We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Water Many Restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Bay Beach

Great Bay Beach
Great Bay Harbour, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Philipsburg
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty Water Many Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

View of the cruise ships, We went on a Sunday and it wasnt crowded at all. Lots of places to get a drink and a chair from. We parked at the marina and paid because we heard they tow around the town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    117
    37
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“easy access and cheap cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

4 of us took water taxi across bay [$2 return],then had a walk through town, quite colourful and cheap for holiday stuff,then we had cheap beers and cocktails at a bar on the front. we spent a couple of hours on beach and had a swim,nice and warm but sandy so not good for snorkelling.beach and water were clean[some other reviewers thought differently,maybe it changes by day to day]. we returned to p&o azura for a late lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great beach with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful beach and not as rough as some of the other beaches in st Maarten. Kids had a blast in the waves. Also the boardwalk in phillipsburgh is fun!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Easy to access from the cruise ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This beach has a boardwalk along the bars/restaurants and just a mile walking from the cruise ship; there is a water taxi for those who do not want to walk.
(US $4 for one way; $7 with return)
For drinking and sunbathing it is suitable; however, water is not clear.
The beach was clean and not crowded in the morning when we walked around.
The shopping streets are nearby.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, refreshing...crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The water and sand are beautiful and clean. It was closest to our cruise dock, a short 10 minute walk. It is right along a stretch of shops and restaurants, so amenities are close, it just gets crowded with tourists.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Bay Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Great Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.