We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Maarten” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holland House Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St Maarten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Holland House Hotel in Philipsburg (Dutch side). Great location ideally situated by the beach on one side and amidst so many shops and restaurants, the staff could be friendlier and have more information about the tourist attractions. However that did not dampen our stay. The French side is more expensive but you must visit Let Pinel, beautiful island and the return boat ride is only $7. It may be cheaper to rent a car than take taxis or take the bus which is only $2 per trip.

Room Tip: Beachfront room as the view is beautiful,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    168
    33
    14
    11
See reviews for
31
173
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We did not stay at Holland House but four of us had lunch there. The open-air seating is wonderful with a fantastic view of the beach just across the walkway. The service was excellent and so was the food on Wednesday! The men both ordered the Bacon Cheeseburger made with Kobe, Chuck, Short Rib, Brisket, and Cheddar and Monterrey Jack cheeses. They proclaimed it the "best ever" and "none better." I had the Club Sandwich with Gouda, Ham, Bacon, Egg Salad with Truffle. It was Excellent!!! My friend ordered the Tuna Sashimi Sandwich, which was wonderful! in fact, we enjoyed everything so much that we returned on Sunday and ordered the EXACT SAME FOOD! The Cheeseburgers were extremely disappointing: not as thick, not as good, and the buns were hard. They were under cooked and had to be sent back to the kitchen, only to return flattened. The Club sandwich had more ham and less egg salad and was not as good. The Tuna Sashimi was not the same grade tuna.
The only bright spot was the Caesar Salad which three of us shared. It was very good. Oh wait! the Pina Coladas were outstanding!
Could the Chef been on Holiday??? It was definitely not the same on Sunday as it was on Wednesday!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It is a great place to stay. Right on the boardwalk in the middle of shopping and restaurants. The only downfall is that there is no onsite parking. This is really only a problem for loading and unloading, but it is far from convenient.

Room Tip: The street view side is a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

the service in this restaurant is so great makes you want to go back over and over again, the food is amazing, their chicken wings, club sandwichs, mozarella sticks, and their brunch super good, balanced, well stocked, and the view of the beach and the boardwalk just makes it a great combination not to miss when visiting st marteen

Room Tip: we only went to the restaurant but heard the hotel is amazing too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Isle of St Maarten is an intriguing Netherlands Antilles destination with sand beaches, upscale thriving economy, generally safe environment with lush green hills. The Holland House Beach Hotel is an outstanding hotel in the heart of Philipsburg, one of several towns on St. Maarten. The Holland House uses an open-air motif and opens directly onto the beach and boardwalk on one side while the other is on Front Street where Phillipsurg's upscale shops are found. Individual rooms are spacious with a comfortable Dutch Modern interior design of simple lines and bold deviation from tradition. The bathroom is the most delightful expression of this with glass walled showers and usual vanities. Breakfast, included in the base price, is a elegant full service event in the cool morning shade right on the boardwalk overlooking the inviting blue waters of the Caribbean. Dining decor is, again in Dutch Modern. Plan time for a casual breakfast for maximum enjoyment. In my experience, dinner at the Holland House is also memorable with well prepared and unusual dishes. The Holland House is not the least expensive lodging or dining value on island, but in memories it is a real gem. Service is excellent with in-room WiFi, newspapers, a safe and other conveniences. There are balcony room choices that allow either beach view or city view.

The Holland house is an easy taxi ride to the airport. On both trips (2012 and 2013) we arrived from a scuba live-aboard boat which docks within walking distance from the Holland House.

Room Tip: Choose a beach view room. The front desk will accommodate various check-in and out times when possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We actually found the Holland House by mistake one night as we were searching for a specific reasturant. We saw there reasturant and said why not, lets try eating there. Well, dinner turned into a 3 night stay. We have stayed at the Holland House 4 times now and we are always so pleased. The Hotel is always clean and the staff are the most helpful and friendliest of staff. My favourite part of the Holland House however, is the reasturant. The food so just soooooooooo good. I have never had a bad meal or a bad service ever. The best thing is you also feel safe. The prices are more reasonable than you may think for a Hotel on the Beach. How can one complain when they are sitting looking out over the boardwalk into the ocean, with a soft breeze blowing and a drink in your hand. Even if you only have one night to stay on St. Maarten, you should take the opportunity to stay at the Holland House. I guarantee you will go back. We now book our time at Holland House annually as we go between Canada and Montserrat.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach side are absolutely wonderful. Very sunny during the day, but you can close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent place for a relaxing holiday. We have stayed at the Holland House for many years and we will go back again. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are cleaned every day. The beach, which is very clean, is steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBoetekees, General Manager at Holland House Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Anjou, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Holland House! We look forward to welcome you back! Kind regards, Holland House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience.Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free!The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It’s great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland House Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.