We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Beach with Average Snorkeling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little Bay Beach

Little Bay Beach
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 58 Activities in Philipsburg
Attraction details
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Small Beach with Average Snorkeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Access to the beach is past the Resort guard booth. You have to park up the road and walk a good 200 yards to the beach. There is 2 small resorts on the beach and access to the beach and right thru the middle. The beach is fairly small, has good sand and little waves. We heard the snorkely was good, so we dropped our gear and hit the water. The water was very cloudy and it was hard to see much. We swam all of the way to the floating snorkel dock, but the snorkeling was still average at best. Decided the beach at Great Bay (far west corner) looked better for lounging, so we packed up our stuff and moved down the road.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    71
    14
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

gentle small waves beautiful comfortable clean beach . Clear and beautiful water. Water sports available and comfortable lounge chairs.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quieter than Great Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a lovely beach dominated by two large hotels. Don't let that stop you from visiting. None of the hotels own the sand and you can just park and walk out to the beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was the favorite beach for my wife and I. It's not huge but we found the sand to be perfect, the water and waves more to our liking than most of the other beaches, excellent views of Saba and cruise ships coming and going and a couple of good beach bars (we ate at Gizmo's). Fort Amsterdam is worth a stroll over to as well for the outstanding views.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No need to look anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Whether you are staying at Divi Little Bay or the Belair Hotel this beach is by far one of the best on the island. Not overly crowded and waves are perfect. If you get off a ship and want something a little quieter than the beach in Philipsburg... THIS is the one!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bay Beach also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Little Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.