We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review. It is great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holland House Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Holland House Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant review. It is great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Do not see an option to review the restaurant at Holland House. Can't speak to the lodging side of holland house, but have eaten there twice now, once in February 2014 and now this past week. Both meals were great.

Both times had been shopping along the street until the stores shut.
Since the ((fairly) recent creation of the boardwalk along the harbor, this whole side of Philipsburg has become much more attractive.

Last year, we had a seafood special for two with my wife. Huge range of shellfish and sashimi elegantly displayed. Loved it.

This year, I had a perfectly prepared tuna steak. Medium rare. Great sear. Sides were good as well.
Wife had planned on ordering seafood as well, but saw a duck breast with wasabi and sesame seed potatoes. Creative French fusion! She was delighted. One of the best duck entrees she has had in months and she would say it may have been the best single dish she has had thus far this year on the island.
At about 6:15 pm, as the sun is setting over the hills, the harbor scene, from the cruise ships departing far to the southwest to the local action provide relaxing entertainment as we unwind from shopping.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    197
    34
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
239
22
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Absolutely loved this property.. Very clean loved my room and very spacious. The Outdoor lounge patio was my favorite part of this lovely hotel.. Great restaurant overlooking a beautiful beach and I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had reservations booked months in advance for one night only. On travel day we finally arrived after a very long trip to get there. We were told there was a problem with several of their rooms and we cannot stay there. We were pretty distraught but they assured us they had made nice alternative arrangements for us at the Pasanggrahan Hotel. While we were going through the process at the front desk, two separate parties arrived and had reservations for multiple nights and they all had rooms ready for them with no problems.

We know of one other couple who was bumped to the other hotel and their reservation was only for one night as well. We talked to some locals who are not affiliated with either hotel who said Holland House overbooks and it is common practice for them to do that to the "one night only" guests if they run out of rooms. I don't know who is telling the truth but it is something I thought you may want to know.

By the way, the accommodations at the other hotel were very good and we were very pleased with our room so it worked out. Holland House gave us other nice perks to try to make us happy and I give them good marks for that. That is why I gave them 3 out of 5 instead of a 1 or 2.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a week at the Holland House and it just wasn't long enough! The room was spacious with a great bathroom, double sinks and a great shower. We had a beachfront room and the view was superb, the sunsets gorgeous. The food at the restaurant was good, breakfast was buffet but you could order from the kitchen, too. Excellent beach even when the cruise ship people are around. The staff is great and go out of their way to be helpful, especially Esther. We are looking forward to a return trip....soon!

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room. The view is worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this hotel for it's total package. Location in the heart of Filipsburg,great restaurant,great beach,boardwalk, & live entertainment! Definitely want to go back to this area! Out the front of hotel, & you're on Front St. with all the shopping it has to offer. Walk thru the open lobby, & bar, & you're on the boardwalk & beach. It doesn't get any better than this! Views of the ships in the bay and the colors of the waters were awesome!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfork, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our week at Holland House! Staff were professional, courteous & fun to engage in conversation. Could not have asked for better service! Simply enjoyed the "art" of relaxing! Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Holland Beach hotel for 10 days. The hotel is on a nice beach on busy front street in Philipsburg. The hotel provides towels and chairs on a great spot on a clean beach. There are lots of local shops and higher end shopping all within walking distance. The area is very busy during the day when the cruise ships are in port so if you're looking for a quiet spot on the beach this probably isn't the hotel for you. Everything in the area also closes around 5pm when the cruisers get back to the ships so if you're looking for a place to stay with a busy nightlife this also is not the hotel for you.

This is a boutique hotel, not a resort so there is no gym, pool, or spa.

However, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean (although could use some updates). The drinks are strong and really great! The beach is nice and swimmable and the rooms were a good deal for the price. We really enjoyed the area and the hotel and would stay here again if we visit St Martin in the future.

The only big downside that we saw is the restaurant was horrible. We paid extra to have breakfast included. Each morning we had to walk back into the kitchen area to get our own napkins and silverware because the waiters ignored us. This happened every day. They were always out of at least 1 or more things from the already small buffet. We had dinner there once and was very expensive and not very good. The service was slow and had to ask 3 times before we finally got our check.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience.Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free!The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It’s great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland House Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.