We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for 1 Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holland House Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Holland House Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Good for 1 Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night the evening before our cruise. The location was very convenient to the cruise port. We had a huge, modern suite overlooking the beach. The hotel itself was very nice, but we found the area to be very touristy and not well suited to an upscale boutique hotel. I can't imagine staying here for a week, but it was perfect for what we needed.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    196
    34
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
238
22
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for the first time after seeing this place repeatedly in one day cruise trips. Check in was fast and friendly, we were given an ocean front view room with balcony. The room was clean, very modern decor, a safe, a small fridge. Service in the bar is good and have a nice finger food menu. Full breakfast was included in our stay. We went to the beach a coupe of times, they provide a chair, umbrella, towels and you get waiter service. The location is the best deal, close to all the shops and restaurants. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Holland House is a decent location near the boardwalk restauants. But the Holland House's own patio/restaurant is probably the prettiest. The service is great,and so are the martinis! The front desk staff were very helpful and made our ferry reservations for Saba island and taxi arrangements.

Our room faced the street (rather seedy view, honestly)... so the beach view rooms might be more desirable. We just kept the curtains closed. The shops close at 5:50pm (not 6pm... 5:50) and after dark, these streets are undesireable with only some shifty-looking casinos open. Stick to the boardwalk restaurants after dark.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Was searching for hotels in St Maarten and not really knowing too much about the island, we just wanted to stay somewhere we could easily get to the shops and restaurants & bars in the evening - this is the hotel if you want all that.
Friendly staff. arrived early morning from a cruise ship and expected to just store our bags and return to check-in later in the day. Whilst we were pondering the street map they came over to say they actually had a room we could check-in immediately (so opposite of our arrival at a certain hotel in Barbados!).
We had room only and tried breakfast at one of the restaurants along the Boardwalk but don't bother - have breakfast at the hotel-it is well worth the $19.25 as they have a wonderful offering in a comfortable and great ocean view location.
We're glad we stayed at this hotel. We went over to the French side (use the bus to Marigot-don't bother paying for taxis-bus is $2 each) but have to say that Philipsburg is a much nicer place to stay.
Also go visit Maho (also $2 on the bus) - this is the famous beach at the end of the airport runway where you get very close to the aeroplanes when they land.They are literally overhead when they land-almost touching ditstance! When they take off you can try your luck at being able to remain standing form the blast of their engines! or do what we did and just have a beer and chill and watch others be blown into the ocean!Excellent beach bar.
Philipsburg also good for diamond rings (just ask my wife!) - sorry chaps.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean may well be less noisy than those facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Here's the thing. The hotel itself was great. Good location (for being near a cruise ship port), the room was beautiful, clean and modern (super comfy beds), great view from the balcony, restaurant was delicious (albeit pricey) and a cute little patio lounge/bar. All of the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly BUT FOR the front desk staff. Be warned, we got absolutely no concierge service here. My friend waiting several minutes watching one staff member shuffle papers until finally having to interrupt and demand service because she was a paying guest; I was told a message would be sent to my room letting me know of local dive shops I could get in at for scuba diving - message never came. Etc, etc. Again, rest of the staff (particularly the restaurant/beach staff) was great. PROS: right on the "Boardwalk" and walking distance to a lot of (albeit touristy) shopping on Front and Back streets. Nearby cab drivers Roy and Donald were so kind to our group and made sure to introduce us to locals wherever they dropped us off to ensure we were "taken care of" and safe. If you're given the option for complimentary breakfast with a certain room purchase, TAKE IT! The breakfast was not skimpy by any means, all manner of danish, croissants, fresh fruit, omelets, pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, cold meats/cheeses, veggies and various juices. Seriously great deal and, again, the food was great. CONS: ZERO nightlife. Once the cruise ships head out, so does the entire town...including the hotel guests. Passed through the hotel bar a couple times around midnight/1am and they were closed. Also, being a bay with all those ships the water (while beautifully turquoise) is actually pretty cloudy and gross. Much cleaner/prettier beaches on the island (esp. Orient Bay and Mullet Bay). For those of you that want to hang out in a pool even though you're at the beach, sorry, no pool (also no fitness center but, hey, you're supposed to be on vacation, right??). Oh also, be wary of the restaurants on the boardwalk near this hotel. Though popular during the day, not all of them are good. We stopped in for dinner at one closest to the hotel and it was like eating airport food. Be ware of food being served in plastic containers!! =(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

When I look at tripadvisor - I always think the really TERRIBLE reviews are folks harboring some chip.... Let me tell you this is a TERRIBLE hotel experience. It's decent rates and good location are fine. The service is awful. Just awful in every way. The room walls are paper thin. I heard everything happening next door - which wasn't bad or dirty - just every cough, every word of the conversation, every time they opened a closet. The front desk was unhelpful. I hated this place. We had a reservation to stay there again after we got back to St Martin from a cruise. I immediately canceled the reservation and stayed at the Westin which had FAR better service and rooms - and a far less crowded beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Philipsburg's Holland House Beach Hotel is an excellent choice for a pre- or post- cruise stay. Located about a 15 minute walk along a beachfront "boardwalk" to the Wathey Cruise Terminal (OK with small bags, but a short $10 cab ride with large bags is better), the hotel is very clean and safe. The building itself is a bit older, but the rooms are spacious. A beach with chairs and umbrellas is just outside the "boardwalk" entrance. The onsite restaurant (La Oceana) is surprisingly good and relatively inexpensive, as is the house bar for small plates and usual run drinks. The included breakfast was ample and good, consisting of a buffet as well as grill options. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Safety at night on the nearby streets and on the boardwalk apparently can be an issue, at least we were so cautioned by our cab driver and several locals. Happi;y, Holland House has visible and courteous security on the premises and we experienced no concerns.

Check out is 11:00am, with little (or no) opportunity to remain in your room. The hotel, however, will be happy to store your luggage while you explore Front Street or the Boardwalk's shops, bars and restaurants until your departure. Regarding timing, keep in mind that the elevators are few in number and small. Accordingly, you may have a bit of a wait unless you choose the stairs.

Price-wise, Holland House Beach Hotel is a very good value and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Best priced rooms are cityside and are very quiet. Ours was third floor, over the entrance. Best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience.Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free!The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It’s great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland House Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.