We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Staff So-So...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holland House Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Holland House Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Philipsburg
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Staff So-So...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I liked this hotel. The location was great, it overlooked the beach, but we did encounter some less than stellar service. The bartender located at the bar in the lobby wasn't the most pleasant person. Never cracked a smile and seemed annoyed by our presence. I don't know if he had a general dislike for Americans or if he just had somewhere else he'd rather be but as the first staff member we met after checking in...he left much to be desired. Other than that, we had a nice stay. The room was clean, the view was nice as well. We probably will try another hotel out next time just to get a change of scenery and maybe encounter nicer staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    170
    31
    15
    12
See reviews for
31
193
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, West Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We (2 adults) stayed one night, flying in from Miami to pick up a cruise ship departure. The hotel is right on the beach and close to the pier. We selected a junior suite which was a good size with a balcony overlooking the sea. Arrived at 10pm (just as restaurant was closing). They rustled up a couple of club sandwiches. Front desk service not special. Fabric of hotel is OK and commensurate with beachside location - but don't expect luxury. Room (+ club sandwiches!) was c$400 which we thought expensive relative to our 13 hour stay - but may be competitive with other island rates. Can't fault location or room - reflected in rating - but we'd explore other possibilities for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Sea view essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel has great food and nice service. The best part of the hotel is that you can sit and view the beach from the restaurant. The beach is so close, if you don't want to sit in the restaurant they have an open bar area and a nice lounge/couch area just to hang and watch the people pass on the boardwalk. The have internet so if your from the ship and want to visit for the day its perfect and the prices are very affordable.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the room only a day visit. My Tip is sit under cover - its get very hot this time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night the evening before our cruise. The location was very convenient to the cruise port. We had a huge, modern suite overlooking the beach. The hotel itself was very nice, but we found the area to be very touristy and not well suited to an upscale boutique hotel. I can't imagine staying here for a week, but it was perfect for what we needed.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for the first time after seeing this place repeatedly in one day cruise trips. Check in was fast and friendly, we were given an ocean front view room with balcony. The room was clean, very modern decor, a safe, a small fridge. Service in the bar is good and have a nice finger food menu. Full breakfast was included in our stay. We went to the beach a coupe of times, they provide a chair, umbrella, towels and you get waiter service. The location is the best deal, close to all the shops and restaurants. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Holland House is a decent location near the boardwalk restauants. But the Holland House's own patio/restaurant is probably the prettiest. The service is great,and so are the martinis! The front desk staff were very helpful and made our ferry reservations for Saba island and taxi arrangements.

Our room faced the street (rather seedy view, honestly)... so the beach view rooms might be more desirable. We just kept the curtains closed. The shops close at 5:50pm (not 6pm... 5:50) and after dark, these streets are undesireable with only some shifty-looking casinos open. Stick to the boardwalk restaurants after dark.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Was searching for hotels in St Maarten and not really knowing too much about the island, we just wanted to stay somewhere we could easily get to the shops and restaurants & bars in the evening - this is the hotel if you want all that.
Friendly staff. arrived early morning from a cruise ship and expected to just store our bags and return to check-in later in the day. Whilst we were pondering the street map they came over to say they actually had a room we could check-in immediately (so opposite of our arrival at a certain hotel in Barbados!).
We had room only and tried breakfast at one of the restaurants along the Boardwalk but don't bother - have breakfast at the hotel-it is well worth the $19.25 as they have a wonderful offering in a comfortable and great ocean view location.
We're glad we stayed at this hotel. We went over to the French side (use the bus to Marigot-don't bother paying for taxis-bus is $2 each) but have to say that Philipsburg is a much nicer place to stay.
Also go visit Maho (also $2 on the bus) - this is the famous beach at the end of the airport runway where you get very close to the aeroplanes when they land.They are literally overhead when they land-almost touching ditstance! When they take off you can try your luck at being able to remain standing form the blast of their engines! or do what we did and just have a beer and chill and watch others be blown into the ocean!Excellent beach bar.
Philipsburg also good for diamond rings (just ask my wife!) - sorry chaps.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean may well be less noisy than those facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience.Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free!The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It’s great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland House Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.