We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Relaxing Beach - At least Far West End” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Bay Beach

Great Bay Beach
Great Bay Harbour, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Large Relaxing Beach - At least Far West End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spent a few hours lounging on the far west end of the beach. It is a more public area, where you can park your car next to the beach. There are no bars or restaurants on the far west end....ONLY BEACH and QUIET. If you need more action then head to the middle of the beach area, but if you just need some sun time then head west young man.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    174
    61
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty Water Many Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

View of the cruise ships, We went on a Sunday and it wasnt crowded at all. Lots of places to get a drink and a chair from. We parked at the marina and paid because we heard they tow around the town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“easy access and cheap cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

4 of us took water taxi across bay [$2 return],then had a walk through town, quite colourful and cheap for holiday stuff,then we had cheap beers and cocktails at a bar on the front. we spent a couple of hours on beach and had a swim,nice and warm but sandy so not good for snorkelling.beach and water were clean[some other reviewers thought differently,maybe it changes by day to day]. we returned to p&o azura for a late lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great beach with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful beach and not as rough as some of the other beaches in st Maarten. Kids had a blast in the waves. Also the boardwalk in phillipsburgh is fun!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Easy to access from the cruise ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This beach has a boardwalk along the bars/restaurants and just a mile walking from the cruise ship; there is a water taxi for those who do not want to walk.
(US $4 for one way; $7 with return)
For drinking and sunbathing it is suitable; however, water is not clear.
The beach was clean and not crowded in the morning when we walked around.
The shopping streets are nearby.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Bay Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Great Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.