We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holland House Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Holland House Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Philipsburg
Salmon Arm, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent hotel, perfect location in Philipsburg. Close to all the shops and nice beach right across the boardwalk. Beach has nice comfortable lounge chairs with drinks offered by staff from the hotel bar. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Helpful friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast offered with a choice of buffet or freshly cooked egg dishes. Restaurant meals were outstanding with excellent staff. Only negative for the restaurant was when smokers lit up right next to us ruining our otherwise excellent meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    167
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
31
185
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location on the first street where all the shops are and the back to the boardwalk of Great Bay. The rooms are renovated and very clean. I got a very nice king size bed with very comfortable pillows. Not the best beach in the island but very clean with comfortable beach chairs. you can take advantage to order drinks from the hotel bar while in the beach.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant (ocean lounge) that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food is quite expensive but very tasty. They have a good selection of starters, main dishes and desert as well as good wines.

The hotel is around 20 min from the airport (with no traffic) and taxi fare is around 20 USD. To take a taxi to the boat ferry to Pinel island is around 30 USD and the taxi to Marigot is around 20 USD. If you take a taxi from french to dutch side will always be more expensive as the fares are in euros.

There is no pool, gym or spa in this hotel. However you could use the spa in Divi little bay resort. Taxi charges 8 USD and it takes 7 min to get there.

Some inconvenients: There was a problem on the balcony door that didn't open. Since I was staying for a few days, I didn't bother to report the problem. The front desk was not very helpful on finding me a boat trip. Anyway it was not their fault that boat trips run only when there are cruises around and the city is pretty much dead on Sunday.

Room Tip: Tip1: the street view room is pretty much the same size as the ocean view room. Unless the view is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have never been crazy about the Dutch side of the island but this place may have changed our mind. Huge room overlooking a great beach (complete with lounge chairs, unbrellas and nice young men who cheerfully deliver cocktails). The restaurant and bar are first class - GREAT food and excellent service. The hotel has a euro vibe and a hip look with patio seating and a great sound system. AND they have a wine cellar with a really great selection of international wines - included some from California. You don't even need a car - walking to great restaurants and shopping is easy. LOVED IT>

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a group of 6 stay at the Holland House for one night, while waiting for a flight over to St Barths the next morning. My husband and I have stayed there one other time and found it to be very nice. It is located in the downtown area of Philipsburg and very close to all the shopping and outdoor market. You will have to take a taxi from the airport, which is about a 20 minute drive...IF the traffic is not too bad. If you hit it at rush hour...expect a much longer cab ride. Once you reach the hotel, you will find the front of the hotel very unassuming, but once you enter into the open air lobby, you get a completely different feel for the place. The view out back is wonderful of the beach and the lobby bar is right there. Outside there is also a great area to just sit..have a drink and kick back. The rooms are very nice with wooden floors and comfortable beds. The rooms are done up rather European-like...with more basic furniture and more sparcely decorated room..but still very nice and clean. The room we were in had a tub rather than a shower, which was a little dicey to shower in. You have to have pretty good footing while getting in and out. Don't try this after sitting at the bar for awhile! :) The entire group decided to sit outside and enjoy drinks until dinner time and found the waiter and waitress to be absolutely wonderful. Once dinner time came around, we stepped over to the Holland House restaurant, which also faced the beach...for a wonderful dinner. They have one of the best caesar salads I have ever had. Again..the staff was wonderful. In fact, the staff all over the hotel...from the front lobby to the maid service were really great. We enjoyed our one night at the Holland House and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the place to be in the city. You can shop til you drop. On the back there is the beach and sea where you can swim. enjoyable atmosphere. The promonade is on the back where you can make a nice stroll. Good staff and nice bar to have a drink. Great location for the breakfast. Parking may be a problem however we were allowed to park on the front (but I think that is an expection). Rooms are clean and large but take the beachview room as it has a wonderful view! At night the surroundings are quiet though. Restaurants are closed (but you can eat in the hotel). At night it is better to drive or take a taxi to Maho where there is nightlife and great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we were regular guests in their loungebar/terrace, and the service was excellent. The waiter and waitresses were all very friendly, and because we were there almost every day we got a free cocktail. The customers were very nice too and we got to meet a lot of nice people. I would certainly recommend to have a nice cocktail in the bar.
We had a great time all over the island of St Maarten and all different nationalities mix very well,
and we could not have met any more nice people anywhere..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Located in the center of the shopping strip the Hotel provides easy walking access for shopaholics to local stores as well as high end stores as Cartier, Colombia Emeralds etc, while the "allergic to shopping" can sit back and relax in one of the most turquoise colored beaches. Don't be in a rush to get in and out of the Hotel via car--traffic in the downtown areas during working hours in St Maarten is slow and laid back as "dont worry, be happy--you will get there when you get there"...Recently redone, rooms are elegantly zen simple. Everyone is Island friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience.Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free!The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It’s great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland House Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;