onto Great Bay with the multiple cruise ships is beautiful, and they bring to the shopping area all types with all languages- so entertaining.
Our week at Great Bay was wonderful. You must take the $2 bus to Marigot (French Side) and enjoy another totally different culture (great bakery). My wife and daughter were charmed by the whole trip, and so will you be.

Room Tip: Villa #1 is nicely private, and just completely renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas on Great Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on Great Bay

Address: 211 Front Street, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas on Great Bay are located on Great Bay Beach in a quiet residential neighborhood of Philipsburg, the Dutch capital of St. Maarten, and about 20 minutes’ drive from the island airport. Within easy walking distance you’ll find restaurants, world class duty-free shopping, casinos and nightlife, and the lively boardwalk.We are a small, gated property with a security guard on duty throughout the night, and an on-site property manager to ensure your vacation is hassle-free. Each of our villas is privately owned, but each has the same basic layout – two bedrooms upstairs (some with ensuite bathrooms) and 1½ to 2½ bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, and each comes supplied with linens, including beach towels. Our nine beachfront villas have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, while the remaining two overlook our tropical gardens.We know how to make your visit to our beautiful island everything you’ve hoped for and expected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas On Great Bay Hotel Philipsburg
Villas On Great Bay St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas on Great Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas on Great Bay to your Saves list