We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little zoo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Maarten Zoo

St. Maarten Zoo
Arch Road #7, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
599 543 2030
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #7 of 11 attractions in Philipsburg
Type: Zoos
Attraction Details
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Cute little zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A 30 minute walk from Phillipsburg, easy to miss. $10 entry fee, and the place was pretty empty. Lots of birds, some monkeys, took about an hour to do. I had a great time with the peacocks and some monkeys threw apples at my husband, which was hilarious!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“we love this zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we make it a point to check out the zoo every year. our kids love to walk around and talk to all the parrots. fun to walk through bird cage. at the end you can pet bunnies, lamps etc. also a great playground. New this year: no more feeding peanuts - now you can buy Animal crackers! We love the irony!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonPedro71
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ok...for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I took my kids to the zoo because the semi-submersible was closed (Christmas week). There were lots of parrots. My kids liked the playground there. I wanted to get back to the beach, but for what it was (a couple hours of diversion), it wasn't terrible.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“kid friendly and small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My son enjoyed the monkeys and was able to feed a very tame peacock and some goats. The ride there from the boat was interesting... a nice quiet outing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went on christmas day and it was open, however, the taxi had to honk the horn to see if anyone was there. Small zoo and not in a pretty area. Does not make any sort of appealing entrance. Overall though my kids did like the zoo and there were some interesting animals. It is a little distance from the port, so unless you or your children love zoos, you probably could skip it. It also does not appear that taxi service is readily available, although the staff will call one for you when you are ready to leave.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Maarten Zoo also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to St. Maarten Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Maarten Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added St. Maarten Zoo to your Saves list