We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing to do on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of America's Cup Yacht Racing

America's Cup Yacht Racing
Bobby's Marina, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
599 542 0045
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$105*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can participate in a mini-America's Cup boat race in actual boats from the 1987 competition, including Dennis Conner's famous Stars & Stripes.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best thing to do on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

After a brief introduction to The America's Cup history we were split into teams. If you are lady that DOESN'T want to be the team captain, don't look like it. Then off to the boats to learn your job, and off to race. Free water, sod, or beer on board the boats after the race. It was well worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    21
    13
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family of five (49, 44, 17, 16, 16) sailed on True North in St. Maarten, beating Stars and Stripes in our race. We had a great time. There are more people than jobs, but they switched us up so everyone got a turn. It was not as fast or exhillerating as we'd anticipated -- there were definitely times the boat went really slow ... Overall, though, it was very enjoyable and we all had a great time. Our hobbies and activities haven't ever provided a chance to learn about sailing and America's Cup, so this was an experience of a lifetime. I hope we have an opportunity to do this again. I would strongly recommend it to everyone -- especially if you have a large group. NOTE: There are drinks on the boat, and rum punch back at the dock. You will not need a swimsuit or towel -- but I can see how you could get a little wet. They'll put your bag, etc. in a spot to keep it dry. Bring some cash for tipping your crew. T-shirts and photos are available back at the dock.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“So freakin cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I just started doing a little sailing so I was pretty geeked out over this. We purchased a package that included tshirts and had the best time. We volunteered for jobs however they had more people than jobs so we had to share. No biggie though, that gave us more time to take pictures and drink beer. We'd love to come back and do it again with our son.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Stars & Stripes"!! Awesome 12 Metre Yacht!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

First off - Yes we WON!! Beating Canada II. The is a must and will do it every time we go to St Maarten. Having owned a sailboat (23ft day cruiser), getting to sail a piece of history was way cool! The Skippers are competitive even though they do this day-in and day-out. We had Captain Morgan (not the kind in a bottle) as our's and he was all business. When you have a bunch of inexperienced people sailing a multi-million dollar yacht you need to be. The excursion lasts approx 3 hours with 2 hours on the boat. Our race was about 1 hour with time at the end for others to skipper. No one else wanted to so I was able to take it for the entire time. She slices through 6ft seas like butter. What a thrill it was behind the wheel of a 12 Metre!

The price seems a little high at $99 for cruise ship people. We had 18 people on ours so I would like to sail it with fewer people (or add the third yacht). Overall, I highly recommend this to anyone.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“NOT FOR SAILORS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

After seeing the two yachts moored from my dive op, I found out that bookings were handled by Sand Dollar Sports. Before booking I stressed to their rep that my sole interest was in sailing one of the yachts for some part of the excursion. He assured me several times that this would not be a problem. NEVER HAPPENED! This is perhaps an ok excursion if you arrive on a cruise ship, but if you are a lifelong sailor, skip this and charter a yacht. It was a waste of my money!
Jeff in San Antonio, Texas
6/21/2012

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed America's Cup Yacht Racing also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to America's Cup Yacht Racing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Cup Yacht Racing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.