We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe on the Bay Bar & Restaurant

Cafe on the Bay Bar & Restaurant
Behind First Caribbean Bank, Cole Bay on Welfare Road, St. Maarten, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 721 5442030
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 67 Restaurants in Philipsburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: St Maarten
Pensacola Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This could be a wonderful location, but Do Not host your parties here. The owner is dishonest. Food is mediocre at its best.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Service, Very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This place a little hard to find but did after reading a trip adviser review. "Across from the megaplex" was very helpful. Our waitress was very attentive and had a great personality, but the food was fairly average. Our conch "fritters" had the consistency of dough balls with very little conch flavor and were somewhat mushy. One of the men at our table found the fish (whole snapper) very dry. Our combo chicken pasta however was very good. Other places in Simpson Bay just as good if not better. Loved the waitress. She was worth the trip. Very funny and her birthday that night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A diamond that needs to be discovered! !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

À little hard to find but well worth the trip.This was our first visit but not our last. We arrived just in time for happy hour $3.00 martinis! !!! Food is excellent along with a fantastic staff.They should be doing more advertising as it is a lovely place on the water side.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Romantic sunset, excellent food, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I Love love love cafe on the bay. A little hidden gem but an excellent place for sunsets. Not to far from the every day life. A wonderful place to just sit back, relax, have a cocktail and unwind.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATEN ISLAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“the best restaurant , must eat there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The best restaurant excellent for price quality, presentation and service. they make you feel good and you want to go back. the place is beautiful, relaxing, music and they give a speacial touch at the end of your dinner you get a after dinner drink, which we did not expect. the owner came and talk to us to make sure we were happy with food and service. Food was delicious andbeautiful presented. bathroom were very clean. so you dont feel like you need to leave if you have to use restrooms. EXCELLENT

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Bay Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Cafe on the Bay Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on the Bay Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.