We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Bay Beach

Great Bay Beach
Great Bay Harbour, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Philipsburg
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

great view of the cruise ships, you can easily walk to philipsburgh via the beach. Lots of various activities along the beach

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    128
    43
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was a nice beach right in front of our hotel.. Most days you were able to swim, and you could see which cruiseships were in the harbour that day. Nice view of Saba.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oh boy, the Fun to be had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great bay beach is the most popular beach in St-Maarten. If you come on a cruise ship day, IT IS HAPPENING! So many people, so much to do and the entertainement is off the hook!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Least expensive beach break with A+ ratings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my 6th time a cruise landed me in St Maartin and our 3rd time going to Lizzy's. We have been to Orient Beach, Pinel Island, rented scooters, ATV's and even a car. We finally found the best to offer at low cost. Get the all day water taxi for $6pp. This allows you to bring purchases back to the ship, eat for free and return to the beach. When you exit the water taxi, the beach is both on your right and your left. There will be many hawkers who try to lead you to chairs as they make money from the store fronts. Don't allow this as you get a better deal by telling them "No Thank you" and finding the seats yourself. Walk to the left down the beach about half way down you will find Lizzy's. There we got 2 beach chairs, an umbrella, a water float, 2 Red Stripe beers and two shots of flavored rum and free WiFi...all for just $12 total,,,NOT per person. Last year it was $10. I sat on the beach and swam in beautiful water. My husband sat up under Lizzy's covered open porch, listening to music while enjoying $1.50 beers after our feebees. He checked his emails and work messages. There is also a big water trampoline that was free and plenty of jet skis to rent along the beach. We went early to get the best chairs,went shopping a little, went back to our ship for lunch and returned to our chairs by the water for the remainder of the day. The shopping in the next street over and you can access it right next to Lizzy's up the side street, We met wonderful people and they watched our chairs and things. This is by far the greatest island stop for a non expensive excursion...don't miss it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Peninsula
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice Beach, No Complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

In port for the day on the Disney Fantasy, we decided to skip the expensive shore excursions and spend the day on the beach. It was a great decision. We took the water taxi (short <10 min. ride from the cruise terminal) to the center pier on the Boardwalk. From the center pier you can go East or West along the beach, rent a beach chair and umbrella (about $5 person) and enjoy the warm water and calm waves. We picked our spot about 200 ft. west of the pier.

The water is not crystal clear but that didn't bother us one bit - still a lovely turquoise color and nice and warm. The beach was not too crowded on the day we where there, however we were the only cruise ship in port. We spent most of our time playing in the water and enjoiying the sun. Yes, there are a few folks selling souveniers or offering hair wraps but I didn't think it was that bad. There are a number of restaurants that front the Boardwalk and folks will come and offer to sell you drinks and food. We decided to order lunch from Caribbean Blend restaurant which was close to our beach spot. We had an absolutely fabulous meal, bbq ribs, bbq chicken breast, sweet beans, rice, salad. At about $20/person the price was reasonable. I would highly recommend this restaurant for casual dining.

There are a few places to rent jet-skis and after checking out a couple of vendors we settled on Beach Boy Watersports (Bernard is the owner, nice guy), $55 per watercraft for 30 mins. We rode double and triple for the 30 mins. and had a fantastic time riding back and forth around the bay. He also has access to a water trampolene ($5) and floats ($5) you can lay down on.

Overall a great day at Great Bay Beach.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Bay Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Great Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.