We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deb_Carson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit

Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit
19a Front Street | Planet Paradise, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
1 721 542 4009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit, nestled amongst Front Street's duty free jewelry stores, is possibly the most surprising enterprise in the Caribbean. Who would expect to find Darth Vader, Pinhead from HELLRAISER and Riddley Scott's ALIEN in St Maarten? But this unprecedented showcase has that and a whole lot more. There are displays that span six decades of movie making, relics from THE TERMINATOR, MEN IN BLACK and even THE MALTISE FALCAN. There's also an incredible collection of lifecasts, the actual faces of Hollywood stars, From Bogart & Brando, though Sean Connery & Jack Nicholson to Michael Jackson, Johnny Depp & Angelina Jolle. The collection is extended to include famous historical figures too… the actual faces of Abraham Lincoln, (cast 3 months before his assassination), Benjamin Franklin and George Washington, (cast in. 1778 and 1783 respectively by french sculptor Jean Antoine Houden), and death masks of both Oliver Cromwell, (1658) and Vladimir Lenin (1924). The Exhibit is the brainchild of Hollywood creature effects wizard Nick Maley, known as "that Yoda Guy" for his contribution to the creation of Yoda for the STAR WARS sagas. If you don't know who Nick is, just google his name. He made over 50 movies, including SUPERMAN, HIGHLANDER, KRULL & LIFEFORCE, worked with Hollywood legends like Sean Connery, Sir Anthony Hopkins and Harrison Ford, (you will see them all in the exhibit), was featured in CINEMAX and HBO specials, won a place in THE GUINNESS BOOK OF WORLD RECORDS and was nominated for an EMMY. Nick shares his professional perspective on the making of famous movies via DVD and, if you are lucky enough to find him there, he will dedicate purchases from the Yoda Guy Shop and do photos with customers. The Shop sells signed movie memorabilia, posters, antique STAR WARS comics, behind the scene photos and storyboards… unique autographed slices of STAR WARS history that become a legacy to pass on through the family. There's also Nick's celebrated Caribbean artwork, (exhibited in galleries in 18 countries and toured the world with UNESCO. Nick and his wife Gloria have created the Yoda Guy Movie Museum Foundation, a not for profit group to oversee the Exhibit's development. Don't miss this once in a lifetime opportunity to support the museum and visit a STAR WARS celebrity. It is recommended on all major cruise lines as a MUST SEE for art and movie fans.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
“Deb_Carson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My family went on a Cruise and stopped in St. Martin. While out walking my son and I came upon the museum "Yoda Man". We were very surprised to actually get to meet "The Yoda Man" himself. My son got his photo taken with him, which he proudly shows to his friends. Mr. Maley was so informative and answered all the questions we asked of him. We purchased an autographed photo and was able to view the museum for free. The museum is awesome and well worth the visit. If you are in St. Martin make sure you go visit this museum.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    96
    19
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit - St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our son is a huge fan of the Star Wars movie series. We went in out of curiosity as to what the store may have to offer, and were pleasantly surprised. We were fortunate enough to have gotten there around the same time as the owner and his wife, and had our questions answered. They answered each question we had, even when we were repetitive. We glanced through the wide variety of photos, and decided that in purchasing one (which we would have done regardless) we could also go through the museum. The items within were unique artifacts of the Star Wars series, and other characters/movies of interest as well. Nick had offered to have his picture taken with our children and some of the memorabilia in the store. There are not many people that would take time to explain items you were viewing as they had. This was one of the highlights of our trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
“Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have been there many times and never miss the opportunity to visit with Nick when we are in St Martin. This is an excellent attraction. Kids of all ages will love it. There is something for everyone to see. A truly amazing find.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Star Wars in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I visited St Martin on a cruise and were very excited to check out this museum. We purchased a print signed by the yoda guy himself and he personalized it with the date and our names. The purchase gave us free admission to the museum. The props were really neat to see, but our favorite part was all the information presented. We spent a lot of time reading all the various material posted throughout the museum. There is also a great message about not giving up and following your dreams. It was a great experience, and so different!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A unique and treasure-filled gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is an amazing find among the many jewelry stores that make up Front Street in downtown Phillipsburg. Personally, I am not a huge Star Wars fan (although the rest of my entire family has camped out to see the films), and I was mesmerized by this museum. Through Nick Maley's displays and excellent accompanying video and description, you really get an education as to how movies are made and the techniques used by special effect and makeup creators. Nick is a genius who had the imagination to envision what was possible and figure out how to do it. We were even more fortunate to meet Nick and spent a great deal of time talking with him and learning about his life and work. His story and message are inspiring to hear and he is a lovely gentleman just to chat with. This is a must-see exhibit - do yourself a favor and pay to go INTO the museum, not just the shop. You won't be sorry. There are unbelievable treasures to see.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.