We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, and so easy!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Trek St. Maarten

Sea Trek St. Maarten
Bobby's Marina, Philipsburg 90210, St Maarten-St Martin
1721-5202346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 51 Activities in Philipsburg
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sea Trek St. Maarten is a 2 ½ hour tour excursion that runs several times daily. The tour starts with a 5 minute walk from the gangway to the water taxi pier and a 10 minute boat ride out to our staging area. Once on board the Sea Trek dock your guide will give a safety briefing and will answer any questions that you may have. The underwater trek itself takes approximately 20-30 minutes to complete; based on the number of guests participating in that particular tour, 2 separate tours may be made. Each tour will have no more than 10 guests and will have a minimum of 3 Sea Trek staff members with the tour at all times as a safety precaution. If there are 2 groups participating in the tour, while one group is underwater the other guests are offered the opportunity to go for a snorkel while they wait. Once both groups have completed the Sea Trek tour there will be an opportunity to buy photos taken of you on the trek before boarding the boat and getting shuttled back to the cruise ship pier or the main land.Helmet diving feeds continuous air through low pressure lines on the surface down to the Sea Trekker under water. The air pressure inside the helmet keeps the water level right around shoulder height and the majority of the time you won’t even get your hair wet. You climb down a ladder from the Sea Trek dock that reaches 20 feet down to the ocean floor. The track, a loop approximately 300 feet long, takes you past both natural and artificial reefs such as a helicopter, a plane, a submarine, King Neptune and 2 canons salvaged from Fort Amsterdam. You’ll be also invited to interact with some of the local sea creatures along the way. Once back to the beginning of the track loop you climb the ladder back onto the dock while personally lead both up and down the ladder by a guide or safety diver.Min 8 yrs. and able to walk and climb a ladder. You have to be in good physical condition and sign a waiver. This tour is not recommended for guests with physical disabilities, a pacemaker, severe asthma, claustrophobia or for women over 3 months pregnant. Max depth is 20 feet. There are tee shirts, sodas and bottled water available for purchase after the tour – cash only please. No rest room available at the platform. No secured lockers available.
Geraldton, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome, and so easy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you can walk and breathe, then you can Sea Trek.
So easy, and so many colourful fish and the artificial reef is very well placed. One of the best experiences from our "Around the World" holiday.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    28
    7
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We did this tour as part of our shore excursion and it was one of the highlights of our cruise

First of all, you don't have to have had prior diving or underwater experience to do this. You just need to be comfortable in water and be able to swim to enjoy the snorkeling after the dive.

The company is very security conscious and you'll be required to fill a detailed questionnaire about your health. They also make you aware that as with everything a measure of risk is involved

The staff were very professional and gave a brief orientation to the group before we descended into the water. It is very important to ask questions and be comfortable before going down. Be clear especially about how to clear the pressure that builds in your ears as you descend. If you don't , you may become disoriented or uncomfortable as you descend 30 feet below sea level

The helmet is heavy but becomes lighter once underwater

The staff were very supportive and will make sure everyone is fine. Down under was a splendid experience. There was a helicopter wreck and some other items. Beautiful marine life underneath! One of the guides took different pictures including when you'll be asked to feed the fish and hold a sea urchin. The pictures for each group are sold for about an extra $30 each on a flash drive. You can also take your underwater enabled camera

We spent about 20 minutes below

After the dive we enjoyed some snorkeling before we were taken back to the ship

I cant recommend this enough. It was truly a wonderful experience!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Alternative to Scuba Diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were on a cruise and had planned to do a scuba diving excursion, which was cancelled at the last minute. This Under Water walk, was offered as an alternative and it was great. I'm afraid of closed spaces, so was a little scared about the helmet but it was bigger than I thought (glass didn't touch my face - whew). Our group was broken into two groups and each group got to swim/snorkel while the other group got to go down. My only thing, is I wish we could have snorkeled more and had a little more time on the walk (about 20 min) - but the time restrain could have been because of cruise ship requirements.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very cool experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked this excursion through our cruise line. It's a 5 minute walk to the boat that takes you to the dive platform and then a 10 minute boat trip to the platform. The views were incredible!! The staff was friendly and did a great job explaining all of the hand signals. Going down the ladder into the water was easy but if you have problems with your ears popping it may cause you some discomfort. My 11 year old could not make it down because of this and she needed to come back up. The staff did their best to help her but she was unable to continue. The views on the bottom were awesome and if you have an underwater camera, bring it. I used a Gopro and took some awesome video. The only reason I can't rate this a 5 is that I felt rushed while on the bottom and when it was time to do some snorkeling, again I felt rushed. It was definitely a great experience and worth trying.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hightlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

my husband, who wears glasses, was able to wear them with the helmet and was able to see everything clearly. He was so happy to see things as they were meant to be seen and I was happy for him! The instruction was great for all people nervous about going. It was incredible! We also had time to snorkel while other parties went helmet diving which was an added plus. So worth the money unlike other excursions! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Trek St. Maarten also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Sea Trek St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Trek St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.