We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Boats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Bay Beach

Great Bay Beach
Great Bay Harbour, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Philipsburg
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close to the Boats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our main excursion got cancelled so we decided to stay close to the ships and check out this beach. It wasn't the best beach we have seen or been to but we had a lot of fun. We got two chairs and umbrella and a bucket of beer for $20 not bad. My wife was looking to find some shells and this is the place for that our kids brought up so many unique and interstings shells we could have literally filled a backpace with them all. This beach was very good for kids to play with no threat of huge waves. Would highly recommend to families or anyone looking to kill a little time before getting back onto the boat. It was only a 15 minute walk from our cruise ship.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    117
    37
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Since the beach is located in the town of Phillipsburg, you have to take certain precautions regarding your bags and valuables. A lot of people are just hanging around (free WiFi on the beach) and walking past on the street just behind the sun beds. But the water is OK (much cleaner then when we last visited the place in 2006) and it is convenient to have everything close (shops, bars/restaurants, transportation). If you want a more secluded beach, this is not the place, but for sunbathing and swimming in calm waters it is pretty good. It can be a little tricky to get out of the water if you carry some weight, but when you learn the right technique it is fun to look at other people trying to get out of the sea with their dignity intact.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The beach was pretty big but still crowded and dirty. Some locals offered my husband some drugs twice and for $10 we got 2 "vip" chairs and and umbrella (what was vip about the chairs? not sure). Either way we managed to enjoy our brief cruise stop by sipping on delicious $5 Guavaberry coladas on a nearby beach bar. Just a blah beach...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful beach. Warm sea water. Clean. Great visibility for snorkeling/scuba. Well protected cove. Good for collecting sea shells

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Nice beach but dirty water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The beach here is very nice but its very close to the cruise ships so there is lots of oil in the water and who knows what else. You can actually see it floating in the water. Yucky! Other than that it is a nice beach to hang out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Bay Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Great Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.